We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newgate Hotel to your Saves list
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    64
    82
    60
    99
See reviews for
20
88
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (327)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very old and tired from the outside and the walk from the entrance to the actual reception area doesn't fill you with much more confidence about what to expect from the bedrooms - more like a dark and damp hostel. There is a very pungent smell throughout - mixture of smoke, kebabs, indian and stale alcohol. Carpets were all marked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel as it seemed like an ideal base for a few days shopping trip, when we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who gave us all the info about breakfast etc, The room was clean and comfortable and nice and warm. The breakfast was really nice, served on the top floor of the building, where you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed in this hotel many times, however be warned, this hotel is central middle of a buzzing city, and can get rowdy at night esp over the weekend, bring ear plugs. On the other hand, I love this hotel as it's within walking distance to all the pubs abd clubs, shops and restaurants, and many more. Another bonus is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I have been going to the Newgate for quite a few years now and would recommend it if you want a very central basic hotel. The breakfast is as good as any top hotel we have stayed all freshly cooked plenty of everything.The rooms are basic but clean. The staff are so friendly ordering taxis, bringing more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I have been going to the hotel for around 5 years and we have always been met by friendly and polite staff. Yes the hotel needs updating but for the price we pay we are more than satisfied and the breakfast is delicious, rooms are clean and nice and warm. We are both mature ladies and have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you always enjoy your stay with us at the Newgate Hotel and return often, It is always a pleasure to see you. I am pleased that you always find the staff to be friendly and the breakfast to be good value.... More 

Armadale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best value as you don't need taxis anywhere and great value for breakfast bit out off date lots off stag n hen dos stay there but there no problem I would stay there again and would always try booking here first if staying in area old tvs but great value

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the location to be excellent. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

belfast,northern ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Honestly i can see why there is bad reviews on here if your a family or expect 5 star but myself and 3 friends just spent nye here and absolutly loved it it is most def a party hotel so if you want to party the location is perfect right beside the gate & minits from the shopping area! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Newgate Hotel. I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed your breakfast. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Newgate in... More 

sheffield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here New Years Eve.. Lets just say Never Again! How this hotel is rated a 3 star hotel I do not know! I wouldn't even give it half a star! As soon as you walked into the hotel you could see how tatty it was. The carpets were all stained and frayed, the walls were stained and was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed that you did not take the time to bring any of your comments to the attention of the staff or management of the hotel during your stay. had this been the case we would have had the opportunity to try to... More 

Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

This hotel is slap bang in the city centre of Newcastle making it very handy for all amenities. The hotel is in need of upgrading. It looks and feels tatty. The bed was large and acceptable, the fitting including the shower were "old fashioned". The breakfast was very good and a nice view over newcastle from the 6th floor restaurant.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments. I am pleased to see that you found the hotel location to be handy for all the local amenities. Unfortunately that does mean that the outside noise can be heard. I am also pleased to see that the breakfast was very good and you enjoyes the views over the city. Thanks again... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. It smells of a mixure of indian and kebab takeaway. The showers dont work properly i had to wait 10mins fir hot water. Really noisey no safe to store ur belongins. Absolute rubish

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your comments. I am sorry the Newgate Hotel did not meet your expectations. Although there are no safe deposit facilities in the bedrooms, we do have safe deposits at reception. Many thanks again for your post Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Newgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgate Hotel

Address: Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgate Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Quality Hotel Newcastle

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay