We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Kensington House Aparthotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kensington House Aparthotel to your Saves list
Kensington House Aparthotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
90%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013
cmoore1307 Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (170)
  • Photos (51)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    45
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
32
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Kensington House Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a brilliant stay at Kendsington Aparments while on my hen do with 9 other girls. We booked two apartments which both had 2 double beds in each and we had two camp beds placed in each to facilitate 5 persons per apartment. The apartments were beautifully designed and added a touch of luxury at a very affordable price to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Gillian Hall General Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Their was 4 of us staying in a 2 bed apartment.. With a free upgrade of a larger room with ensuite (not sure why) for 1 night. Our room was fantastic couldn't have wished for more.. Very spacious, modern, clean, defo has the Wow factor!! We was on the top floor (room 67) bit of a killer on the stairs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. There are restaurants and bars out of the hotel turn right about 10 minute walk. We upgrade our guests for a number of reasons, it also allows guests to see what else is available at no extra cost to... More

derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Myself and a group of friends recently stayed here on a visit to Newcastle for my friends 21st birthday. I was happy just staying in a hostel for the night but the birthday girl wanted something a little more luxurious and that is certainly what we got! The apartments were perfect, well sized and beautifully decorated. The beds were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are glad you picked us to stay with, Cheryl said you were a lovley group of girls and had enjoyed Jesmond and your weekend with us. We look forwward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Gillian Hall General Manager More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My friend booked this but fell ill when he was due to use it so handed over his reservation free of charge for me and my girlfriend to use. We were pretty impressed when we got there, really nice room and living space. Wasn't too noisy even with people in a room downstairs from us playing music and clearly getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, when you stay with us again if you require extra tea/coffee milk etc just request it from reception and they will supply more for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Gilian Hall... More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night trip to newcastle with my husband and two kids. Having spent 2 sleepless nights at the premier apartments in the centre of town (unbelievably noisy!), although that is my only complaint. we simply couldn't stay another night. We were recommended the Kensington house apart hotel in jesmond, a lovely part of town. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good nights sleep very important when you have children to entertain. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. KInd regards Gillian Hall General Manager More

Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

They stole £50 from my debit card without my permission and refused to give it back. I have had to contact trading standards. Plain awful attitude towards clients. The reception staff were rude and unhelpful. The Kensington House Aparthotel listed themselves with hotels.com (the booking agency I used to book my stay). Their online listing stated that I would need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

You booked an apartment in January2012 for the Great North Run Weekend which is september,not October, £50 non refundabledeposit was taken off your card as explained on all booking sites for all weekend bookings we take a £50 non-refundable deposit, you rang and complained we explained that these were our conditions but we would be quite happy to cancel your... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

As it was my 21st my uncle decided to 'surprise' me and book me an apartment for the night but because of security reasons i had to use my card to pay it. Which in my eyes is a faf! So not really what you call a surprise, then i added 2 extra guests which was £50 which fair enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. This booking was exrtremely complicated we tried on many occasions from a variety of phone calls to various people to get the balance of this booking. We take a £50 non-refundable deposit for all weekend bookings, we take a cash bond not bundle which is returned on departure after apartments are checked. It is pretty... More

Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great to be independent in a lovely flat yet still have 24 hour reception service for any questions. Very spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. Waitrose a 15 minute walk away - essential for buying breakfast as the continental one supplied in the flat is very basic! Not very central but lots of places to eat before you get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, reception are always on hand to help our guests if you have diffuculty using any of the appliances. We look forward to seeing you again in the fututre. Kind regards Gillian Hall General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I just returned from staying here whilst on a weekend away with a group of friends. The apartments are very nice with great interior, the only inconvenience we had is that our two bedroom apartment only had one bathroom. Me and my friends are used to going away in big groups and tend to find large apartments usually have two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is possible to walk into town from Kensington using footpaths avoiding motorways and roundabouts directions available from reception. We do have have apartments available with a bathroom and a en suite these can be requested when making a booking. On arrival with all groups we request a £100 per apartment bond (not deposit) this... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice accommodation, nice location.. Quiet at night with good facilities ! Shame wifi is driven by an annoying code system at £5 per device per 24 hours, its not convenient when there's multiple people in an apartment with multiple devices.. Charge more for the rooms and open the wifi up !

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we do take on board all of our guests comments and we are looking at ways we can address the wi fi system. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kensington House Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking
Hotel Style
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne #7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne #10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne #10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer