We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

3.0 of 5 358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    46
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
58
6
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a centrally located small hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne. Facilities good but obviously aimed at the business man. No drawers in our room and no easy chairs. Staff helpful and friendly. Restaurant very good if you like Indian food. We ate there and it was very good and reasonably priced. All in all not a bad place to... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small and friendly hotel in a location near the city centre. It has a free car park and free internet plus rooms with flat screen Freeview TV. The hotel theme is Indian and it has a very good restaurant for both Indian food and a few English dishes. They replace the bacon with either Mushrooms or Salmon... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on the 25th October. Speedy check in and check out. Travelled by coach, under £5 from coach station to the hotel in a taxi. Reception will also call taxis for you if needed. All the basics that you need are in the room and information on extras that can be supplied (e.g. Toothpaste, if forgotten) is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny G, Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. It is always lovely to hear from guests and how they enjoyed there stay. We look forward to welcoming you again to the BEST WESTERN Ryokan hotel on your next trip to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Ian Nicholls General Manager BEST WESTERN Ryokan hotel More

Hawick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before any early flight from Newcastle airport. We arrived after 7pm and booked straight into the restaurant for our evening meal. The restaurant serve mostly Indian food which is freshly cooked to order and tastes absolutely brilliant. The service was really good staff all really friendly. The rooms are clean & comfortable. Overall we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear laureng21, Firstly may I take this opportunity to thank you for leaving some feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests regarding their experience. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meal in Luigikhan's and also found the hotel comfortable during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again to the BEST WESTERN Ryokan hotel on your... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The hotel is about a mile from the railway station. The room was large, comfortable and spotless, and had excellent lighting, which is often not the case with Best Western. The restaurant specialises in Punjabi food, which may not be to everyone's taste, but was to mine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jbd47, Firstly may I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests and there experiences while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again to the BEST WESTERN Ryokan hotel on your next trip to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Ian Nicholls General Manager BEST WESTERN Ryokan hotel More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Fine for overnight stay.Room spacious,clean,big bed,small bathroom.Convenient for city centre and easy to find.No road noise but noisy extractor fan late and early.No noise from restaurant (see previous reviews)and decent breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Turkey13_13, Many thanks for taking sometime to leave some feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests and there experiences while staying with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced a problem with the extractor and the noise. I shall get our maintenance department to check that for any future guests. We hope to welcome you... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Very poor, staff entering room through night whilst in bed, extractor fan nearby droneing from 7.30am-well after midnight.No bar seating area only restaurant area.Good location.Reception staff thought it funny about "night man" entering room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologise for not exeeding your expectations. Here at the BEST WESTERN Ryokan hottel we pride ourselves on good service, and I'm sorry that isn't what you experienced. With regards to the member of staff entering your room, was an accident. He... More

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed as have used Best Western a lot in the past. Staff were not particularly friendly (apart from Amy who was very helpful). The room was spacious, modern and very clean and the bed huge, but we were in room 108 and the night time noise was terrible!! On both nights we stayed there was a large group of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you found the staff not to be friendly. We pride ourselves on being a small friendly hotel, winning Rising Star in Customer Care. The gentlemen outside talking would have been restaurant guests, and if you had found there talking to be disturbing, if you had contacted reception we would have... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Checked in for two night's , charged for one , so had to do process again , was sent to room which wasn't ready when I got there , came back down to tell reception , he went to check , came back down said it wasn't ready ( I know) and said it would be 10 minutes , he... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your tripadvisor Feedback. As discussed on check out I can only apologise for the member of staffs error in checking you into a non ready room. He should have allocated you a room that was ready. I have spoken with the member of staff and also to housekeeping regarding the cups missing from your room. We hope... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Address: 358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay