We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newgate Hotel

Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rate this Hotel

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    69
    86
    61
    101
See reviews for
21
90
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend away with friends when we arrived the hotel didn't look like much but when getting to reception staff were great Allan pertickley, was always smileing and happy to help when we asked for directions (witch was a lot) also breakfast was great, rooms are clean but old and was cold at times and noisy but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Newgate Hotel. Allen and Paul are also pleased that they provided you with an excellent and friendly service. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in May Kind regards... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was in an excellent location and is perfect for a simple nights stay. Ideal stag or hen parties. There is a bar onsite. Rooms are basic but have tea and coffee facilities and a small tv. Our room looked like it hadn't been decorated in many years. Cupboard door was broken, room was cold and toilet wouldn't flush. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be excellent and the staff to be friendly and responsive to your needs. I am sorry to see that the windows did not cut out the noise of the street during your... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here last weekend in November me and 7 mates. Free Parking was very useful as we travelled from Birmingham. The hotel is right in the middle of the main strip of bars/restaurants and less than 2 minutes walk from the gate. Breakfast was good as well. The staff were brilliant, easy to speak to and had a laugh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Man thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am really pleased to see that you and your friends enjoyed their stay at the Newgate Hotel. The staff are always very pleased to read the reviews and see that they have helped people enjoy their stay at the hotel and in Newcastle. We very much look forward... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A large group of us went to Newcastle for a friend's stag weekend. The trip planner chose this hotel because it was 3 stars and central. This was absolutely not a 3 star hotel, it was appalling. Not only was it a run down looking mess of a place but we all had to pay a £30 "bond" in case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to see that the Newgate Hotel did not meet your expectations. I am sorry that you took offence that you were required to pay a "bond" of £30 on arrival. Unfortunately, it is not 2 year olds that urinate, vomit and destroy... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from our 2nd stay in this hotel for a girls weekend away and i honestly cant compliment the place enough newgate was 1 of our reasons for returning 2 newcastle for a 2nd visit.. The staff are a credit 2 this hotel they go above and beyond especially biff and allen there was nothing they wouldnt do for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to review the Newgate Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have returned to the hotel and again enjoyed your stay. Biff and Allen will be pleased that you have recommended them. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read the reviews on this hotel after we had booked we were really dubious about staying there, especially as we are older than the usual hen, stag parties etc, however it wasn't that bad. Yes it could definately do with a facelift, especially the entrance which has to be the worst I have ever seen and I've travelled extensively... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The staff will be happy that you have found them to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the breakfast and excellent views from the 6th floor restaurant.... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came with a group of lads and a spot on weekend we had. Rooms where clean and comfortable. Spent a load of time in the bar and the staff we had especially Jessica and Kirsty where spot on always kind and happy to talk to. In the bar had a great time Kirsty always went the extra mile telling us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay at the Newgate Hotel. Biff Jessica and Kirsty are also pleased that they made your stay an enjoyable one. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend with a mate, when we first came into the hotel the person we were greeted with was very ignorant & dour faced, we went into town on a Saturday night & when returning home to find there was 0 security on the door & other people who did not stay at the hotel sitting at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I was very disappointed to read of your experience at the entrance to the hotel. I am currently looking into the late night door security to hopefully improve this situation. I am sorry that this spoiled your stay. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we visited this hotel back in the early1990's , and to be honest I don't think its had much of a make over since then , the hotel is worn and in need of a good clean and a lick of paint . saying that the bed was very comfortable and is in a great location for the bars and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that the location of the hotel was excellent for you and that you found your bed to be comfortable. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you at the Newgate Hotel in the future. Kind regards... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed here a while back for a lads weekend hotel needs some work done but good for buget weekend away on the drink and the hotel is also right in the centre of all the bars witch is great also most of the staff where excellent and a great laugh especially Allan and Kirsty on the bar and for directions,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you found the hotel and the location to be excellent for your stay. Allen and Kirsty are very pleased to be commended by you. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Newgate Hotel in the near future.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question