We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Newgate Hotel to your Saves list
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
  • Reviews (277)
  • Photos (41)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (47)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    53
    68
    55
    87
See reviews for
17
75
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with a mate on a football trip. The free parking is a bonus as a lot of hotels now charge for using the car park. The room was completely acceptable clean and comfortable with a decent bathroom. To be honest on that sort of trip only really using the hotel to sleep and shower etc. Due to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to see that the hotel met your requirements and you found the location to be ideal for you. I hope that we will welcome you again soon. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More

Dunfermline, Scotland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and I might have found a cleaner enviroment sleeping on the street. The bath was filthy, I had to wash insects out of it each morning. The glasses provided were pre-used and the towels smelled like they hadn't been properly washed in weeks. Moving on to the bedroom, the furniture was cheap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments with Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately I cannot find any record of you passing these comments to us during your stay where we would have had the opportunity to rectify the problems for you. I am pleased to see that you... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room was filthy and the shower didn't work, road noise was almost unbearable, windows are single glazed and do not keep out the sound at all. Staff were VERY rude, I wouldn't wish this "hotel" on my worst enemy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your requirements. Also, I am sorry to see that you found the staff to be rude. We always prefer conments to be raised with us at the time of the stay so that we have the opportunity to... More

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at the Newgate for a short weekend away. With the hotel being in the centre of town, it was right in the heart of everything, was cheap, but cheerful and had everything we needed. Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom, FREE WiFi in Hotel Reception, FREE Parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that the hotel met your requirements. I do hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just stayed again at The Newgate this was our 4th visit you get what you pay for. Rooms are clean staff are friendly your know you are in the heart of clubland so you know there will be noise. I dont understand people who pay the low cost then complain. Thank you again. See you all in a few months.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More

Crayford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We Booked the Newgate Hotel as we are in Newcastle to support my club Newcastle United. The Hotel is very convenient for the ground and for all that Newcastle has to offer. Free parking for a city centre Hotel is a real positive. The Hotel staff are very good we were put into a room just as we are unpacking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review with Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Newgate Hotel and found that it suited your requirements. I am pleased that you found the beds to be comfortable and the breakfast good. We all look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Julie Riddell General... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Never again would rather sleep on the street.the door staff were on a power trip.the rooms were very untidy and the floors were from pre 1960.i dont think they even know what a hoover is and our room never locked.the nathroom was so dirty we went to a different hotel to shower.thet toilet seat cover was hanging off.i dont want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your review with Trip Advisor. I think that the title of your review says it all!!! Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I booked a weekend in Newcastle for my 18th and my dad recommended staying here as he had stayed before with his wife. We were stuck in traffic due to an accident on the motorway. We arrived around 9pm and when we got there the staff were quick checking us in and very friendly! the rooms were lovely and just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your review with Trip Advisor. The staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and that you found them to be friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Newgate in the future. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

really good for a stag do or weekend away with mates, reminded me a little of soviet Russia inside, the button for the lifts is round the corner from the actual lift which was quite confusing after a skin full. the staff were ok and the beds were comfy. i also got back at about 3am but the doors were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your views on Trip Advisor. As you mention the Newgate Hotel is very centrally located and ideal for a night out on the town. I am sorry to read that you were kept waiting to be let into the hotel, I will mention this to the night staff to ensure... More

north east
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel has changed owners many times unfortunately for the worst. On a positive note, the parking is free, the staff at reception morning and evening were helpful,friendly and polite. The bedroom was ok with clean sheets, towels in bathroom clean. The bathroom was so bad that neither my wife or myself used the bath which had awful black something... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your post with Trip Advisor. I am sorry to see that you had problems with your bathroom during your stay, I am personally checking these this week with the maintenance and Housekeeping teams to ensure that they are all at a good standard. I am pleased to see that you have highlighted positives with your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Newgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Newgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgate Hotel

Also Known As:
Newgate Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Quality Hotel Newcastle
Address: Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 79 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgate Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the heart of the city centre with plenty of FREE car parking making it the perfect choice whether visiting on leisure or business. Staying in the heart of Newcastle you can really enjoy this lively city. Local attractions include; great shopping at the MetroCentre, Hadrian's Wall and not forgetting the breathtaking Northumbria Coastline and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Newgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right in the heart of the city centre with plenty of FREE car parking making it the perfect choice whether visiting on leisure or business. Staying in the heart of Newcastle you can really enjoy this lively city. Local attractions include; great shopping at the MetroCentre, Hadrian's Wall and not forgetting the breathtaking Northumbria Coastline and Gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
93

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.