We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    68
    42
    19
    10
See reviews for
41
192
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (321)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had intended to book the Premier Inn as I was on a business trip and that's what we do; however, the Premier Inn was quoting £115 and was quite far from where my meeting was so I decided to look elsewhere and stumbled upon Ravenwood Hall. I booked a superior double for £115 including breakfast. When I arrived I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

having stayed at Ravenwood Hall on a Secret Escapes deal recently we were not disappointed this hotel has an old world charm, and the lady serving the breakfast was highly amusing,reminded us of Julie Walters two soups waitress sketch...... Enjoyed our stay but a few grey area's with the restaurant service and the bathroom plumbing and would have not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a 2 night stay here on a Secret Escapes deal.Having stayed before we knew we could expect a comfortable room,good service and excellent meals.We were not disappointed.This charming hotel has the feel of a country house;very relaxing.Staff were all very pleasant and helpful,especially the lovely lady who served breakfast. We look forward to our next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Max M, General Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User JuliesReview2015 Thank you for your recent review and compliments on our staff, the food, the grounds and for choosing our hotel for your recent break away. Its always a pleasure to receive positive comments from our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future, Best wishes Max More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First stayed here summer of 2014 and returned for an overnight stay, on our way to our Easter cottage rental, because of our previous visit. We weren't disappointed, lovely friendly staff and excellent food, well served. We chose the hotel because we have 2 dogs and it's a perfect place for them, a great welcome and no extra charges for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Max M, General Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User FrankP What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to post on here and how nice it is to see that once again you have enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. See you soon. Kind regards Max More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, staff friendly, unfortunately we were overcharged by the restuarant by £16! Someone else's drinks and a pudd! Should have checked bill more thoroughly before leaving, I know! Receptionist is first class, restuarant staff friendly, however the older guy was forgetful on numerous occasions, wine, menus and food! Never mind! Room was cosy, called Oak room, just 1 issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Max M, General Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UserPhilB Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and i am glad that despite a few issues you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. Please call reception regarding your bill so we can rectify this for you. I hope to welcome you back to Ravenwood Hall in the near future, Kind... More 

Tiptree, Essex
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 1 sunday night over the easter Bank Holiday. It was very busy on arrival at 4pm as the Sunday Lunch was very popular. We now know why - the food and general atmosphere was excellent. It is a minute off the A14 (but you would never know) and within 5 minutes of Bury St Edmunds. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Max M, General Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User AndyBee Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enoyed your stay with us. All the best and see you again soon, Regards Max More 

London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of March. It is a few minutes by car from Bury St Edmunds. Set in beautiful grounds and with an open air pool. The hotel is oozing with character and all the staff were absolutely charming and went out of their way to be as helpful possible. We were especially lucky as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Max M, General Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User LovelyStevie Thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the evening meals and hope this hasn't deterred you from returning to us again in the future. Best Wishes Max More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived it was such a relaxing and cosy feel. The little extra touches made all the difference (our teddy in the chair, local mags to read, and extra nice biscuits in their special place!) Evening meal was lovely, however they did forget to bring our desserts and after 25mins wait and needing prompting the waiter brought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Max M, General Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User valpaine Thank you so much for your review and sorry to hear about the dessert issue. I would like to assure you that this will not happen again and hope to see you in the future so we can show you this and make your stay memorable for all the right reasons. Best wishes Max More 

Manningtree
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a wonderful nights stay in this hotel. Beautiful old hotel so much history, lovely grounds. The staff very helpful and Abi the receptionist so knowledgeable a real credit to the hotel. The food was just the best and restaurant staff helpful. Mr Jarvis your hotel and staff do you proud. Hope to be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Max M, General Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User HelenE Wow what a lovely review which I will most definitely be passing onto the team. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Max More 

England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our one night stay at this hotel was enchanting. The hotel set in its own wood is idyllic, the hotel staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The rooms were beautifully decorated, we stayed in the Abbey Room, it felt like we were sleeping in the period of Henry the VIII. The location of the hotel was a 5 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Max M, General Manager at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear User butterfly40_10 Thank you for your lovely comments and where we can improve for the future. This is not the usual Ravenwood standard and I will be making sure this doesn't happen again wth regards to our breakfast service. See you soon. Kind regards Max More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question