We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wentworth Hotel

3.0 of 5 Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wentworth Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wentworth Hotel
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    81
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
187
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in Room 20 last friday evening, a welcome break after a very hectic Christmas, the room we stayed in was very cosy with fabulous views of the sea. We had the most delicious meal in the restaurant, then a wonderful nights sleep in the very comfortable 6 ft bed. We decided to have our breakfast in the room, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your break with us and I'm pleased that we could help you recuperate after the Christmas period. Room 20 is a great room with a king sized bed and a double aspect view, meaning guests can enjoy both the seaviews and the view towards Thorpeness... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time I have been here with my family (2 children and partner) and my grandma in her 90s. We all love it, even though we are a fussy lot. My partner is vegetarian and one of my children only eats plain food. I would go as far as to say this is my favourite restaurant in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for mentioning us as your favourite restaurant in the UK. This really is a great accolade We have always tried to offer value for money coupled with a locally sourced menu that gives choice and excellent cuisine for our guests. We run a set lunch menu and an a la carte option. Both hopefully give our... More 

London
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
153 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Practically unchanged over the 30 years I have known it the Wentworth sails on supreme, offering a high quality retreat from the stress of modern life (although it does offer wifi!) All the rooms are now en suite and the whole hotel remains in great decorative condition. Restaurant still good, although the service could perhaps have been more slick (moved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you consider the Wentworth to be the premier hotel in Aldeburgh and one of your favourite hotels overall I am sorry about the confusion with your table. Without knowing the exact details of your stay I am unable to offer an explanation unfortunately but you may contact me directly... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disappointed that despite the big banner outside inviting customers in for mince pies, as non residents we were turned away on Boxing Day..... not terribly festive. Perhaps in keeping with the story of the Nativity! Surprising that despite there being free tables and chairs in abundance we were turned away.... we only wanted a cup of tea! Sadly, my opinion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry about your experience on Boxing Day. We operate a residential break over the Christmas period and the afternoon tea service is reserved for residents only. The banner is a permanent fixture from the start of December, hence still being on display In light of your comments we will be reviewing this decision... More 

Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

This was our second stay,having been in October. This time we were lucky to enjoy three nights. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. The staff,food,rooms and public areas. Our Jack Russell,Alfie is made as welcome as we are. We have visited Aldeburgh many times,staying at other hotels. Having found the Wentworth there's no comparison. For us,it's bliss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you were able to be back with us soon and for a slightly longer period on this occasion. Dogs are always welcome with their owners in tow! I am delighted you found the Wentworth and find it to be beyond comparison. Your comments are appreciated and I hope we can welcome you... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We had festive afternoon tea today all I can say it was truely Amazing. The service was great the long fire was wonderful I can not say enough I been to Top hotels in London and had afternoon tea in all the top ones and this was as good amazing thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. Our festive afternoon tea is certainly an experience that has been enjoyed by many people so far this December. Your comparison to the top London hotels is very rewarding but we will continue to try and keep our standards high and improve even where we can. Thank you again for the time taken More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 via mobile

first time I have stayed in the Wentworth and probably first time in 15 years I have stayed in Aldeburgh, so it was really a nice surprise to find this gem of hotel. Service was always with a smile, attentive without being obtrusive. Our room was a large sea facing, very comfortable, clean and warm. Food and drink ( dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you decided to stay at the Wentworth during your return to Aldeburgh We pride ourselves on being a modern hotel with a traditional ethos. I am pleased that this was appreciated. Your comments will be passed on to the staff. I hope we will see you at the hotel again, and... More 

Claydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We dined in your restaurant on Saturday evening as part of our friends 50th birthday party. What a wonderful experience. The food was outstanding, excellent value for money and the staff were so friendly and helpful, especially a waitress called Carla, she is a real credit to the hotel. We shall defiantly be returning. Thank you for a truly lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your dinner. Please do also visit our restaurant page to leave a review. Your comments are really appreciated and I will make Carla aware of the praise you have given her. We agree that she is a great member of staff. I hope we can welcome you back very soon More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Visited with my wife today for lunch - what a fabulous experience. We actually ate off the Christmas menu - £13.50 for 2 courses, we couldn't manage a third ! For quality, quantity and value for money it was superb. The staff and surroundings were excellent and the other menu options also looked mouth-watering. We shall return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our festive menu special lunch. It has been really successful this year with many great comments. We hope to see you back in the not too distant future for a repeat affair! Best wishes More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Stayed two nights at the wentworth - lovely room, fantastic view, helpful staff and very warm cosy bar. Only small area for improvement was the breakfast which was lukewarm both days. Otherwise great - and would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay Your comments regarding the breakfast are noted and have been passed on to the kitchen. We are happy to replace dishes that are not up to standard so please fo let us know. I do apologise for this though as this should not happen Thank you again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay