We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Stafford hotels

The Swan Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46-46a Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Hotel amenities
The Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
UKRussW Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    69
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
94
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (234)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited on shopping day to Stafford. Nice lounge area with sofas and log burner and had one of the bar meals. Prices reasonable c£10 for burger and chips etc Restaurant also looked really nice. Staff really nice and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I went for breakfast with some friends this morning to exchange Xmas presents and meet up as we hadn't seen each other for awhile. The reception we had from the staff was cold and pretty miserable. Despite my friend not getting a veggie sausage and having half of everything for the breakfast the price couldn't be amended. I also got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my first time in this hotel and I was very impressed by the quality and service received. Even though the hotel was busy with functions and Christmas meals nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. Location was also excellent. Wouldnt hesistate to return on my next visit to Stafford.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked in for a friends wedding! When we got to the hotel there was no free parking spaces but when my partner popped into reception we were told as it was the weekend ignore the time limit of the overflow which was lucky and very helpful advice. We were in room 108 and can say this room is absolutely wonderful!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Clare S Thank you for taking the time to review the Swan Hotel. It is great to read such a positive review, and I am pleased you and your partner enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for understanding, that as a popular town centre hotel, there can sometimes be some noise disturbance for our guest. I hope this... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stumbled upon the restaurant about two years ago and absolutely loved it, and I was lucky enough to be surprised with a visit to the hotel last week. It was just as good as good as last time! The food was lovely, staff friendly and the room was clean and spacious. I would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chloecf123 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Swan Hotel Stafford. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and I am glad to see that the surprise was a good one! I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon. Thanks Nikki More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

what a great hotel. more importantly the staff were very friendly which made the stay even more enjoyable. from arrival to departure, could not find a fault. we ate in the hotel restaurant where the food, wine and service were excellent. Plenty of choice. we had drinks in the hotel bar before the meal and there was a great atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi happydays660 Thank you for taking the time to review the Swan Hotel, and for your fantastic 5* awarding. It is lovely to read that your recent stay with us was up to our usual high standard. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Nikki More 

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent one night at the swan hotel in the middle of stafford as we had booked to see a show at the Gatehouse Theatre. Once we had parked our car in their own car park which is free to hotel guests there are signs on the machines informing you of this we headed for reception and was pleasantly surprised by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Surysol19 Thank you for taking the time to review the Swan Hotel, and for awarding your recent visit a fantastic 5*. It is lovely to read such kind comments, and great that you were able to take advantage of most of our facilities. I hope we are able to welcome you back next time you visit Stafford. Thanks Nikki More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

A cosy hotel, right in the middle of Stafford. We had a recent overnight stay as part of a Wedding Party. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable. There was a very good choice at breakfast time. Continental if desired and a variety of cereals and fruits. Their porridge with brown sugar and raisins was unavailable, as they had ran... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ethna M Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Swan Hotel. It is lovely to read that you found your stay with us 'cosy' and that the bedroom and breakfast were up to our usual high standards. I am sorry to hear you had trouble finding a space on our car park. Unfortunately... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I arrived at night and spent 15 mintues going around Stafford as I couldn't find a way to get in. Finally I got to the carpark through what looked like an alleyway to me. At the carpark there are various "Have you paid and displayed?" signs. To avoid getting a parking ticket I paid £6 to park there. Then the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi gamfruit Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Swan Hotel Stafford. I apologise for the confusion you experience with our parking procedure. However i must point out that the sign next to the pay and display machine, and the notice on the machine itself does state that parking is free for hotel patrons,... More 

stockton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect apart from the window in our room didnt close properly therefore enabling us to hear every outside noise. The staff, room, food and location were all great. We would stay again but in a different room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ingleby19 Thank you for taking the time to review the Swan Hotel, and for your brilliant 5* review. It is great to hear that your enjoyed your time with us, and i apologise about the window in your room. I will investigate this further, and try to resolve the problem. We hope to welcome you back soon. Nikki More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46a Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#4 Family Hotel in Stafford

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay