We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Newgate Hotel to your Saves list
30%
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    77
    60
    91
See reviews for
20
85
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (305)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
There are newer reviews for Newgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010 via mobile

Once I finally found the car park (after 10 mins, a telephone call and a new sat nav postcode) the hotel could not offer me an evening bar meal. They do have a makeshift bar that sells bottles only and pay cash. The room was cold and looked dirty. Wall paper peeling off the wall, lights not working, no tea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. Unfortunately, as with many businesses the post code of the property main entrance is not that of the access to the car park. I am pleased that the staff provided this to you when you telephoned. The Terrace... More

Colchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed at the Newgate Hotel (Formerley Quality Inn) for about the fourth or fifth time.We love the location and the free parking is a great bonus.It can be noisy but you are right in the City Centre, perfect for Nightlife,Shopping,Football whatever you want is close by.We did have a major problem with the heating in our room on this occasion... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you have returned to the hotel on a few occastions. I am sorry that you have experienced some difficulty with the heating on your last visit. Our heating maintenance company are attending site in the next few days to address this situation, it is unfortunately a couple... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The Newgate Hotel is bang center in the middle of Newcastle City Centre and all the nightlife attractions are within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Free parking at the hotel was a BIG bonus for it's location and there is WiFi internet access available in the lounge and bar area, with power outlets also accessible. If you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay here at the Newgate Hotel. I will thank Richie for providing you with such an excellent service, he will be really very pleased. The Free Car Park and Free Wifi access is really an asset to the hotel, and I am pleased that... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Did not stay here. My friend and I asked to see the room first after going up the bogging entrance to the hotel. The whole place looked tatty!! On seeing the room - well where do I start. The net curtains were filthy. the carpets was stained and filthy. The bathroom was run down and dirty looking.Didnt even look at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed that you did not find that the hotel met your expectations. The Duty Manager advises me that she did her best to accommodate you by locating a different room, however, I understand that you decided to go elsewhere. The Duty Manager even offered to try to locate a room... More

Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Stayed here for three nights with breakfast included.The room was very clean and well laid out.The only thng i found wrong was that the bottom of the bath was dirty so needless to say i did not have one,i took a shower instead. Due to the central location i did not get much sleep as the party poeople were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your posting on Trip Advisor. I am delighted the Hotel met your expectations and that you will stay again in the future, and I note that your daughter will also be staying. I am sorry about your experience with the bath I am having this looked into immediately. On a positive note I am pleased... More

Cental Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed for wee overnight on business. Handy location. Average hotel in every way, best thing is the location as very central. Room heat bit too much, couldn't turn heater down and window only opened slightly, must be a safety thing with all stags and hens that arrive at weekend. Pleasent enough staff. Touch pricey for what it is but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your posting to Trip Advisor. I am pleased that the Newgate Hotel met your needs. I am sorry that you found the room to be too hot. Unfortunately, as you rightly pooint out the windows do have stoppers on them for Health and Safety purposes. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you... More

Leics
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Vile. No heating in room- tiny portable heater supplied but useless. Wall paper peeling in room.Bathroom dirty,tiles stained and blackened, bath heavily scratched. Breakfast vastly overpriced. Interior of hotel very shabby and cheap. No lift from street -no use if you havea heavy bag.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your posting on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I am pleased that when you reported that the room was too cold an alternative option was provided to you. I can assure you that I will look into all your comments and ensrure that they are rectified. However, we... More

Doncaster, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were staying at the Newgate hotel on a stag weekend, therefore as we didn’t intend on spending a great deal of time in the hotel, so booked the Newgate despite the below average reviews however would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Newcastle for a night out. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the train station and 1... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your posting on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that your group found the hotel suitable for the needs of yourself and your group of friends. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Newcastle in the near future. More

Burntwood
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I read some reviews before i stayed and thought OHH NO, However the Hotel is in a great location in the middle of town and a stone throw from the night life and Shopping. On arrival they ask for a returnable Bond to ensure that no damages are made etc and have a system of fines for Soiled mattreses, Outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased that the hotel met your needs. I will ensure that the staff are made aware of your comments as it is always pleasing that they staff were found to be friendly. It is unfortunate, that due to actions of the minority it is necessary for us to take... More

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

On arrival at this hotel we were told we had to pay a £30 bond per person to cover damage to the rooms. We asked what damage they were talking about and were told it was for soiled mattresses and damage to anything in the room. My friend asked what they did with soiled mattresses and she said "oh they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Firstly I am afraid that it is necessary due to the minority, that bonds are taken from all groups, as is the case in most of the hotels in the City Centre. With regard to the matresses, small stains ie Tea... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Newgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgate Hotel

Address: Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Newgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgate Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Quality Hotel Newcastle

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay