We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newgate Hotel

3.0 of 5
Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    69
    87
    62
    102
See reviews for
21
91
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The only thing going for this hotel is its location. Stayed here on a stag do and the description people used as we left the hotel was 'functional'. The hotel from the reception to the rooms was unclean and very worn. Everything seemed like a chore for the staff, asking to be served at the bar, checking in, it seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your views on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments we will take them on board in order to make improvements. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good points: Check in was fast, The card machine wasn't working so hotel staff had to let you into the room each time you came and went, never had to hang around as someone was always around Free car parking at the rear Staff were friendly and always willing to help Rooms were of good size, plenty of towels. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that the location was good and the staff Friendly. I am sorry about the inconvenience with the keys, this has now been rectified. I will take on board all of your comments and ensure that action is taken to rectify the issues. I hope... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

on arriving at newgate hotel we was met with a dirty looking building with mucky windows and nets. At the reception desk we was told that key cards were not working so we would have to go up to our room and wait for someone to let us in and that we would have to get someone to let us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to see that you did not like the look of the hotel upon your arrival. I am pleased to see however, that the Duty Manager gave you a full refund before you left. I am pleased to see that you found accommodation more suitable to you... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend away with friends when we arrived the hotel didn't look like much but when getting to reception staff were great Allan pertickley, was always smileing and happy to help when we asked for directions (witch was a lot) also breakfast was great, rooms are clean but old and was cold at times and noisy but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Newgate Hotel. Allen and Paul are also pleased that they provided you with an excellent and friendly service. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in May Kind regards... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was in an excellent location and is perfect for a simple nights stay. Ideal stag or hen parties. There is a bar onsite. Rooms are basic but have tea and coffee facilities and a small tv. Our room looked like it hadn't been decorated in many years. Cupboard door was broken, room was cold and toilet wouldn't flush. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be excellent and the staff to be friendly and responsive to your needs. I am sorry to see that the windows did not cut out the noise of the street during your... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here last weekend in November me and 7 mates. Free Parking was very useful as we travelled from Birmingham. The hotel is right in the middle of the main strip of bars/restaurants and less than 2 minutes walk from the gate. Breakfast was good as well. The staff were brilliant, easy to speak to and had a laugh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Man thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am really pleased to see that you and your friends enjoyed their stay at the Newgate Hotel. The staff are always very pleased to read the reviews and see that they have helped people enjoy their stay at the hotel and in Newcastle. We very much look forward... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A large group of us went to Newcastle for a friend's stag weekend. The trip planner chose this hotel because it was 3 stars and central. This was absolutely not a 3 star hotel, it was appalling. Not only was it a run down looking mess of a place but we all had to pay a £30 "bond" in case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to see that the Newgate Hotel did not meet your expectations. I am sorry that you took offence that you were required to pay a "bond" of £30 on arrival. Unfortunately, it is not 2 year olds that urinate, vomit and destroy... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

Just back from our 2nd stay in this hotel for a girls weekend away and i honestly cant compliment the place enough newgate was 1 of our reasons for returning 2 newcastle for a 2nd visit.. The staff are a credit 2 this hotel they go above and beyond especially biff and allen there was nothing they wouldnt do for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to review the Newgate Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have returned to the hotel and again enjoyed your stay. Biff and Allen will be pleased that you have recommended them. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Having read the reviews on this hotel after we had booked we were really dubious about staying there, especially as we are older than the usual hen, stag parties etc, however it wasn't that bad. Yes it could definately do with a facelift, especially the entrance which has to be the worst I have ever seen and I've travelled extensively... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The staff will be happy that you have found them to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the breakfast and excellent views from the 6th floor restaurant.... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

Came with a group of lads and a spot on weekend we had. Rooms where clean and comfortable. Spent a load of time in the bar and the staff we had especially Jessica and Kirsty where spot on always kind and happy to talk to. In the bar had a great time Kirsty always went the extra mile telling us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay at the Newgate Hotel. Biff Jessica and Kirsty are also pleased that they made your stay an enjoyable one. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question