We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newgate Hotel to your Saves list
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    61
    80
    60
    97
See reviews for
20
87
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (319)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is slap bang in the city centre of Newcastle making it very handy for all amenities. The hotel is in need of upgrading. It looks and feels tatty. The bed was large and acceptable, the fitting including the shower were "old fashioned". The breakfast was very good and a nice view over newcastle from the 6th floor restaurant.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments. I am pleased to see that you found the hotel location to be handy for all the local amenities. Unfortunately that does mean that the outside noise can be heard. I am also pleased to see that the breakfast was very good and you enjoyes the views over the city. Thanks again... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. It smells of a mixure of indian and kebab takeaway. The showers dont work properly i had to wait 10mins fir hot water. Really noisey no safe to store ur belongins. Absolute rubish

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your comments. I am sorry the Newgate Hotel did not meet your expectations. Although there are no safe deposit facilities in the bedrooms, we do have safe deposits at reception. Many thanks again for your post Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Workington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't even waste your time readin the reviews this hotel is by far the worst me and my partner have ever stayed in. We usually go for a hilton hotel or something similar and pay more for better service. This year we thought about spending less as we would be only in the hotel to sleep as we were Xmas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I have written to you personally in response to your comments. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel shouldn't be called a hotel it should be called Newgate hostle ! So run down I wouldn't even want my dog staying there! Me and my sisters stayed there one night instead of 2 , we had to check out as it was so terrible it was depressing us, This is definitely a hotel to stay at if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to see that your visit to did not meet with your expectations. I am pleased however, that you found the staff to be helpful and a credit to the Hotel. It is a shame that you did not bring any of these comments up with us... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has got to be the worst hotel I've ever booked. It smelled, and on entering the room smelled even worse. There was dust all over, filthy peeling paintwork, blood on the bed cover and the bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Never even stayed got a refund and walked!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations and you decided not to stay. Many thanks for taking the time to post your views. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here for two nights. Although the main parts of the hotel are badly in need of refurbishment our bedroom looked like it hadn't been long refurbished. Our room was also very clean and the furniture, furnishings and bedding all very nice. The bathroom although it had all the facilities was in need of a refurbishment.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your views on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that you found your room to be very clean, and in a good decorative order. Our central location is excellent for viewing the city and surrounding areas and has easy... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

stead here just two girls early 20s had an absolutely great time ! staff are lovely welcoming an friendly couldnt of been anymore helpful especially biff :D. Hotel is in a great location clubs and shopping centre and lots of food places right on your doorstep. This isnt a quiet hotel on the weekends we went for nights out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor. The staff are all delighted to read that you found them to be friendly and helpful, especially "Biff". The hotel does have an excellent city centre location close to all the amenities. We are also pleased to read that you will be returning in March and we very much... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

I didn't even pay for this hotel my work did and I feel like asking for a refund for them, what an horrible location, the windows were terrible and could hear every little noise outside which when in centre of Newcastle is a lot of noise through out the night, the bed was border line of collapsing, the TV was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations, I am only sorry that you did not bring your comments to our attention during your stay so that we could have the opportunity to rectify any problems for you. The car park is an excellent... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

Im just back tonight from a 3night stay it was just myself and 1 friend both in our early 20s i honestly cant praise the staff enough they were absolutely great really nice and helpful especially biff he really made us feel welcome and safe as he was night time staff.. Great location many of bars just as u walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you and your friend very much enjoyed your stay at the Newgate Hotel. Biff will certainly be happy that he has made you feel safe and welcome. I do hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you again in the near future.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
21 hotel reviews
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a stag party. Very centrally located right in heart of Newcastle. For a twin room for 2 nights we paid £152 in total. Staff were friendly and the room was basic but clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with the "stag party", and found the hotel to be centrally located. I am happy that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be friendly. I hope that we will have the pleasure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Newgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgate Hotel

Address: Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Newgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgate Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Quality Hotel Newcastle

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay