We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Symonds Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    19
    59
    45
    31
See reviews for
17
54
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was staying here for work and although it looks a little tired and straight from the 70s (and in need of some TLC) I thought it would be fine. How wrong could I be? A group of us met for dinner in the restaurant and after choosing from a very limited menu we had to wait ages for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed her for two nights looking around area. Check in with Blonde lady was so simple. She was so welcoming professional and polite my wife runs a small B&B in Wales and said she would hire her without question such a nice person front of house well done Dragonfly. Food and room was good and such a lovely town. Will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chichester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Greeted on my first night by a lovely lady this was to be the highlight. A decor pulled straight from the 70's and staff service to match I couldn't believe what I had to deal with. Asked for a taxi to be booked to take me to my place of work and was asked "why don't you walk?" And "he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear Ben B Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the hotel. I am very disappointed with your comments and feel they are not typical of the service or standards that we pride ourselves on here at the hotel, I will certainly look into the comments you have raised and address these... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bury St. Edmunds hotels

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here recently for a wedding and the room was if and comfy. The lady on the desk from Liverpool was amazing. The breakfast was good and the bar stayed open late for when the wedding finished. I do not understand why people complain for a hotel with breakfast under £80. I would happily stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear Rob T Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your last visit with us for and for the kind sentiments contained therein. I will pass these comments onto the teams here as they always appreciate your feedback and it just goes to show that all our hard work is starting to pay off. Kind regards... More 

Blackpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed for 2 nights all staff very nice and friendly nothing was to much trouble, I had a minor medical problem phoned from reception staff very helpful was advised to keep foo elevated and if possible use iced water kirsty kept a bowl full of water topped up for me, ate in the restaurant 1st night leon the chef was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear BlackpoolGranmum It is always very refreshing to read a review where the hard work the team puts into the hotel is noted and I am very grateful for your comments. We are always trying very hard to ensure the guest’s experiences at the hotel are goo and I am delighted that you found this to be the case. Thank... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice big room and comfy bed, good pillows. Clean on first inspection but further examination revealed dirt and hairs at back of drawers, and unfortunate sweat stain on the chair! Nice hot shower. Quiet, slept well. Wild mushroom and spinach linguine is sadly rather lacking in mushrooms and spinach, and sauce, also overpriced for what it is. Reception girl was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear SaraSillySausage Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the hotel. I am very sorry that you found the cleanliness and meal a disappointment, I have shared your feedback with my team and are in the process of reviewing the menu and have also giving more training in housekeeping. I hope that... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my hubby recently stayed at the Dragonfly Hotel and to be honest I can't understand the negative reviews on here, from the moment I telephoned I received excellent customer service. Becky put us up in the quiet rooms without us even asking and Leon was very helpful at breakfast. Every staff member I encounted was happy and engaging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear Patrickandsally Thank you ever so much for the beautiful words contained in you review, Its reviews like this that show that the team are working tirelessly to improve the service they offer Thank you again and please come back soon Kind regards Becky Drewitt Operations Manager Kind regards, Becky Drewitt Operations Manager More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night after attending my friends wedding. We were allowed to check in early and deposit our bags which was great. We arrived late but there was people around and the hotel was warm and welcoming. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms very quiet. There is a tv and all the basics you could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear Lorean811, Wow! What a fantastic review, thank you so much. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed stay with us. The team are thrilled with your feedback and very much looking forward to welcoming you back Kind regards, Becky Drewitt Operations Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. On arrival ,our toilet was unable to flush. There was no phone in the room so had to go all the way downstairs to complain. Pleased to say they were very helpful in changing our room. The room was very basic. Double bed with only one bedside table. The shower was the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Dear Julie B, I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for the poor experience you had at my Hotel and I thank you for your valued feedback. You have my assurance I am committed to addressing the shortfalls you have highlighted in our Hotel. The issues with water pressure are being addressed. I would welcome the opportunity... More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was of good quality and the bathroom was nice. The breakfast was adequate but didn't seem to have enough staff in the kitchen or dining area. The reception staff need to be a bit friendlier and be behind the reception desk as often there was no one to be seen there. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBSE, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review

Hi Gill W Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Dragonfly Hotel, I am pleased that you found the room clean and comfortable and that the bed was of good quality. I would like to apologise that you felt their was a lack of team at the hotel and I agree this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay