We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manor House Hotel & Spa

Newlands Corner, Guildford GU4 8SE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    118
    98
    85
    61
    54
See reviews for
70
130
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (416)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and my partner stayed here on the hottest day of the year so the first thing I would point out is no air con or fan in the room. The shower was a bit of Russian roulette going from scalding hot to freezing and room was front facing so we were woken up by people outside ridiculously early! Place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely Hotel outside Godalming but close enough to Guildford - 10 mins - and everything the City has to offer. Good clean rooms ( try and get a downstairs room - too hot upstairs !!) friendly staff and good food (although maybe a bit over priced ) Nicely kept grounds if you fancy a wander and all at a reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is not the best I've stayed in but nor is it the worst either. The whole place is a bit dated and could do with some decorating. The room was functional and clean with a comfortable bed. I found it strange that there were no glasses in the bathroom. The shower was hot and I did enjoy the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Andrew M, Owner at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Trooper Thank you for your comments, constructive and appreciated, we as new owners are striving to make noticeable improvements. Please continue to visit the hotel and not only you are a welcome guest you will benefit the changes in the not too distant future. Meanwhile we are pleased you had a enjoyable stay. All the best Dominic Manor House... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the first review that I have ever done on Trip Advisor but having seen all the terrible reviews I felt compelled to write, a if I was gggoing on these alone I would not have booked. I booked for one nights stay as I was attending a friends birthday party. The hotel was full and so the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kaziared Thank you for your review and your sincere approach towards some other less appraising reviews, "Between you and I, there is too much exaggeration in this world or others who simply don't like one another" your independence is admirable. Incidentally on your next visit please mention to the breakfast waiter any style of preferred egg as you would... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night. The outside is stunning and that is where it ends. Inside the hotel is tired and in much need of renovation. The room was dingy and dirty. It felt grotty. The bathroom was dusty and dirty. There were broken tiles and hairs still in the bath! The shower was cold. The white towel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Andrew M, Owner at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hi there jayemma. Appreciated, you will usually stay in expensive high end classy hotels to set your own personal standards to that of exemplary levels and we therefore understand your compromise, although you didn't mention any financial incentive to your stay here. We however as new owners of this lovely establishment are striving to implement significant improvements, we will welcome... More 

Travelers are raving about these Guildford hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

photos on the website initially sold me to book this hotel, driving up and seeing the hotel and grounds were far better than the images showed, even on a cloudy day. So let's get to the good bits-well of it. hotels and grounds are stunning. from the minute we arrived the staff were friendly, polite and friendly-from reception to bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mark We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay your kind words are a welcome, it will be good to see you again. The hotel is under some refurbishment programmes and expect you will experience the changes. Very best Dominic Manor House hotel More 

Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I never got as far as the hotel. I booked and paid in March for a room for two nights. On the night before I was due to stay the hotel called and said my booking was cancelled and invalid as Hotels.com had cancelled my room. They had not. The Hotel had simply overbooked at the last minute and cancelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my girlfriend and l spent a lovely evening dinning and chatting the night away the suroudings are lovely as is the staff. new owners are bringing it back to its glory and the spa is an added bonus had one of the best massarges ever and cant wait to do it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Girls - thank you for your kind reviews we are all so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and had a really nice time and comfortable hospitable stay. We remember the atmosphere Sparkle'd. Warm welcomes round and we look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Dominic Manor House Hotel More 

Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Manor house was extremely good value for money. Yes there is a little bit of paint peeling here and there and yes, it could do with a little make over, BUT considering it had a spa, a swimming pool , a gym, sauna etc.... I would rather have that than pay over the odds for such amenities. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Denis Thank you for your review, all of the staff are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and departed with a pleasurable experience. The Hotel is recently under new owners, so plenty of improvements will be evident in the not to distant future. You are most certainly welcome and will be given a warm reception to returne anytime. With... More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night, nice setting but hotel in need of updating and refurbishing. I would guess it is a family run business, staff are friendly enough but come over as a bit too casual and unprofessional, very friendly lady serving in breakfast room but clearly didn't speak any English which was a drawback. A few duff touches such as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Andrew M, Owner at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Larry We are pleased to hear your review, the points you make are noted, thank you. The hotel was recently taken over by new owners, it isn’t part of a chain. With our ongoing and improved changes to the hotel and our warmest welcome we hope to see you again, we intend your next stay will be pleasurably memorable.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay