We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Newgate Hotel to your Saves list
Newgate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (292)
  • Photos (40)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (49)
  • More
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    71
    58
    91
See reviews for
19
81
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on19/07/14 and it was ok. Nothing flash but didn't care as we were on a stag weekend anyway. It was clean enough and shower worked well, with clean sheets and towels. Breakfast was ok as well. Parking was great, only it was really hard to find. Hey you get what you pay for!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and were able to make use of the FREE parking facilities. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Newgate Hotel again in the near future. Kind regards... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel on the 15th of July with a friend for work commitments ! when arriving to the hotel and walking through the many corridors before getting to the reception it looked like an abandoned building really filthy and a little scary and extremely dated !! After checking in we both departed to our separate rooms ! First... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to read that the Newgate Hotel did not meet your expectations. I am surprised that upon you arrival at 17.00 you and your colleague noticed none of the items you have listed. These were only noticed at around 1am. The night porter showed you... More

Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for our anniversary and frankly I will never stay again. The staff were friendly and very helpful but some of the staff seems to have a language barrier, this did not bother me or my boyfriend as we used to this sort of thing but for someone who has little experience with different languages it would have provided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Newgate Hotel. I am sorry that there was a problem with the towels in your room, and the quilt. I am pleased that this was sorted immediately for you,... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live in Carlisle and enjoyed our stay. Loads of history here dating back to Swallow days. My parents had many events here. Back in the 70's We as couple enjoyed seeing Elton and on return found your bar/night man a very nice person. Over all this a great hotel to pad up in with great price. Free car parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, whilst taking in the Elton John concert, we are very conveniently located for the Metro Radio Arena. As I see you are a regular visitor to Newcastle I do hope that we will have the... More

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel July 2012 with my friends and this is probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Thomas Cook actually recommended this hotel to us for our weekend away.. no idea why??! The hotel is joined onto a shopping Centre and looks horrible and outdated from the outside. The location is perfect for nightlife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your views on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations in 2012. We strive to improve all the time and I hope that we have inproved somewhat over the past two years. Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More

Clydebank, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June for a hen weekend. It is advertised as you get it! You pay for what you get and you couldn't really ask for anything else for the price! Staff were very friendly and I felt very safe as there was a night porter on the door as we came home one night :)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Myself and the team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Newgate Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Julei Riddell General Manager More

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night, front desk we're a bit not bothered about anything, room looked like it needed a decent clean and the bathroom should carry a health warning, i felt cleaner before getting a shower. The only thing clean in the room was the bed thank god! it's a 1 star room at best, i've seen cleaner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations. It is unfortunate that we were not advised of your problems during your stay so that we had the opportunity to rectify them. I have brought your comments up with the Housekeeping... More

carlisle england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed for one night on a sunday, receptionist hardly even looked up when we were checking in...got to our room, dirty floors that hadn't been hoovered, awful dirty windows and the bathroom was the worst I've seen and I've stayed in 1* hotels in ibiza several times..the bath was yellow/brown and all rusty, I honestly felt ill just being in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that you found the room was not cleaned properly upon your arrival. We do prefer that guests brings any issues to our attention when they find it so that we can rectify or change the room. I am sorry that... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Went as part of a hen party in april the hotel is ideal for this kind of thing, staff wer great and could'nt have been more helpful, Biff, Kirsty and Max were lovely!! Rooms were fine...the bar was excellent and this is wer we spent most of our time, perfect location as u just step out and your beside the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Kirsty, Biff and Max will be very pleased you found them to b e helpful. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Newgate Hotel in the near future. Kind regards Julie Riddell General... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a group in January. The hotel is very good value and all services you need is provided. The staff at reception are very helpful. The location is excellent, it really is at the heart of everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JRiddell, General Manager at Newgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I ma pleased tom read that the Newgate Hotel met your requirements. It is great to hear that you found the location and staff to be excellent. I hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you again very soon Kind regards Julie Riddell General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Newgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Newgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgate Hotel

Address: Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgate Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Newgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgate Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Quality Hotel Newcastle

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right in the heart of the city centre with plenty of FREE car parking making it the perfect choice whether visiting on leisure or business. Staying in the heart of Newcastle you can really enjoy this lively city. Local attractions include; great shopping at the MetroCentre, Hadrian's Wall and not forgetting the breathtaking Northumbria Coastline and Gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
93

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer