We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cathedral Lodge Hotel

Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Little Barrow Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Rate this Hotel

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    94
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
28
97
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location for getting into Lichfield. Our room was big, lovely big comfortable bed with the usual extras- very big TV too. My only criticism was the sound of the water pump when we and other residents used the taps. Really loud- however, our shower head lit up when in use, so all was forgiven

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

a great place from which to explore the delightful town of Lichfield. It's close to the fantastic medieval Cathedral, & a short pleasant walk down its road leads straight into Bird Street which is the main restaurant strip & leads directly into the picturesque old centre. The hotel's decor & styling are unremarkable, & it has. No lift, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Here to watch a band play just down the road from the hotel. Receptionist was friendly and we were allowed to book in early. The room is clean and we have a huge tv in the room, coffee and tea very nice touch Great bar area to chill before dinner and exploring the town earlier was amazing will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
benfleet essex
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

As mentioned by previous reviews, the staff are very efficient and helpful unfortunately business is not brisk in our cold Februarys so it was very quiet. The bar acts as restaurant during quiet times which is nowhere near as comfortable as eating in the pretty and comfortable dining room where breakfast is served. Our superior room was large with an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We arrived at the hotel an hour before we were expected, I expected to have to wait for our room to be made ready, but the receptionist (sorry I forget her name) very kindly found us another room as we were attending a wedding and needed to get changed. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was spacious (it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

The warmth of welcome on this cold, January afternoon blew away any fleeting impression of 'tiredness' in this hotel, and my room was large, lovely and warm, and wonderfully quiet. The good-sized bathroom, with both shower and bath, was very clean and the big bed extremely comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more kind and helpful. Delightful Eva sweetly rang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ebbw vale
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

stayed here 1 night in early December on business trip to area was easy find wjth good free parking clean comfortable room and good breakfast easy walk into town around 5/10 mins would stay here again if was in area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We booked to stayed at the Litchfield Cathedral Hotel in December through a website at a discounted rate of £45 to see my sister who was having a baby. Unfortunately my sister had complications and we were unable to visit on the date of the offer. My husband called the hotel who said that they were prepared to move our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lodgecathedral, Manager at Cathedral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

This is an unfortunate situation where a customer has already formed an opinion of the hotel without even arriving. Hotels set low rates as non refundable for the reason it promotes the quieter nights while still allowing the customer to take advantage of being able to stay at the hotel for considerably less money than the normal rack rates. If... More 

Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We have stayed here on several occasions and have always found the Hotel, Staff and food to be extremely wonderful, I would highly recommend anyone staying here. We will also be staying here again the end of February this year and look forward to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penzance, Cornwall
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here to visit the national arboretum which was easy to find from the hotel. I booked one of the exclusive rooms overall it was very nice,lovely bathroom massive TV and bed The down side very loud exstracter fan which came on every time you turn the tap on,also the bed although big was so noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question