We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Bury St. Edmunds hotels

Clarice House

Save Saved
You added Clarice House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5PH , England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (245)
  • Photos (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
Clarice House
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    57
    26
    32
    27
See reviews for
28
59
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clarice House, Bury St Edmunds is well known for it's Spa, Health and Sports facilities. When we were looking for our ideal wedding venue, someone suggested Clarice House. It was definitely the best choice, well above many of the standard "Wedding Venues" for our most important wedding weekend. From our first visit, we had dedicated staff who worked with us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thetford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I have visited Clarice House a number of times now and it gets better every time. From the wonderfully peaceful grounds that the house sits in to the warm and welcoming staff you instantly start to relax as soon as you pull into the drive. The food is amazing as are all the treatments they have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a disappointment! I booked a 'Bliss evening spa' for myself and a friend to celebrate a birthday having been persuaded by the price and website descriptions that we were in for a real treat. From the outside it looks lovely and I can imagine that sitting outside in the sunshine does feel like a relaxing retreat. However once inside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have just arrived home after a disappointing day at the spa. It was a gift someone had given me so really looking forward to it. I was very disappointed about several factors overall the place just looks a little shabby. The furniture is worn and in some places, like the toilet and treatment rooms, it felt a little grubby.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a room on laterooms.com and was told we had booked the last room for Friday 8th August, 2014 when we arrived. The room was Luxor directly above the kitchen fans and dustbins....when the fans went off we could sleep but the smells from the bins weren't pleasant so we had to keep the windows closed on a hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst I have visited before, I'm not sure I will hurry back. Was enjoying a lovely relaxing day, back massage was wonderful, but then had to stand by the pool and look at all the sun loungers that were empty, but had been reserved by towels (even though there are signs stating towels will be removed, they are not). Had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments and I am so sorry to hear about your manicure if you did not mention this on the day please email us so we can look into what went wrong on bury@claricehouse.co.uk If you did speak to one of our management team before you left I do hope they sorted this out and filled... More

Norfolk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Return visit, food is always excellent and wine very reasonably priced ( we paid £20 for a bottle of Sauvignon blanc ), we had the room named "bizarre" spacious with an excellent en-suite: very comfortable. Treatments were good, especially the reiki which we both thought was superb. Water temperature in the pool was on the chilly side, but ok once... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House, responded to this review

Glad you liked Bizarre it one of our favourite rooms! Thank you for posting such lovely comments and we do hope we can welcome you back again soon to enjoy our treatments and facilities. We are in the process of refurbishing the changing areas so you will see a difference next time you visit! More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 nights on business at the hotel. I booked a standard room and was pleased on arrival as room was lovely, decorated in a a shabby chic style. Unfortunatey it was hot and when I returned from work later afternoon the room was so hot it was uncomfortable. Called reception for a fan but was told there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are in the process of refurbishing our changing rooms, showers and toilet area and it is unfortunate that the morning you comment on was the delivery of the temporary changing rooms we do apologize... More

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

had alovely day. Staff very attentive but not over bearing. Food lovely, atmosphere all over is relaxed, warm and friendly. Would recommend to anyone looking for a treat for themselves. Ideal for Solo, couples and groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

So pleased you had a great time with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. More

London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just visited earlier in the week and had a great day, as i usually do as the treatments are fantastic with very capable therapists, however this is the first time visiting where i feel that the place is getting very tired. The changing rooms were in the nicest way i can put it, dirty and smelt. I do believe they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

We are really pleased you enjoyed your treatments and our excellent afternoon tea, we are now starting the refurbishment on our changing rooms and toilets so I am sure when you visit again in the future you will see a huge improvement. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clarice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarice House

Address: Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5PH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarice House 5*
Also Known As:
Clarice House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Clarice Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Clarice Spa Bury St Edmunds
Clarice House Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bury St. Edmunds with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#2 Spa Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds #4 Luxury Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarice House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer