We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarice House

5.0 of 5 Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5PH , England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarice House
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarice House
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    68
    39
    36
    30
See reviews for
38
74
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been given a luxury overnight stay voucher for Christmas a friend and I eagerly booked and looked forward to a stay here. The arrangements were made about a month in advance, with our spa treatments requests ticked off and sent back several weeks before our stay. On arrival we were told sadly we have been unable to book your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments and I have spoken to the Spa Manager and head receptionist who remember your booking and stay. I am pleased the Spa Manager found you some space for an additional facial and she does confirm you had you guaranteed inclusive treatments and it was the additional treatments we struggled to fit in. Additional treatment which... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in and shown to our room! Wow !!! Called Bizzare it was lovely . We then had afternoon tea which was served by friendly staff and was delicious! Spa treatments for us followed ,again superb with great staff ! Evening meal we opted for pigeon to start followed by steak (extra charge) ,but absolutely delicious !!!!!! My baileys coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

We love the room Bizarre as well, so pleased you did! We are so delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thank you very much for posting such valuable feedback which has been passed on to al the teams - it really does make a difference to pass these kind of comments on to the staff so... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and three friends stayed over night and it was amazing.There was a bit of a muddle when checking in as my treatments hadn't been relayed by the beauty team, but the receptionist was very helpful and sorted everything out. The room was amazing and the bathroom huge. The treatments were lovely and I can recommend Kirsty senior therapist for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

Kirsty is so happy to have received such lovely comments thank you, she is a superb therapist and please if we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future please request her and we will do our upmost to accommodate your request. Hope to see you back again soon! More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Clarice House. The room was beautiful, the staff so helpful and friendly and the food exquisite. We had a wonderful relaxing massage and left feeling totally relaxed. The only slightly negative point was that the swimming pool was very cold but otherwise a terrific experience which we hope to repeat as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only just writing a review after coming here in March 2014 for afternoon tea because I have just been to another afternoon tea at the Angel hotel which was pretty poor compared to the one I experienced here. Well organised, presented and cosier atmosphere. The selection and quantity of sandwiches was spot on as was the balance and variety of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We do believe it is good value for money and beautifully presented, our staff always try to offer a really personal friendly service and were very pleased to have your comments passed on to them so thank you for taking the time to review us. More 

Suffolk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here several times in the past, and booked a spa day for my mum and I, hoping for a restful experience after a traumatic time. We were shocked by the mean, penny-pinching attitude that pervaded the day. We've just spent time at a local hotel/spa and they got it so right in comparison to Clarice House that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your day with us, I wish we had the opportunity on the day to address your concerns but from all our duty logs for the time you visited I am unable to find a log that you were unhappy, we do encourage immediate reporting of any issues so we can try and resolve. We... More 

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to Clarice House on many occasions the last two being day spas. On both occasions disappointed. The first time October 2014 my extended back massage was rudely interrupted by the Manager in the room next door talking at high volume with her client the whole way through my hour long massage. The second time was on 4th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Luckily a friend and i had booked this as an offer but if I had paid a regular day rate I would be severely disappointed. Arrival was a bit muddled and there was confusion over our booking which had vouchers saying pedicure but we actually were booked for a manicure although this was no problem but did cause some issues... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your day although I have passed on your lovely comments to Julia and the chef about your treatments and the food. Rest assured all your other feedback has been discussed with the teams to hi light the downfalls and taken very seriously so thank you for your comments. Lockers and... More 

Halesworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited for a night stay. Used the spa, had massages and ate in the lovely restaurant. The staff were all friendly, there was a lovely girl who worked by the pool area serving drinks etc. the food was very very good, room amazing (room Name Bizarre!!). Only complaint I have is that the restaurant was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went with a group of friends and had such a relaxing time . The staff were first class and the food was amazing . All members of the staff were first class and the treatments were reasonably priced and very professional . Will be going back again with any luck !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarice House

Address: Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5PH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarice House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Clarice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarice House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Clarice Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Clarice Spa Bury St Edmunds
Clarice House Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
#2 Spa Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay