We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cathedral Lodge Hotel

3.0 of 5 Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Little Barrow Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    92
    26
    16
    11
See reviews for
28
93
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
ebbw vale
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here 1 night in early December on business trip to area was easy find wjth good free parking clean comfortable room and good breakfast easy walk into town around 5/10 mins would stay here again if was in area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked to stayed at the Litchfield Cathedral Hotel in December through a website at a discounted rate of £45 to see my sister who was having a baby. Unfortunately my sister had complications and we were unable to visit on the date of the offer. My husband called the hotel who said that they were prepared to move our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lodgecathedral, Manager at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

This is an unfortunate situation where a customer has already formed an opinion of the hotel without even arriving. Hotels set low rates as non refundable for the reason it promotes the quieter nights while still allowing the customer to take advantage of being able to stay at the hotel for considerably less money than the normal rack rates. If... More 

Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here on several occasions and have always found the Hotel, Staff and food to be extremely wonderful, I would highly recommend anyone staying here. We will also be staying here again the end of February this year and look forward to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penzance, Cornwall
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here to visit the national arboretum which was easy to find from the hotel. I booked one of the exclusive rooms overall it was very nice,lovely bathroom massive TV and bed The down side very loud exstracter fan which came on every time you turn the tap on,also the bed although big was so noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

This is a curate’s egg of a hotel which my wife and I have stayed at twice, most recently in July for the Lichfield Festival. Simplest to summarise its pros and cons. On the plus side is its location, within 5-6 minutes’ walk of the Cathedral and about the same again for the city centre. It also has a free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Needed a last minute one night stay. Spotted this hotel whilst driving past. Staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. Double room 211 was a good size, clean and bed was comfy. Breakfast was varied, cooked food was hot and tasty. Rooms could do with updating, just a bit tired and worn round the edges. However would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Stayed in a double room for one night on a stop over whilst travelling north. Found the receptionist friendly and informative but the room was a terrible let down. Bed lumpy with sheets that didnt fit properly. When we tried to adjust the sheets we found the duvet old and bobbly looking. Noisey room (304) as close to the street.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lodgecathedral, Manager at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you are unsatisfied with your recent stay at the Cathedral Lodge hotel We pride ourselves on customer service as you will have seen from our views on trip advisor Had these matters been brought to attention at the time of your stay we could have moved you to a more satisfactory room. None... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

A short walk into the city centre, and although a little basic, still a lovely, clean and warm hotel. The staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was as good as anything we've had anywhere before, and we will definitely be returning. As mentioned by other visitors, our particular thanks go to Eva, for helping with taxis and her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This hotel tries very hard. It misses it's target in several areas. The bedroom smelt of smoke although it was a no smoking room. The bed was not very comfortable . Decorations were tired. Saying all that the staff were incredibly attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choice. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

A simple old fashioned hotel. No frills. Great staff, very helpful and friendly. Good food and drink, reasonably priced. Well positioned for visiting Lichfield and the surrounding area. Thanks particularly to Eva who made us feel at home and was so helpful in all aspects.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cathedral Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Lodge Hotel

Address: Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Little Barrow Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cathedral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield
Cathedral Lodge Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay