We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Inn

Certificate of Excellence
1 Eastgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1XX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fox Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fox Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    110
    45
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
30
103
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Tried to book for a reunion lunch with ex-work colleagues later this week. 10 and under would have been fine, but we were 12. Told we have to pre-order. Tried to explain the difficulties with people all over the country and one even coming from Spain, but totally disinterested. 'Company policy'...don't you just love that phrase? No flexibility or helpfulness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 4 & it was spotless. Plenty of nice touches - especially liked the fact that there was air con, chocs as well as biscuits and lots of pots of milk for hot drinks. The bed was lovely & comfy & the shower room was huge. We had a late lunch in the pub which was tasty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went with friends for a meal. Really poor service, quality and attitude. There were problems with vegetarian meals not being vegetarian, the food came at different times, over a 45 minute period, and when we tried to protest the unacceptability of the quality and service they didn't seem interested. Disappointing. Better options in local area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to The Fox, after speaking to the manager she would very much like you to contact her to discuss this matter further so she can investigate, the best contact for her is 01284 705562. More 

Whistler
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at The Fox for 3 nights as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. What a super little find ! We had the Hayloft Suite which is amazing. A stunning room and so comfy. The facilities were spotless and the bed was lovely to sleep in. All mod cons as well such as quiet air conditioning and a safe.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Fox and hope you will come and join us again next time you are in the local area. More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a function locally. Good position within a short walk of town centre, opposite the Abbey Gardens and close to the Cathedral. The accommodation is in an old stable block and these were converted to an extremely high standard by a previous private owner before it was taken over by the present chain. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry you did not receive the experience we have come to pride ourselves on here at The Fox. We hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in the area so we have an opportunity to encourage you to expect more from... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited on 20th June 15. Fantastic rooms, we were in room 3.Very clean. Nice little extra touches in the bathroom for the 'Ladies'. A bowl of chocolates as well as biscuits with the tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was great, a very good selection, lovely fresh fruit. We were served by Mia (Emily) at breakfast, she had a good sense... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. P.S Mia say Hi to you too. More 

Manningtree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Stayed in room1 which was lovely and clean and bed very comfortable. Had tea and coffee making facilities in room with chocolates and biscuits. Had a meal in the evening which was very nice and reasonable. There was lots of choice at breakfast and the service was very good. We had Mia (Emily) look after us at breakfast she was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. P.S Mia (Emily) says 'Hi' More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

Came in for a meal. The staff were very welcoming, cheerful and helpful. The menu was great lots to choose from and good descriptions, we ordered 3 mains and 3 deserts, the food was lovely tasteful and satisfying. The pub itself is lovely inside and out, very clean and smart. Will definitely visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very glad to here you will be back to visit us. More 

Suffolk,
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Visited for lunch today. Really lovely atmosphere inside & very busy for a lunchtime. Only one member of staff on the bar which probably wasn't enough but the wait wasn't massive so it wasn't a issue. We just had burgers but they were very nice & extremely filling, arriving very quickly. Looking forward to visiting & trying some other menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologise for your wait at the bar, and are glad to hear you are looking forward to visiting & trying some other items off our menu. More 

London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Lenny Henry would like it here! Improvements on his normal accommodation include parking outside your bedroom door, no stairs for 5 out of 6 rooms, room 2 excellent - very 'roomy", separate both and shower in large bathroom. Lovely wooden panelled dining room where breakfast is taken. Breakfast excellent, kippers available and the normal full breakfast range. Tea preferable to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back and visit again. We would also like to thank you for your helpful tip about the morning sun. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Cannon Brewery
Old Cannon Brewery
#14 of 59 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 59 in Bury St. Edmunds
5.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay