We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

North Stafford Hotel

Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
North Stafford Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We only stayed in this hotel for one night, but we would certainly stay here again. Our room was large and clean. We overlook the railway station but we could not hear the trains, it was very quiet. People were very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank sueb7777
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel as part of a mystery trip by National holidays.The hotel is quite old but there are many good features that I liked about it.It is in obvious need of refurbishment but from reading previous feedback the hotel is well under way with work being completed to improve its original character. I thought that with being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rupert915
Daniel U, Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rupert915, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the level of service you recieved. I shall pass your comments on to the chef about the food. Our refurbishemnt is underway and I am gad that you accept it is not... More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were looking for somewhere reasonably close to Alton Towers, but did not want to spend a fortune. Despite the poor reviews, we decided to give this hotel a chance. Bad decision! Firstly, it would be wrong to call the receptionist rude, however it would also be wrong to imply that she was in any way friendly, welcoming or interested... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiamCross
Daniel U, Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LiamCross, Thank you for your feedback on Tropadvisor. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am the new Manager and I would like to assure you that some of the issues raised have already been addressed. We allocate the rooms differently when we have functions on and our staff know the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on business. My mistake as I didn't notice it was a Brittannia when booking via late rooms. Decor is very tired and dated. Reception staff on checking in would have been more help if they were useless. Breakfast was the worst I have ever had. The bacon was as hard as the plate it was on.

Helpful?
1 Thank RickS2208
Daniel U, Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ricks2208, Thank you for your review and we take all feedback into consideration. I am disapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently in the process of a refurbishment, with a small amount of rooms already complete it will take time for us to complete all 88 rooms. I shall speak to... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Stoke for a business trip last year and I was sleeping on this "hotel" for one night. It was bloody noisy because of some young guys having party downstairs and in some of the rooms, the receptionist wasn´t the kindest person in the world and the restaurant facilities... Very expensive for the service they provide, at least... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the worse nights sleep ever. Bed rock hard and had a ridge in the middle. The food was inedible and the waiter hovered over our table while we were talking trying to take a plate even though my colleague said hadn't finished eating. The bar was reasonable priced but even with a full bar of people drinking they... More 

Helpful?
Thank ricknotist
Daniel U, Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ricknotist, Thank you for your feedback, as always we take all feedback seriously and I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us and found your bed uncomfortable. I shall also speak with the chef about the food which is usually prepared and cooked to a high standard and I can only apologise if it was not... More 

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good large clean room. some rooms allow smoking(check beforehand) Good location close to station and buses to football ground. excellent staff. rooms need refurbishing. staff excellent. also allow luggage to be left before and after check in/out

Helpful?
Thank David M
Daniel U, Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David M, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always look to continuously improve and take all feedback seriously. Our rooms are currently in the process of being refurbshed and I am aware that this needs addressing as a matter of urgency, however with us having 88 rooms and being grade II listed it is... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was given a room on the third floor. A freezing room and no Internet. Went to reception was told no Internet on 2nd and third floors and heating did not come on to 4pm. Even in winter I asked😲 yes even in winter. Asked to be moved to another room.as it was not stated no Internet even in reception no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
Daniel U, Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valerie, Thank you for your feeback on Tripadvisor. As always we take all feedback into consideration. I am disapointed to hear that the toilet did not flush properly and twice called for maintenance with no responce. I apologise sincerely for this and I understand that it is not acceptable. I will look into this to help ensure it is... More 

Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had Christmas at Britannia North Stafford this year the hotel was very nice ok needs a bit of tlc but for what you pay we have been in a lot worse we had room 222 on the second floor and the size of the bathroom was not far of the size of the first room we were shown at... More 

Helpful?
Thank paula035
Daniel U, Manager at North Stafford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula035, Thank you for posting your review, following your Christmas stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were happy with your room and enjoyed your stay with us. We will take your feedback into consideration when reviewing our Christmas package to ensure a better atmosphere. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Many Thanks More 

Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this hotel on a coach tour for New Year with David Urquhart travel. The hotel was comfortable enough and some of the staff were really lovely. Food on all but the Gala dinner on New Year's eve was plain but plentiful. The bedroom we were in was large and comfortable but like many old hotels there were areas... More 

Helpful?
Thank young1976
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay