We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Inn

1 Eastgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1XX, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Fox Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fox Inn
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    39
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
86
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 2nights at the Fox Inn. Room 4 was excellent ...spacious bedroom and wet room. Underfloor heating in both areas ensured that the room was very cosy...in fact a little too warm for us overnight but that is a small niggle. The room looked newly decorated and was exceptionally clean ...lovely crisp bed linen and plenty of towels. If I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay with us and valued the accommodation so highly. More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights and the room was great they had thought of everything you need lovely toiletries great bathroom. Bed and bedding comfy I've never slept so well. Breakfast. Was tasty lovely bread and good choice on menu freshly cooked to order. We dined there both nights my hubby had steak first night had to send back undercooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is obvious from other reviews that the Fox is great for accommodation but rather poor for food. We planned a family meal in Bury St Edmunds between Christmas and New Year. We researched the options and opted for the Fox based on its varied menu - 3 generations to please - and its location. As we live 300 miles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Fox and would like to say how wonderful the rooms are! We stayed in room 3 and every facility had been thought of and provided. There was underfloor heating, which was glorious as well as the option for air conditioning when needed. The room was well decorated and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments and taking the trouble to post them on this site. We are very pleased that you loved the accommodation and enjoyed your breakfast too. More 

Needham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Last night we held our Christmas meal here and I would never go again. We had made it very clear with numerous phone calls and emails (they never answer the phone, return calls or answer emails) that I couldnt have gluten or dairy. When my meal came out I asked if it had dairy on and was firmly told that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to read that you were not happy with the meal you were served and with our menu descriptions. We take allergen awareness very seriously and therefore have allergen data sheets for our guests use; all of our team have been trained in awareness of all 14 known allergens on order to accommodate the needs of our guests.... More 

lowestoft
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Having stayed here before, we were disappointed this time. We had trouble with the door not locking, there was also no chain for the door (Broken). The heating did not come on so the room was cold, they had three goes at sorting it, gave us a portable heater. the heating came on very high in the middle of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

As you mention we did try several times to sort out the heating for you and that is why we brought a heating unit to your room so that you were not too cold overnight. We can only apologise that the heating came on during the night so that it became too hot, we could not have forecasted this and... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Spent a wonderful 3 nights here. The Fox is an ideal location for the town centre attractions, yet quiet enough at night. I stayed in room 5, which is just as good as the photo on the internet! It's spacious, clean and comfortable; the floor is wooden, but smooth and warm; the room has good quality oak furniture (smart, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Following on from our breakfast chats I am so pleased and thank you for your follow-up posting on this site. It is always great to hear positive comments and it really does make our efforts feel that they have value and are worthwhile. I hope you had a safe trip back to Darlington. We hope to see you again, when... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

The fox in was booked for us by a local company for the week end and we were very pleased with the choice room 5 is a beautiful room with a lot of at tension to detail A good breakfast to start the day. We would love to stay here again if we visit bury st Edmonds again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your comments - hopefully see you again! More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Lovely accommodation at this near town centre location. For once the internet pictures didn't lie. Really nicely decorated rooms which are well thought out. Lovely hand made furniture in oak and wrought iron, a huge and very comfortable bed and very efficient underfloor heating. All the little things are well thought out e.g plenty of hangars and wardrobe space, Room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are very proud of the rooms here at the Fox. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast too and hope to see you again. More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Booked restaurant for a special birthday celebration for my family. Couldn't find menu on line but it said there was a lot of veggie options, there wasn't. Food was quite dated and I think it must have changed since I last went there a few months ago as there was more choice and nicer things. We had to go and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your experience. We were very sorry to hear that your evening was not up to your expectations. Our menu was b the same from March through October, albeit our Specials board does change weekly. Our menu is available on our website; www.foxinn-burystedmunds.com, just go into menus and all of our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: 1 Eastgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The Fox Inn Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay