We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Inn

1 Eastgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1XX, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Fox Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fox Inn
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    40
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
87
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Ipswich,UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for my wife's birthday.I booked 3 rooms as we stayed here last year and had no problems.Once again it was a pleasant stay,no one had any issues,the rooms are nice and spacious,they can get quite warm so maybe open the velux slightly,and close the blackout blind.Its very close to the A14 but there is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent 3 nights over the Christmas period. Bury St Edmunds is such a beautiful town to visit any time of the year, but it was delightful to spend Christmas there even though it is only 35 miles from home. Christmas Eve we attended Midnight Mass at the cathedral which was packed and seemed the perfect way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited from Australia and had many pub lunches involving the favourite - fish & chips, but this pub had undoubtedly had the best I have ever tasted anywhere The location is fantastic and the staff are friendly and welcoming Definitely worth the visit...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you to our Australian visitors for posting such a rave review about our fish & chips. The dish has won awards for us at Old English Inns in the past and it is great to hear that it is still one of the best! More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Stayed 2nights at the Fox Inn. Room 4 was excellent ...spacious bedroom and wet room. Underfloor heating in both areas ensured that the room was very cosy...in fact a little too warm for us overnight but that is a small niggle. The room looked newly decorated and was exceptionally clean ...lovely crisp bed linen and plenty of towels. If I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay with us and valued the accommodation so highly. More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed for two nights and the room was great they had thought of everything you need lovely toiletries great bathroom. Bed and bedding comfy I've never slept so well. Breakfast. Was tasty lovely bread and good choice on menu freshly cooked to order. We dined there both nights my hubby had steak first night had to send back undercooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

It is obvious from other reviews that the Fox is great for accommodation but rather poor for food. We planned a family meal in Bury St Edmunds between Christmas and New Year. We researched the options and opted for the Fox based on its varied menu - 3 generations to please - and its location. As we live 300 miles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Fox and would like to say how wonderful the rooms are! We stayed in room 3 and every facility had been thought of and provided. There was underfloor heating, which was glorious as well as the option for air conditioning when needed. The room was well decorated and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments and taking the trouble to post them on this site. We are very pleased that you loved the accommodation and enjoyed your breakfast too. More 

Needham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Last night we held our Christmas meal here and I would never go again. We had made it very clear with numerous phone calls and emails (they never answer the phone, return calls or answer emails) that I couldnt have gluten or dairy. When my meal came out I asked if it had dairy on and was firmly told that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to read that you were not happy with the meal you were served and with our menu descriptions. We take allergen awareness very seriously and therefore have allergen data sheets for our guests use; all of our team have been trained in awareness of all 14 known allergens on order to accommodate the needs of our guests.... More 

lowestoft
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Having stayed here before, we were disappointed this time. We had trouble with the door not locking, there was also no chain for the door (Broken). The heating did not come on so the room was cold, they had three goes at sorting it, gave us a portable heater. the heating came on very high in the middle of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

As you mention we did try several times to sort out the heating for you and that is why we brought a heating unit to your room so that you were not too cold overnight. We can only apologise that the heating came on during the night so that it became too hot, we could not have forecasted this and... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Spent a wonderful 3 nights here. The Fox is an ideal location for the town centre attractions, yet quiet enough at night. I stayed in room 5, which is just as good as the photo on the internet! It's spacious, clean and comfortable; the floor is wooden, but smooth and warm; the room has good quality oak furniture (smart, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Following on from our breakfast chats I am so pleased and thank you for your follow-up posting on this site. It is always great to hear positive comments and it really does make our efforts feel that they have value and are worthwhile. I hope you had a safe trip back to Darlington. We hope to see you again, when... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: 1 Eastgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The Fox Inn Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay