We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN The George Hotel

3.0 of 5 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The George Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN The George Hotel
BEST WESTERN The George Hotel
BEST WESTERN The George Hotel
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    164
    67
    19
    15
See reviews for
44
176
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (391)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

On Saturday 13th December went on a works Christmas party at the George hotel. I was very disappointed with the food, we ordered our meals before, 2 members of our party did not get what that had previously ordered and 1 member got questioned and the member of staff started to argue with them. The dance floor was unsafe, staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Every year I join ex colleagues for a reunion . We have been doing this for 11 years now and I always struggle to find a B&B or Hotel that has a reasonable price an not just ridiculous rack rates. Lichfield is high priced for accomodation at the best of times and the newly built premier inn will not bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

On Saturday 13th December I had my works Christmas meal here, I Deffinatly won't be returning! The starter was nice, however the main meal was terrible, the vegetables were raw and uneatable! And there was not enough for our table of 8 and were not asked if we would like anymore! Not all if us got what we pre ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your Christmas party with us. I personally checked on all tables during the main course and not one guest at the event expressed any concern over the quality of food served. We would have had the opportunity to put things right at that stage. We also... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

have just returned from an overnight stay here. Arrived early but reception looked after our case so we could explore without lugging a case around. After checking in went to our room, 50, on the second floor. Nice clean comfy room with an enormous comfy bed with very good quality bedding. A party was taking place in the Garrick Suite,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your kind comments. Please be assured your feedback is important to us and the areas we did not get quite right this time will be reviewed by my management team. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I must say the price I paid for the food was not worth it Came for a Christmas party and everyone was disappointed with the food and service Would not be returning back as no one was happy think they need to either change the prices or stop serving food

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is most surprising to read your comments in regards to your Christmas party. We always ensure everyone attending the event is asked throughout the meal in the Garrick Suite if everything is to their satisfaction. This is the first we have heard of your displeasure. I would ask that you contact the Duty Manager... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The public areas were well decorated and smart. The bedroom was comfortable and well stocked. The breakfast was extremely good with a wide choice of food. Reception Staff allowed me to continue parking my car in the car park while I went shopping the next day which was very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and review and for your kind comments. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a friends wedding, looked after well and willing to go the extra mile. Location is very central which makes it a little noisy at the weekend but you can't expect less for the location. Rooms are clean and kept looked after and the breakfast is fantastic. I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best Western group advertise "hotels with personality", this hotel certainly complies. An old coaching in in the centre of a very picturesque town, there is chaster in abundance. Excellent food, comfortable room and easy parking. Downside is finding the route in, there is signage but not that clear. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you have recognised our 'personality' in your review. My team will be delighted with your comments and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Bexhill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The George in Lichfield has the feel and look of an old coaching inn which it once was but with all up to date facilities. Good staff, good restaurant, lovely big rooms. Very comfortable bed. I have stayed there twice and it will always be my choice of hotel in Lichfield.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for your excellent comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight after a murder mystery evening. The location is in the centre of town a stone throw from the cathedral. The room was on the small side but cosy. Nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Was worried when we saw we were on the front across from the wine bars but we never heard a thing. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on our murder mystery event and your overnight stay. We are pleased that overall everything was to your satisfaction and hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The George Hotel

Address: Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western
BEST WESTERN The George Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay