We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lichfield hotels

BEST WESTERN George Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN George Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
sirmikeuk LICHFIELD
  • Overview
  • Reviews (300)
  • Photos (96)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (75)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    124
    58
    16
    10
See reviews for
33
133
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LICHFIELD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have popped in occaisionaly for a light lunch with my wife and find the meals good value but the afternoon tea is very good for £10.00.Also a pint of Courage Directors was a fine example of real ale...pretty good for a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puckeridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

All of the staff were as helpful as they could be. They were friendly and cheerful and dealt with minor issues our party had with a calm, professional manner. The staff made the whole experience a great pleasure, the like of which, I have not experienced in the UK before. The room was large and well equipped. The hotel has... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband decided to have his retirement do here as they offered a really good package. Lovely room, lovely friendly and efficient staff, nice buffet, would definitely hire again. Very laid back, just what we wanted. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
200 hotel reviews
417 helpful votes 417 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for just one night to attend a concert during the Lichfield Festival. We liked the hotel; large comfortable room, helpful and friendly staff, nice public areas, clean and well-decorated throughout. We were disappointed in the dinner, very ordinary food - they were just trying too hard with complex dishes. Breakfast good though. The best thing about this historic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is important to us as we strive to deliver better quality and service. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and please assured your comments in regards to the restaurant dinner have been noted. I do hope you will choose to stay with us... More

UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For once we decided to take a break on our journey north, to visit relatives, mainly because we had set out late from home. Lichfield was a convenient half-way point and the George offered what seemed to be a good standard of accommodation at a reasonable price, for myself, wife and grown-up daughter, who required her own room. The George... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very good, detailed feedback of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and hope to see you again in the future. More

West Midlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were nice, location perfect for exploring Lichfield. Car park not the best to find, but we got there in the end. We did not take the breakfast option, we would stay here again, for shopping and general exploration of the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that the hotel fulfilled your needs and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Hotel for our Wedding Night. We couldn't get an early check in which was disappointing. Room was extremely dated, stain on bathroom mat. Hair in the bath, piece of foam insulation under the pillow, clock was slow in the room causing us to nearly miss breakfast which finished at 10. We called reception at 9.50 on our clock... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I offer my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your time with us and you believe your overnight stay was not good value. Our reviews regularly compliment my staff, service and facilities but unfortunately on this occasion we did not achieve the level of service I... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two nights at the George Hotel in Lichfield. The Hotel has plenty of atmosphere and is a delight to stay in. I didn't eat in the restaurant instead opting for a bar meal which was excellent and good value for money. The breakfast was superb with very well cooked food. It really set me up for the day. Only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your excellent comments. I do apologise that you were disturbed by our other guests leaving the wedding function. I am pleased that this did not spoil your enjoyment of the hotel and that you will choose to stay with us. More

teignmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a holiday using four hotels, all about the same price and I can only say The George was very poor value. We requested a room with walk in shower if possible and were given a room which I am sure in days gone by would have been a servants quarter. It was small, dingy and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your bedroom allocated was not to your satisfaction. We are an 18th Century former coaching inn and so some of our rooms are all shapes and sizes. The room allocated has a standard size double bed with walk in shower and has all the facilities associated with this room type. We... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

took my husband away for his birthday , we had a great afternoon tea the cakes are lovely . The room was fab and the bed was so soft, it was a great weekend and the staff were very helpful .It was nice to be in the center of everything to.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for your review on your stay and afternoon tea. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and hope you choose to stay with us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Address: Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western
BEST WESTERN George Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Other (23)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer