We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Stafford hotels

The Swan Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46-46a Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
88%
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
parmoboy Middlesbrough
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    51
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
69
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Swan for 3 nights B&B. hotel was presented really nice. Staff were good. The room I stayed in was nice but had squeaky floorboards but given the age of the Hotel was expected. There was 9 of us staying here and we decided to have a meal in the restaurant. The food was ok but it took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night. Comfortable rooms and had a late deal so rates were good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere with lots of little rooms and bars to eat with a good choice of snacks and meals at reasonable prices. Had an evening meal at the Brassiere just after the refurbishment. Really nice atmosphere, food was good had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had lunch today in the newly refurbished Brasserie and am disappointed to say it did not meet up to expectations. The food itself was nice- nothing exceptional but the main issue was the portion size and price. A 3 course lunch with 2 glasses of wine was over £40- which I feel is rather pricey for a lunch. I may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your meal experience in our newly refurbished Brasserie. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the food, a little disappointed that you had concerns over the portion size. I see that your main concern is regarding our pricing and that seems to be the reason why you have given the review the... More

Huthwaite
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel as we were looking for a relaxing break & my husband had been here on business the month before and found it very quiet and relaxing. We checked in on Sat evening , the room was huge.... We were on third floor so very quiet , there are all the usually facilities fridge, toiletries, tea making, tv... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northamptonshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They recently accommodated myself, my husband and several couples and families for my daughters wedding. Although the Brasserie was closed due to refurbishment they could not have been more helpful. They provided us with a private room for our pre-wedding dinner and breakfasts. The portions at the dinner were very generous and the food was excellent. Service was great too,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night at the Swan. Room was first class, the hotel is well run really gtood staff the bars where well run Got nothing bad whatsoever to say about this hotel It is right in the centre of the town car park at the rear which is free you just get a card from reception

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

It was my 2nd visit. The first time I was in a suite which was excellent. This trip I was part of a group but in a single. The public rooms are excellent. The standard or service was good. The room was equally nice and spotless. Considering the weather we are having it was very cold. The first night I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have had very positive experiences at JL's sister hotel in Acton Trussel, outside Stafford. Spent two nights in Swan, working all day every day in an NHS Hospital. Room 210 has the 'benefit' of the kitchen fan sound, is a narrow room with a very uncomfortable single bed and an ironing board welcoming you when you open the door.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Swan is the best place to stay when in Stafford. It's a lovely old building, well restored and very comfortable. The rooms are modern and well appointed. I had a great room with a sweeping bay window and a four poster bed. The only downside was that it was directly over the very popular restaurant. Food at the Swan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great rooms, breakfast and all the bars in one area. You don't even need need to leave with a nice restaurant and live music all in the same building. my brother had his wedding reception there and the staff could not do enough for us

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire
Address: 46-46a Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th Century former coaching inn has been a part of Stafford’s history for over 300 years, and since a comprehensive modernisation by The Lewis Partnership it has once again become a focal point for residents and visitors to the town. With its relaxed atmosphere and attention to professional service, a warm family welcome awaits customers at The Swan Hotel, in the beautiful county of Staffordshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.