We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Symonds Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    55
    42
    28
See reviews for
16
47
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Norfolk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Rang in advance for breakfast table for bussiness meeting . wasn't ready when we got there. Staff were pleasant enough but words fail me for the quality of the breakfast. A few slices of plastic bread, about 6 pastries, no orange juice, ran out of plates. Bacon, mushroom , beans and sausage luke warm with abowl of dried scraed egg.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was quiet and very clean. It needed some updating and would be much nicer if this was done. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was mediocre. Staff were very helpful and friendly though so couldn't fault that. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here as our friends wedding was at Hengrave Hall in bury St Edmunds. We paid around £70 which is an average price, we've stayed in a few travel lodges for this price. The only difference is that a travel-lodge is quite a lot more clean and modern compared to here! Everything is very dated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Bury St. Edmunds hotels

Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed with my partner at the Dragonfly in late April 2015 while on my first trip to England. I have rarely encountered such outstanding and friendly service at a hotel. My sincere thanks to Tina & Becky in particular for their lovely service and hospitality!!! Check-in was quick and easy, and our room was everything we hoped it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we approached reception where a male and female gave us our room card/key. Seemed pretty basic reception area. We were given room 202 which was the very first room after the main corridor door. This door clonked every time someone opened it. The room smelt unclean and stale, even though the window was already open! The bed looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for the poor experience you had at my Hotel and I thank you for your valued feedback. Having recently taken over as the Operations Manager of our Dragonfly Hotel, Bury St Edmunds, you have my assurance I am committed to addressing the shortfalls you have highlighted, I can only apologise... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow! I thought at first I was on a hidden camera show... The first room smelt of smoke, had dead insects in the window, hand prints on the ceiling and 3 bright blue tablets in a packet of four left in the bathroom! I went down to ask for another room and the receptionist proceeded to spit the entire mouthful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for the poor experience you had at my Hotel and I thank you for your valued feedback. Having recently taken over as the Operations Manager of our Dragonfly Hotel, Bury St Edmunds, you have my assurance I am committed to addressing the shortfalls you have highlighted in our performance. I... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Quality Hotel march 2015, first night I ate in the restaurant, I waited behind a man (huffing and tutting as to say he'd been there a while) at the podium waiting to be shown a table he was shown by the manageress to a table moved up to the podium the young (boy band looking) lad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear Matthew B I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for the poor experience you had at my Hotel and I thank you for your valued feedback. Having recently taken over as the Operations Manager of our Dragonfly Hotel, Bury St Edmunds, you have my assurance I am committed to addressing the shortfalls you have highlighted in... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
205 hotel reviews
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had one night here and it seemed a pretty mixed affair. Check in took longer than expected as two staff members seemed to be squabbling. My room was ok... A little tired, but I've stayed in worse. My evening meal was a bit of a disappointment. The choice of meal was small and I opted for Toad in the Hole.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear Sowie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the hotel. I am very sorry that you found the check in process and meal a disappointment, I have shared your feedback with my Kitchen team and have since reviewed and adjusted the menu and prices and have also given more training on... More 

Westerham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Stayed here with our Choir (London Welsh Rugby Club Choir) who were performing at the Apex Theatre in Bury St Edmunds. The hotel is little outside the town but is well served by a reasonably priced taxi service, it has a large spacious car park. The hotel was in a state of transition with the computer system not working but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear Harry P Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our Hotel and thank you for your kind words, we are really happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us as we really enjoyed having you. Your singing was absolutely wonderful so Thank You for sharing it with us. We... More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

No sign of Quality Hotel anywhere as you drive into the car park or enter the hotel itself, which was very confusing. Upon arrival everything was very fast, gave my name and was quickly passed a key, unfortunately the key I was given was for a room already occupied by other guests, one of which was extremely aggressive. After meeting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear dale569, I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for the poor experience you had at my Hotel and I thank you for your valued feedback. Having recently taken over as the Operations Manager of our Dragonfly Hotel, Bury St Edmunds, you have my assurance I am committed to addressing the shortfalls you have highlighted in our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay