We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Wall Island Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    121
    71
    23
    12
See reviews for
94
83
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (317)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

great rooms but bar rubbish no draught beer. Staff were friendly enough. Very much a stop over place for work i would say. Way too far out for the night life as we discovered and taxis not cheap!! Night life very good though but would choose somewhere closer to city next time, Breakfast ok.... no bacon and no mushrooms!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed in many Holiday Inns but this one seems to have been forgotten about. I understand that cheap prices = basic accommodation but this was just shabby. It's in serious need of an update. The decor is old fashioned, the bathrooms are tatty and some of the staff are rude. Our shower holder was broken so we couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed her 20th to 23rd September, purpose being was to visit relatives and friends in the area. Ok we had a slight problem with the key-card on first getting to our room which was rectified within 15 minutes, and was given a voucher for 2 free pints for the inconvenience which was a nice touch. (Thank - You Holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eastbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A mile from Lichfield, 6 miles from the National Arboretum, a comfortable hotel. Could have done with better lighting in the room, and our twin room didn't have a comfy chair, only one desk chair. Breakfast was acceptable although better to have the cereal, yoghurt so etc as the scrambled egg was tasteless along with the sausages. It is however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night prior to an ordination ceremony at the Cathedral. Hotel is situated right by the M6T which is convenient but also meant it was very noisy, even on an upper floor where our room was located. Room was clean and tidy, usual budget standard - the buffet breakfast was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LichfieldHIEX, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you found your room to be noisy. We would always encourage our customers to come and talk to us if they experience a problem as I know the team in the hotel are committed to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's hard to get into the Premier Inn in the summer these days so we've ended up here a few times and I'm actually starting to like it. Rooms are good, breakfast is included, so you don't feel like you have to make a big multilateral decision about it, just go and grab a coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LichfieldHIEX, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review of your recent stay with us. We take great pride in delivering a great service, so it is always pleasing to learn when customers have had a good experience with us. We thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lichfield and we hope to... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Husband & I stayed for one night after a night out with family & friends . The service we received was 1st class. A warm & friendly welcome from the Reception staff was a good sign. Our room was spotless , the bed was extremely comfortable in fact one of the best we have slept in. Plenty of hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LichfieldHIEX, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such lovely comments about our team, your room and the high quality breakfast we provide. We take great pride in delivering a great service, so it is always pleasing to learn... More 

New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice hotel for stopovers whilst in the area, not really a holiday destination but handy for Drayton manor theme park, 8 miles away. Staff were welcoming and professional, the room was clean and spacious with a wonderful power shower. Although it is quite close to a motorway roundabout and entrance it is quiet and peaceful. There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LichfieldHIEX, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review

Dear Norman, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We take great pride in delivering a great service, so it is always pleasing to learn when customers have had a good experience with us. We thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lichfield and we hope to see you... More 

Stillington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights with our two children 9 and 6. Having stayed in a holiday in before I new what to expect. Check in was quick and easy. Room basic and small but clean. A double bed and double sofa bed was fine for the 4 of us. Bed not the comfiest but ok. Was a bit worried that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LichfieldHIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Please allow me to start by apologising that we have let you down. I am disappointed to learn that despite the many positive aspects of your experience with us this was let down by your interactions with our hotel team. I know that my team share in my passion for delivering great service and we are always disappointed... More 

Stockton on tees
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this last minute for 1 night as a base to go to drayton manor/thomas land. Very reasonably priced. Room was clean, comfy bed. Excellent free wifi kept kids entertained and breakfast included all for a very reasonable £48 for 2 adults 2 kids. There is a McDonald's and a frankie and bennys literally outside of the hotel very convenient.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LichfieldHIEX, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Thanks so much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we were able to meet your needs/expectations, also we hope you had a great day at Drayton Manor. Hope to see you again soon. Jack. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East A38
2.4 mi away
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The George Hotel
0.0 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay