We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel to your Saves list
82%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sara C Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    43
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
53
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very poor, staff entering room through night whilst in bed, extractor fan nearby droneing from 7.30am-well after midnight.No bar seating area only restaurant area.Good location.Reception staff thought it funny about "night man" entering room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed as have used Best Western a lot in the past. Staff were not particularly friendly (apart from Amy who was very helpful). The room was spacious, modern and very clean and the bed huge, but we were in room 108 and the night time noise was terrible!! On both nights we stayed there was a large group of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you found the staff not to be friendly. We pride ourselves on being a small friendly hotel, winning Rising Star in Customer Care. The gentlemen outside talking would have been restaurant guests, and if you had found there talking to be disturbing, if you had contacted reception we would have... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Checked in for two night's , charged for one , so had to do process again , was sent to room which wasn't ready when I got there , came back down to tell reception , he went to check , came back down said it wasn't ready ( I know) and said it would be 10 minutes , he... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your tripadvisor Feedback. As discussed on check out I can only apologise for the member of staffs error in checking you into a non ready room. He should have allocated you a room that was ready. I have spoken with the member of staff and also to housekeeping regarding the cups missing from your room. We hope... More

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Having stayed in this hotel I would advise anyone going here to avoid getting a room on the first floor overlooking the car park. I was in room 107 and directly above the smoking room outside. The smell of smoke filters into your room and the noise of the late night smokers is annoying. The hotel is clean and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hotel was great and staff were very friendly and booked us cabs as soon as we asked. I was very happy with our overall stay, rooms and bathroom were clean and tidy. Only thing was that it is a bit out of the main part of town if you are wanting to go out at night. About a 20 min... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel within walking distance of St James' Park, free car parking & wi fi. Nice sized room & bathroom with tea/coffee making, everything you need for a comfortable stay. Staff pleasant & helpful, Luigi Khan's restaurant excellent. Breakfast - English (no bacon), scrabbled eggs & smoked salmon v good, fruit etc. Would stay again, but someone mentioned halal meat which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The location was perfect, just away from the main part of the city so easy to get to in the car and easy safe parking. The room was of a good size, great comfy bed. Good Wi-Fi strength and excellent shower. Place seemed very well cleaned a real nice place to stay. Also the restaurant on site is perfect for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nottingham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Double room extremely clean, big comfy bed larger than king size, tv, tea/coffee, safe bathroom was large with shower and bath big clean bright white towels. Passageways maintained and clean. Staff very helpful, polite and courteous. There is an indian restaurant in the hotel but unfortunately we didnt get time to try it out. Breakfast was great with cereals, fruit,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bagshot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visit Newcastle frequently, only one other hotel ticks all the boxes - Stay here and enjoy the visit. Walking distance to all sightseeing, venues, shopping and restaurants. Nearby Metro to the coast

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Address: 358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel