We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Hotel amenities
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #25 of 41 Wells B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
AdamLBowden Penzance, United Kingdom
Add Photo

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    110
    105
    39
    24
    7
See reviews for
40
155
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed this time eating at Bistro. Very small portions, ie small bowl of soup, which was nice followed by three small goujons of haddock with salad leaves and tartare sauce. Would much rather pay a realistic price and have a decent lunch. Unfortunately will not be visiting Anton's again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay - quaint and great people working there - very helpful. Right in the middle of the "city" which is very convenient. Now going to re-watch "hot fuzz" to see the scenes from the pub, square and streets :) Dinner was creative and a decent and cosy restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Great review, thank you! Hope you enjoyed a revisit to Hot Fuzz and will be back again before too long. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well positioned hotel in centre of town. Relatively steep stairway to upper level but not to hard to handle! Car parking on site although limited and tight. We secured a space both days. Rooms well appointed. We had a lovely front room which was a bit noisy whilst market was being established in early morning. The flower sell or had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were not bothered too much by the market - the flower seller is great, isn't he? We do hope you'll be back again; do check out our website as there's lots going on throughout the year. More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived for a nights stay and the welcome was warm and the room was lovely and quirky. However, we were intrigued by the ear-plugs by the bed. We found out why the next morning as we were awoken earlier than planned by the coo-ing of the pigeons on the roof above our heads. This was more than made up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for the pesky pigeons. We manage to keep them away from the rest of the rooms but this particular issue was created by our next door neighbour, which we are working to resolve. Do hope they won't... More 

Poulton le Fylde, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Already weary from a day in Glastonbury (the town and the Tor - not the festival) the last thing we needed was to get hopelessly lost on the Wells one way system looking for our hotel (memo to self, abandon Google and buy a Satnav). Having abandoned our car we completed the journey on foot and fell on the mercy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Goodness, what a great review, thank you. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled to hear you'll be coming back. Please don't leave it too long! More 

swansea
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, his auntie and myself went to Wells for the weekend. We stayed at the Crown and we are very glad that we did. The rooms we had were lovely (ours was a bit hot on the first night but there is a fan provided which was fine). The breakfast was really tasty (cereal and fruit and then a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

What a super review, thank you so much. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope you will come back again before too long. More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this lovely pub for lunch: it's in an ideal location and a very historic building. It was busy at lunchtime and clients included both visitors and locals (always a good sign). We were particularly pleased that there were no restrictions over our dog. Service was friendly and our tasty lunch arrived in good time. Next time we visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of The Crown. We do hope you will come back - you could stay next time as we welcome dogs in certain rooms and there's an abundance of great walks loseby. More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel and ideally situated. Breakfast lovely & plenty of choice. Only negative is market day on a Saturday (we stayed on a Friday night), and the traders started erecting their stalls at 4.45am! All that could be heard was the clunking of the metal poles & the traders banter. The hotel kindly supply earplugs but once you are awake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies about the market; we shall pass on your comments to the market manager. As you say, rooms are available at the back of The Crown and we do our best to put guests in there whenever possible. Do hope you'll come back again. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Visited Wells last Sunday and decided to try eating here for Sunday lunch. The bar was busy and empty tables were sparce which was a good sign but the food proved to be a real disappointment. Believe roast was £12 but I selected the pork and despite being presented with what appeared to be a large portion 80% of it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your meal with us. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the pork. Pork belly is, by nature, fatty but not to the degree you describe. It is such a shame you didn't mention it during your meal as we could have replaced the... More 

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We were lucky to get a bank holiday Monday night's accommodation without booking. It's very close to the cathedral and bishop's palace and we did not get the morning noise from the market place outside on the Tuesday. Nice period room, beds OK, small shower/WC. Restaurant food good, pleasant service. Good breakfast, Reasonable value for money. We are always happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We really appreciate your ethos of supporting independent business and thanks for choosing The Crown. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay