We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Aldeburgh hotels

The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lakeside Avenue | Thorpeness, Aldeburgh IP16 4NH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
85%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
EssexWrinkly Essex
  • Overview
  • Reviews (171)
  • Photos (75)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    68
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
79
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A great location in Thorpeness, not far to walk to the beach or mere. It made a good base from which to explore this part of Suffolk. Hotel Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Loved our rooms overlooking the golf course, perfect for a quiet break. Restaurant was quite formal and menu was disappointing, we selected from the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for work. Couldn't fault friendliness of staff. Room was a good size but felt slightly damp. Had meal in restaurant but wish I chose bar when I saw the limited options in menu. Food was good though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us when you were so far away from home. We always rely on our friendly staff to give you a good Suffolk welcome. I hope someone told you that we could have served anything from the bar menu for you even if you were in the restaurant? More

Barnet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am a regular visitor to this Hotel and had another enjoyable stay. The course has really improved we were very impressed with the greens. Staff as helpful as ever. The food was not quite as good as I have previously experienced - portions small if you have a worked up an appetite. The lounge has become a little tired.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Always good to welcome back our golfing guests for yet another visit. Our plan is to make Thorpeness your favourite course after your own. Just planning a bit of TLC for the lounge area to keep that comfortable friendly environment for which we pride ourselves. The new 9th green looks as if it’s always been there and the green keepers... More

Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As you approach the hotel, the frontage rises up to great you like some majestic liner. The common spaces are welcoming, though the reception is a little small ! Most of the rooms are in a seperate block, mainly twin beds, with plenty of room, but poor wireless ( and this part of the coast does not have good reception)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Thorpeness. We believe that the course is a great test but as you say, hitting the ball straight is a must for good scoring. The wireless access at the hotel is being upgraded in September as part of our constant process of improving what we offer on or... More

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The golf course was very good and quite hard especially when windy i would suggest you take a lot of golf balls and all the golf facilities were good. The hotel staff was good and very polite the food was excellent the bar was a bit pricey and although the rooms looked nice they were a little bit musty smelling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback from your stay and delighted you had a good time. The staff always like to hear that they have added to our guest experience. Thanks for the comment about your room and will take a look at it to ensure its OK. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Suffolk Heritage Coast in the... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding reception at Thorpeness Country Club, and it was the perfect venue. It's in a lovely location, which our friends and family loved visiting. The food was delicious, which we were able to taste beforehand. The day itself went very smoothly with no hiccups; the staff were very helpful and friendly. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Glad you had such a great day with us. The whole team really enjoyed making your day so special. Make sure you come and visit us again please More

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed and played golf at Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club last week. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Our bedroom was nicely furnished. The food was excellent as we were able to eat from the Table d' Hote menu. The golf course was in excellent condition, the sun shone, and we had a most enjoyable round. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Glad you had such a great stay with us. We are trying to establish Thorpeness as your favourite golf destination after your own club and sounds like we achieved it with you. Don’t leave it too long before coming to see us again More

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were married in July 2014 at the Thorpeness Country Club and had a fantastic day! The review and marks are based on the wedding day, rather than the Hotel and Golf Club. It is worth noting that the Country Club is very close to the beachfront and in a different location from the Thorpeness Hotel. The Country Club also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks for describing your wedding day at the Country Club in such detail. It’s the only wedding venue in Suffolk with such great views and proximity to the sea and it’s such a treat to serve our guests right by the beach. The team really enjoyed themselves on the day which is always a sign that everyone is having such... More

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A golf hotel, but not just for golfers. We went to go to nearby Minsmere, didn't eat dinner there but breakfast was tasty and very filling (preparing the golfers for the day ahead!!) staff were friendly and approachable, giving us any help we wanted. Place was spotlessly clean, and got new towels etc everyday. We had a twin, overlooking the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Glad you had such a good stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing a Suffolk welcome to everyone who visits, for golf or not. Come again soon More

Greater London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very impressed with our room - very spacious with doors onto a patio. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was second to none. The breakfasts were amazing with a very good choice from both the buffet and the cooked menu. The surroundings were lovely and we only wish we'd had more time to explore them. We wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review

Glad you had such a good stay with us. The staff are a cornerstone of what we offer and we try to ensure that when our guests leave that they are already thinking of their next visit to see us. Many people return year after year to savour the delights of our hotel and the Heritage Suffolk Coast. Come again... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Lakeside Avenue | Thorpeness, Aldeburgh IP16 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorpeness Hotel Aldeburgh
The Thorpeness Hotel And Golf Club Aldeburgh, Suffolk

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aldeburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer