We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Newgate Hotel to your Saves list
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    57
    75
    60
    91
See reviews for
19
83
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for the weekend with my friend and couldn't of asked for anything better! After reading previous reviews I was worried bout stopping here but no need, room couldn't have been any cleaner, fresh towels put out everyday and bedroom cleaned! Staff were very friendly after having a few too many drinks and loosing the key (whoops)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

its luck (with tom tom) we found the way to the car-park, an different post code than the official address, once you arrived and parked your car, you realised this has seen better days. Normally I would turn round and go somewhere else. But it's an nice day (Sunday afternoon). The nice and helpful receptionist convinced us to give this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not stay here unless you want to go out and get in late. Not for couples or families. Staff lovely and helpful but the facilities aren't great and it isn't very clean. Very expensive as well. Only book this hotel if you wish to have a heavy weekend. Do not book if you have the great north run the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you found the hotel to be expensive. For this weekend in particular the rates in Newcastle tend to be a little higher, but we are still at least half the cost of many of the others. I am disappointed that you... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it was the cheapest hotel I found. Really very central and the only one with FREE car parking!You can leave the car there and then walk! The city centre is not so big and everything is at a walkable distance. The hotel is quite clean but very very old. Prepare to live with lot of noise in the night, due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for spending time writing a review for the Newgate Hotel. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel's central location ideal, and made use of the free car park. I am happy to read that you found the hotel to be clean. I hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect for stags and hen parties as close to everything. Bed was comfortable. Only downside is not double glazed so don't expect to sleep until the clubs and bars close. Biff the guy who is on reception and the bar at night is an asset to the hotel. Really friendly and makes sure the guests are safe and have whatever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you found the bed to be comfortable. Biff is an asset to the hotel and always tries to make people feel safe and secure. He is very happy to read that he succeeded! Thanks again for taking the time to comment... More

Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival young lad wasnt very organised but eventually we were given keys to room, paid 40 quid for a twin. Lift on left but button on right so you better be on your toes! Got up to room, nothing special but for £20 each a night musnt grumble. Television very small but not bothered as were right in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you have returned to the Newgate Hotel. I am sorry that the receptionist was a little disorganised he was new to the role and is improving daily. I am pleased that you enjoyed the powerful shower, and the hotels... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

4 girls travelled from Glasgow to Newcastle for a weekend away, 2 of the girls staying in a different hotel. This hotel is in a PERFECT location, right on your doorstep to everything you would want for a messy weekend. The rooms themselves are clean tidy with really nothing to complain about. Bathroom again clean with a brilliant power shower.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Newgate Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you found the hotel location to be excellent and the rooms to be clean and tidy. The staff are especailly happy that... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. There were 4 of us in 2 rooms. We loved it. The rooms were spotless, LOADS of clean towels which were replaced on day 2 also! Shower great. The beds were very comfy. Very quiet despite being central. Good sleep. Hair dryer provided, plenty of mirrors rooms very comfortable. The staff were lovely very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that the hotel met with your requirements. The staff are always pleased to see that they have successfully provided a helpful and friendly service. We are also happy that you found the rooms to be clean and tidy. As you... More

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

After a nightmare trying to find the car park we eventually did and excitedly walked to the reception to check in. Wow. Whatta dump. The carpets from 1950 and the furniture wouldn't even be accepted refuge site. It was toxic. However, the check in staff were great and went on to explain how you have to press the lift button... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read the positives you have highlighted with your stay at the Newgate Hotel. Biff is very happy that he provided you with a friendly and helpful service. we are also pleased that you were happy with the powerful shower in the room. The night staff... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here on19/07/14 and it was ok. Nothing flash but didn't care as we were on a stag weekend anyway. It was clean enough and shower worked well, with clean sheets and towels. Breakfast was ok as well. Parking was great, only it was really hard to find. Hey you get what you pay for!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and were able to make use of the FREE parking facilities. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Newgate Hotel again in the near future. Kind regards... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Newgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Newgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgate Hotel

Address: Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgate Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Newgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgate Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Quality Hotel Newcastle

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right in the heart of the city centre with plenty of FREE car parking making it the perfect choice whether visiting on leisure or business. Staying in the heart of Newcastle you can really enjoy this lively city. Local attractions include; great shopping at the MetroCentre, Hadrian's Wall and not forgetting the breathtaking Northumbria Coastline and Gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
93

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Newgate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer