We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Newgate Hotel to your Saves list
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (298)
  • Photos (40)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (49)
  • More
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    56
    74
    59
    91
See reviews for
19
82
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

it was the cheapest hotel I found. Really very central and the only one with FREE car parking!You can leave the car there and then walk! The city centre is not so big and everything is at a walkable distance. The hotel is quite clean but very very old. Prepare to live with lot of noise in the night, due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Perfect for stags and hen parties as close to everything. Bed was comfortable. Only downside is not double glazed so don't expect to sleep until the clubs and bars close. Biff the guy who is on reception and the bar at night is an asset to the hotel. Really friendly and makes sure the guests are safe and have whatever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

On arrival young lad wasnt very organised but eventually we were given keys to room, paid 40 quid for a twin. Lift on left but button on right so you better be on your toes! Got up to room, nothing special but for £20 each a night musnt grumble. Television very small but not bothered as were right in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

4 girls travelled from Glasgow to Newcastle for a weekend away, 2 of the girls staying in a different hotel. This hotel is in a PERFECT location, right on your doorstep to everything you would want for a messy weekend. The rooms themselves are clean tidy with really nothing to complain about. Bathroom again clean with a brilliant power shower.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Newgate Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you found the hotel location to be excellent and the rooms to be clean and tidy. The staff are especailly happy that... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. There were 4 of us in 2 rooms. We loved it. The rooms were spotless, LOADS of clean towels which were replaced on day 2 also! Shower great. The beds were very comfy. Very quiet despite being central. Good sleep. Hair dryer provided, plenty of mirrors rooms very comfortable. The staff were lovely very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that the hotel met with your requirements. The staff are always pleased to see that they have successfully provided a helpful and friendly service. We are also happy that you found the rooms to be clean and tidy. As you... More

Burntwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a nightmare trying to find the car park we eventually did and excitedly walked to the reception to check in. Wow. Whatta dump. The carpets from 1950 and the furniture wouldn't even be accepted refuge site. It was toxic. However, the check in staff were great and went on to explain how you have to press the lift button... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read the positives you have highlighted with your stay at the Newgate Hotel. Biff is very happy that he provided you with a friendly and helpful service. we are also pleased that you were happy with the powerful shower in the room. The night staff... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here on19/07/14 and it was ok. Nothing flash but didn't care as we were on a stag weekend anyway. It was clean enough and shower worked well, with clean sheets and towels. Breakfast was ok as well. Parking was great, only it was really hard to find. Hey you get what you pay for!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and were able to make use of the FREE parking facilities. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Newgate Hotel again in the near future. Kind regards... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on the 15th of July with a friend for work commitments ! when arriving to the hotel and walking through the many corridors before getting to the reception it looked like an abandoned building really filthy and a little scary and extremely dated !! After checking in we both departed to our separate rooms ! First... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to read that the Newgate Hotel did not meet your expectations. I am surprised that upon you arrival at 17.00 you and your colleague noticed none of the items you have listed. These were only noticed at around 1am. The night porter showed you... More

Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed for our anniversary and frankly I will never stay again. The staff were friendly and very helpful but some of the staff seems to have a language barrier, this did not bother me or my boyfriend as we used to this sort of thing but for someone who has little experience with different languages it would have provided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Newgate Hotel. I am sorry that there was a problem with the towels in your room, and the quilt. I am pleased that this was sorted immediately for you,... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We live in Carlisle and enjoyed our stay. Loads of history here dating back to Swallow days. My parents had many events here. Back in the 70's We as couple enjoyed seeing Elton and on return found your bar/night man a very nice person. Over all this a great hotel to pad up in with great price. Free car parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, whilst taking in the Elton John concert, we are very conveniently located for the Metro Radio Arena. As I see you are a regular visitor to Newcastle I do hope that we will have the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Newgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Newgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgate Hotel

Address: Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgate Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Newgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgate Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Quality Hotel Newcastle

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right in the heart of the city centre with plenty of FREE car parking making it the perfect choice whether visiting on leisure or business. Staying in the heart of Newcastle you can really enjoy this lively city. Local attractions include; great shopping at the MetroCentre, Hadrian's Wall and not forgetting the breathtaking Northumbria Coastline and Gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
93

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Newgate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer