We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wentworth Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wentworth Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    228
    94
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
227
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 days for a family wedding. Absolutely fantastic service, lovely room, wonderful food (especially breakfast), public rooms really lovely with great sea views and amazing artwork. Plenty of parking (took a few minutes to realise where the car park was). I would have loved a sea view room but apparently the sun came in very early so perhaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the three night break with us and we all hope that the wedding was enjoyable. Your comments will be passed on to the staff and I am pleased the public rooms were liked. The main high street is around 5-10 minutes walk so everything is accessible from... More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I went to the Wentworth for a night away in May and we could not fault it. The reception welcome was fantastic, the room was beautiful and breakfast was outstanding. Would love to go back and take the children with us next time. The lounge area was relaxing and we sat there for hours! The sound insulation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are already planning to return. Children are of course most welcome with well behaved adults. It is good to know that the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel was appreciated and had a good effect on you. We look forward to having you back! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked this as treat for my wife for our 5th wedding anniversary Our entire stay from beginning to end was absolutely perfect. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The dinner was delicious. The choice on breakfast was brilliant. They had everything. The room was spacious and well presented. Bathroom was clean and bright. The bath was a large pear shaped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a complimentary review. Your comments will be passed on to the staff and I am pleased the meals were enjoyed, both at dinner and at breakfast. I am also glad you were put at ease. The country house feel and appearance of the hotel masks a family atmosphere that is relaxed and comfortable for all our... More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Awful hotel! Booked this hotel because it states they cater for special dietery requirements. What a joke! I ended up with no meal! Sent emails about a week before arriving to inform them I would need a gluten free vegetarian meal and was told it would be arranged. Well it wasn't and I ended up hungry with no meal!! Ruined... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt the need to write such an inflammatory review after we had reached an amicable conclusion on the telephone. This is obviously very disappointing for us. We always cater for dietary requirements and previous reviews have stated just this. Moreover on your arrival you decided you may like to take afternoon tea. The chef made some... More 

Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great position right on north end of Aldeburgh beach, classic old style hotel with style and charm. Sea-view rooms are perfect for a weekend stay. We had a spring weekend 'deal' which included dinner in the sumptuous restaurant and afternoon tea with cucumber sandwiches and scones. The staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. Aldeburgh itself is delightful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I am pleased you appreciate the traditional nature of the hotel. Our position overlooking the beach and sea is enviable and we are pleased you were able to have a sea view room to enjoy the fantastic sights from the bedroom. The afternoon tea is very popular here and it is nice to know... More 

london
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have kept this hotel to myself ,because it has everey think : A good position on th beach,exellent food and chef,every comfort in the room, lots to see about Aldeburgh and local shops etc, it is my type of perfect hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoy the hotel and we will continue to aim towards perfection so we continue impressing you Best wishes More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a couple of nights on a Spring Break at Wentworth Hotel.Our room was well appointed with the biggest bed I have ever seen .It also had splendid sea view. Bathroom modern and very efficient . Dinners were excellent with good quality local produce . Menu seemed to change daily. Breakfasts traditional and superb. Service in general was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Wentworth Hotel as your base for your first visit to Suffolk. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our menu does change daily to give guests a good choice of dishes each evening when they are dining with us for more than one night. I'm sorry you missed our afternoon tea on... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent another delightful night at the Wentworth at the end of April. I first stayed here with my parents in the 60s, after which my parents moved to Saxmundham and we often had meals here. After I married in 1982 my husband was introduced to the hotel, taking my widowed mother there for lunch and more recently we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I am pleased you once again enjoyed a visit to the Wentworth and we will continue working hard to keep the accolade of your favourite hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits Best wishes More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been visiting this hotel for over ten years twice a year and have always found it most excellent in every respect. The facilities in the rooms are of highest quality, and can always be relied upon to be clean, and warm, and secure. The food is par excellence, the atmosphere friendly and welcoming. The area is perfect for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you once again enjoyed your stay with us. Your loyalty and comments are greatly appreciated I do hope we can welcome you back for many more visits over the coming years More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been visiting Aldeburgh for many years, in self catering houses . This time we wanted a short break to ourselves & no catering. We were pleasantly surprised, inside it was light , airy and surprisingly modern. Breakfast was a casual affair, you wandered down when ready & were quickly served. I had smoked haddock, perfectly cooked, my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Wentworth Hotel as your accommodation In Aldeburgh on this occasion. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a traditional hotel in many respects but modernise areas on a rolling refurbishment programme. Your comments regarding the food are appreciated. I am only sorry that the pizza was not to your satisfaction. This... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay