We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newgate Hotel

Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    89
    63
    104
See reviews for
21
93
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (352)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Listowel, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my fourth stay in this hotel. And each time it's been a very pleasant stay. It is very central location in the middle of city. Especially near bars clubs and sshopping areas. The accomodation is clean and comfortable and breakfast is very good and great selection. But he staff in this hotel made the stay extra special. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here with 11 friends for a stag do... The hotel is dated etc but what it all comes down to is.. The rooms were clean, the showers etc always worked fine... Your within 0.5mile of all the party places in Newcastle.. Now I wouldn't stay here with I was with my fiancé on a non party weekend break... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your post on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay here for your stag party. I am pleased that you found your room to be clean. I hope that we will welcome you back to the Newgate Hotel again in the near future. Kind regards Julie Riddell... More 

Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location,right in the heart of center of Newcastle.we choose this hotel first because of the location then because of the cheap price compare to the other hotels and last because of the free parking.the staff was very friendly,help us with everything we need.the room was big and in good condition,hotel although looks old and tired.bathroom was big and in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Newgate Hotel, making the most of the location and the free parking. I am also happy to see that the staff were friendly to you. I hope that we will have the pleasure in... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel very last minute and the price was very cheap and was very central! However the hotel is extreamly run down and in serious need of some TLC!! Our room was very dirty and uncared for. The carpet was extreamly 'sick stained' looking and I was grossed out even walking bare footed on it!! The units were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you found the location to be good and the staff helpful. We are working hard to improve the levels of cleanliness in the hotels rooms as a result of your comments. Thanks again for taking the time to comment. Kind regards Julie Riddell... More 

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here last night as our home was under construction. We got a bargain price and duely expected a bargain room. The young chap on reception was lovely and as a last minute booking was very accommodating. We got our room key and proceeded to our 3rd floor room via the lift. The corridors where shabby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Newgate Hotel. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotels again in the near future. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came for a weekend away with some pals. Check inn was quick rooms where simple and clean but could do with a up grade. Had a cracking time in the bar Friday night with the young lady Kirsty. Friday night spot on getting in the lad biff was spot and could have a laugh with take your name and let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that Kirsty and Biff were very helpful to you. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you to the Newgate Hotel again in the future. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay and don't care about the quality of the hotel this is the place to be. Hotel is a minute walk from Gate and Eldon shopping centre. There are lots of pubs around and once we were in hotel room at night we could hear everything that was going on outside.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and the location to be good. I have taken on board your comments regarding the cleanliness and we are working hard to improve this. Thanks again for taking the time to comments. Kind regards Julie Riddell... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only thing going for this hotel is its location. Stayed here on a stag do and the description people used as we left the hotel was 'functional'. The hotel from the reception to the rooms was unclean and very worn. Everything seemed like a chore for the staff, asking to be served at the bar, checking in, it seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your views on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments we will take them on board in order to make improvements. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good points: Check in was fast, The card machine wasn't working so hotel staff had to let you into the room each time you came and went, never had to hang around as someone was always around Free car parking at the rear Staff were friendly and always willing to help Rooms were of good size, plenty of towels. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that the location was good and the staff Friendly. I am sorry about the inconvenience with the keys, this has now been rectified. I will take on board all of your comments and ensure that action is taken to rectify the issues. I hope... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

on arriving at newgate hotel we was met with a dirty looking building with mucky windows and nets. At the reception desk we was told that key cards were not working so we would have to go up to our room and wait for someone to let us in and that we would have to get someone to let us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to see that you did not like the look of the hotel upon your arrival. I am pleased to see however, that the Duty Manager gave you a full refund before you left. I am pleased to see that you found accommodation more suitable to you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question