We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Aldeburgh hotels

Wentworth Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Late Summer Break
Save Saved
You added Wentworth Hotel to your Saves list
Wentworth Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
92%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Londoner5870 London
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    77
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
175
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is extremely well situated, and it's miles better than your average seaside hotel. Really good public areas; nice food; and a terrific place for dogs because they can access all areas, except the restaurant. I'd definitely consider going back there. The reservations are that it's quite expensive for the quality of the rooms: it was a bit of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you put us in a bracket above other seaside hotels. We fully appreciate that many dog owners like to be able to bring their canine companions away with them, and they are welcomed as such. We do advise people booking a ground floor room that the view is limited but I appreciate... More

Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have dined here before and found it good value. On the last Sunday in August,however, we visited the pub in Thorpness, window shopped in Aldeburgh, then tried for a cup of coffee at the Brudenell without sucesssee revierw- We arrived at the Wentworth an hour and half before dinner. The garden area was full of dirty glasses enough for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry about your experience at the hotel. We always staff effectively for our daily service. However it is sometimes difficult to foresee the level of trade. We had a very busy afternoon tea service with large groups coming into the hotel that had not booked. The cucumber sandwiches you mention are done on bread that is delivered to... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Wentworth is a family run hotel 20 m from a beautiful beach and a 10 minutes walk from a high street full of individual shops and restaurants. The hotel is beautifully furnished with art works all over the walls, cosy lounges and clean modern accommodation. The staff are wonderful and the food in the restaurant is fabulously fresh and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Your complimentary review is appreciated. We do hope that the individual nature of the hotel comes through when people stay. Many have commented that they love the family atmosphere and feel 'home from home'. We will continue to work hard to ensure our standards remain high and we hope to welcome you back very soon More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a short break at this hotel. It is not cheap but lovely for a special occasion. The style is old with modern conveniences. Lovely antique furniture in the bedrooms and public areas. Very comfy lounge areas. It is worth paying extra for a sea view. The Sea front is practically on the door step. The restaurant is excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your review. It is pleasing to read your comments. The hotel remains traditional in its ambience with nice lounges and a table clothed restaurant Your comments regarding the food will be passed on to the kitchen team and the restaurant staff will be pleased to know that their work is appreciated also Thank you again More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Living not far from Aldburgh and having been to the Wentworth on previous occasions, I have to admit I was somewhat disappointed. It started upon arrival for pre-dinner drinks in the bar. To say the barman appeared disinterested, unhelpful bordering on rude (had somebody upset him) is putting it mildly. The waitress who came to take our restaurant order seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. Your comments are important to us and we take them all into consideration. The barman has now left our employment and we are confident the staff that now operate the bar are much more affable. The lady in question, I believe, you are talking about is Kathy. She is somewhat of an institution at... More

Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here for dinner Saturday evening . Everything about it is lovely beautiful Hotel in lovely surroundings. Restaurant was really good the food was perfect and the service was impeccable cannot fault the place . Wished we had gone sooner only been thinking about it for 5 years !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and I am pleased that you have finally visited the hotel. That was a long consideration period indeed! Your comments will be passed on to the staff and please do not leave it another 5 years before coming back to us! More

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We normally spend 3 or 4 two night breaks during the year staying at. the Wentworth, however we thought this break we would try somewhere else and opted for the Ivy House Hotel, Oulton Broad. We were so disappointed after our first night we made a pleading call to the Wentworth for a room on the 2nd night. The receptionist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. I am delighted you telephoned us and we were only too happy to have you back. I am sorry it was after a unsatisfactory stay elsewhere but I'm glad we made your break a good one. Your comments will be passed on to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back next time More

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dinner on last night if our holiday last week. Very good. Lovely hotel and staff good with the kids. Swordfish was lovely as was the liver! Nice end to the holiday. Price right for the high quality - definitely worth a visit. Meal of the week for us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our restaurant during your stay in Aldeburgh. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and the hotel. Children are always welcome with well behaved adults. Meal of the week is high praise and we hope to maintain the standard when you come back to us Thank you again for taking the time to write More

Essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at the Wentworth previously we decided on a one night stay so that we could be present in Aldeburgh for the carnival. The room again was in the Darfield House part of the hotel and was of very high standard and extremely comfortable. It had a pleasant view out over the small private garden at the rear. The... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Aldeburgh Carnival was certainly an event to enjoy again this year. We have had excellent feedback for the evening and I am glad you can also add to these positive comments. I am pleased to note you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back More

London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Wentworth Hotel during the Aldeburgh Festival and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very polite, helpful and friendly and welcomed our little dog as a guest too. We booked directly with the hotel and were given the summer break rate, which included our room, afternoon tea and a Pimms on arrival and dinner, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular found the breakfasts enjoyable. We have now reintroduced rotating menus so the menu is different for each night of a three night stay. This, we are confident, will give our guests a good choice... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wentworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aldeburgh with
any amenities