We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Newmarket hotels

Rutland Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 High St, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Hotel amenities
Rutland Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rutland Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Newmarket
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kathleen H
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    99
    42
    35
    24
See reviews for
33
107
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (258)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel as a treat for my husbands birthday absolutely fabulous the rooms were great staff were more than helpful and friendly and the food was very good would definitely stay here again great base to visit other places in this area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southwest
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked 2 rooms here 7 months ago and stipulated we needed an accessible room for my elderly mother as she cannot do stairs. We arrived last Friday and were given keys to two second floor rooms. Not a problem for my husband and myself but I asked the receptionist to move my mother to a more accessible room as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all I have to say the staff are very helpful and welcoming, BUT don't stay in any rooms beginning with numbers 14...I stayed there with my sisters last week and the location of those rooms are unbelievable. They are up several flights of stairs then down a long steep flight to the floor these rooms are on. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff helpful and welcoming. The hotel is a 17th century coaching in and is a listed building. This means that we cannot put a lift in. The 14's are a fair distance away from reception and are up and down several flights of stairs. Had we... More

Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I visited to have afternoon tea. The member of staff serving our drinks at the bar was very rude which made for a very uncomfortable experience. The afternoon tea was disappointing when arrives with just one sandwich filling and not a selection which the manager informed us was how they served it. The manager has clearly been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have recently had several new member join our team at the hotel and it appears that there has been insufficient training. I am sorry for the experience you had and can assure you that this is not the normal level of service we aim to deliver. More

Broxburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for two nights recently. On entering the hotel we were initially disappointed as it seemed quite tired and in need of some TLC. The last time we stayed there was 1973 (we think). It might have been the same carpet in fact!! However, the receptionist was delightful and very helpful. We then proceeded to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel is a 17th century coaching and still ahs many of its original features e.g the wining corridors, exposed beams etc. With it being old, it does reuire a lot of attention to maintain it to a good standard. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look... More

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked Rutland for 1 night after a day at the races. Had a lovely day but then came back to disappointment. The room we were given absolutely stunk of smoke, the lovely receptionist, Natalie , came up and moved us to another room. Unfortunately this one just hadn't been cleaned and had a lot of damp in bedroom and mould... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your experience with us. Let me assure you this is not our normal level of service. During racing events we are very busy and have limited time to clean all the rooms as many guests wish to check in early. I believe there was a bit of a mix up on the paperwork meaning... More

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night with my wife and 13 year old daughter in a family room on first floor.room was spacious and clean .breakfast was very good and plenty of choice .staff are very friendly and helpful . Hotel is in an ideal location on high street and car park has plenty of space...we will use this hotel again next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We llok forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

Willenhall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our boss sorted this hotel for us to have our daily rest, (we're truck drivers). The hotel was old and looked very dated. Though the beams added character. The room was a nice size, though it ABSOLUTELY STANK of stale cigarettes, and as non smokers ourselves, this was not a nice experience. Whoever had used the room before has obviously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear this. We are a non-smoking hotel and when guests do smoke in the rooms we generally make sure that they are deep cleaned the day after. We would have been happy to move your room if you had any concerns. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Arrived after a very stressful day, reception seemed rude but think it was one of them days everyone was having or seemed it as everyone I'd dealt with that day were so rude. Anyways room is great, clean apart from shower head full of limescale, refuse to use it so bathing instead, other than that great stuff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you found the receptionist rude. The staff at the hotel pride themselves on being friendly and polite and i'm sure on this occasion it was just a bad day. I am sorry for your experience in this matter. More

Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

......this old hotel needs massive investment to bring the bedroom facilities into the 21st Century. We may have been unlucky with our room but it was very tired. The bathroom could best be described as scruffy, with mildew and mould in abundance. The lighting was poor and the twin beds were uncomfortable. The food was moderate but the service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel is a 17th century coaching inn and needs lots of TLC. We try our best to maintain a high standard of cleanliness at all times, i am sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I am glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Address: 33 High St, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay