We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Aldeburgh hotels

The Brudenell Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Brudenell Hotel to your Saves list
The Brudenell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
87%
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
52lindy Colchester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (469)
  • Photos (61)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (182)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    143
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
81
298
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just got back after a three night stay , This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Brudenell and i really cant fault it , The staff are all hard working and very polite a credit to the hotel. The food was out of this world . We had dinner there every evening and couldnt fault it .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A pretentious restaurant with bad service and average food, not that the staff would be aware of this because at no time did anyone check whether we were satisfied with the food, which I would have expected for a restaurant wishing to live you to their standards. The staff were running around like headless chickens with nobody in charge or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We haven't stayed here, but booked an indoor table for six on a lovely sunny day in Aldeburgh, and had lovely views of the water and people enjoying the beach. The restaurant inside was not at all busy, but the outside tables were all taken with passing trade (this was a Wednesday lunchtime in August). Food was to a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The restaurant is the star of this hotel, the food is fresh and local, beautifully prepared and served. The room was lovely and had a great view. The staff are great, friendly and helpful. It's the food that gives you the value as it's fairly pricey to stay there, as most hotels by the sea are. Give a special mention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Food service badly managed, my partner and my main course arrived 30 minutes apart. The concept of guests dining together would want to do precisely that seemed alien to staff, and even when brought to their attention the response suggested it was my fault for dining when they were busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Recently went for a meal and unfortunately it was the final straw, hence my review. I live close to Aldeburgh so have visited a fair few times, with each visit getting decreasingly bad. The staff seem deflated and now not particularly helpful, compared to say a year ago. Service was slow and unapologetic, and the food if I'm being honest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest I am sorry the Brudenell does not suit your requirements, our aim is for a relaxed friendly dining experience which the hard working team aim to achieve with passion; I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. I would be happy to meet with you in person to hear your thoughts on how we can... More

England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked a table here a couple of months ago and sent a letter complaining about the service and conditions of restaurant, but received no reply. Service was mishap. My husband was a transplant patienta and cannot eat meat uncooked. Ordered a steak well done and it came blooded they mixed it up with mine, it could have killed him. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela I am sorry I have not received the letter you are referring to, I personally respond to every letter to the hotel and am sorry but I have not seen one from you. Please do contact me directly on peter.osborne@tahotelcollection.co.uk. Kind regards Peter More

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Visited with my partner for a couple of days. We had a sea view room which was lovely and big, the bed was huge! Staff were really good, friendly and efficient, they clearly put staff training high on the agenda. The food was great. We had planned on eating in the hotel only on one night but were so impressed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sylviet Many thanks for your kind comments, I will pass these onto the team. How fantastic to hear you enjoyed the food so much that you dined with us both evenings. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Peter More

England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely hotel in beautiful setting. We combined our stay with a day at the Latitude festival so it was the 'comfort' element to our weekend away. Great food in the restaurant. I am a keen cook and relished the locally sourced produce. The Aldeburgh dressed crab was sublime. An interesting wine list from which to select, including wines from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Florence Many thanks for your kind comments, I do hope you had a lovely time at Latitude. Indeed we did have a hot summer; please do not hesitate to ask for fresh water in rooms on your next visit. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards... More

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic hotel lovely setting right on the sea with views from breakfast etc we had a family room which was lovely! Services was great and they keen to make sure everything was ok . Carnt fault it for a break my girls loved just popping onto the beach while we finish breakfast!! We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest I am pleased to read you and your family enjoyed the break with us, I will pass your kind comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards Peter More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Brudenell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aldeburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble’s throw from Aldeburgh’s shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted VisitBritain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
47

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brudenell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer