We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Hotel amenities
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #24 of 42 Wells B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
SirTravelalot Surrey, UK
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    94
    37
    22
    7
See reviews for
38
141
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (265)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Surrey, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just come back from a two day stay at the Crown, with our new rescue dog, for my husband's birthday. Like a previous reviewer we too stayed in Room 9, which is on the third floor, but very easy to access. Personally, we found it to be more than adequate in size. It had a double bed, two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is NOT a hotel review as we did not stay here. This is a review of the Bar staff at the hotel & the food of which both were amazing the staff we very friendly & kind & helpful & cheerful & the food was outstanding not only was it presented well but it tasted delicious. The portions are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review on Trip Advisor. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and that you'll be back to stay next time. More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here and so decided to eat too. Had a really enjoyable meal, fish dish was lovely and pork belly to die for. Nice selection of local Ales and Cider. Staff were excellent and really attentive. Restaurant clean and well presented. Will endeavor to visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write such a super review on Trip Advisor. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and that you'll be back! More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just a food review for a very good Sunday lunch. Rare roast beef and Yorkshire pudding , a good selection of well cooked vegatables. The restaurant is very busy and lively with a good atmosphere. Staff are courteous and friendly , Meals arrived with little fuss or bother and quicker than normal. All in all a very good experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review on Trip Advisor. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and hope you'll be back again before too long. More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back from a weekend in wells Somerset, a small city with a beautiful Cathedral and Bishops Palace. We stayed at the Crown in Wells hotel , parts of which date back to the 15th centur, and is situated right in the heart of this small City, overlooking the market place. It was quaint and quirky in parts but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're delighted to receive such a positive review of The Crown and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Comments concerning the shower duly noted, thank you. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here as we had been told that the Italian round the corner was booked up....very glad we did. I had the pork belly which was divine. Beautifully tender pork and the crispy black pudding was lovely and well presented. My girlfriend had the penne pasta with bacon/beef and tomato sauce. Again a good balance of flavours and good portion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for such a super review. We're glad you enjoyed your meals with us so much. Don't worry about finding an excuse, just come back, hopefully soon? More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Just to clarify this is only a review for a meal rather than a stay but what a meal - the best of our holiday. The building is an old coaching inn dating back to the 15th century so has bags of character. I loved the photographs of the various visiting celebrities (Simon Peggy, Nick Frost, Steve Merchant etc) in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review on Trip Advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you again before too long. More 

Perranporth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We were in the middle of our week's break which had been brilliant so far until we came to Wells where we were so disappointed with the original hotel we booked we decided not to stay. So at 7.00pm we found ourselves driving in Wells looking for somewhere else. Fortunately we were able to get into the Crown where the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Ah, great to hear we were able to help and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thanks for sharing on Trip Advisor. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

We went here for a Sunday lunch when every where was booked and were delighted.Had the set menu for 19£ having three courses. Food outstanding, service friendly and they catered for our toddler with no fuss. We'll definitely be back. Lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for your super review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Our party was 5 adults, plus 2 under 5's and an infant - it took 2 hours for two courses, the food was mediocre to poor (the infant had sausage and mash and could not eat the sausage it was so tough! (how do you make a sausage tough??)) - we watched order after order going off to the bar,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a wait for food. Your order for food was put to the kitchen after the remaining members of your family joining you arrived. The sausages are 'proper' butcher's sausages. We are sorry you found them to be tough. We have taken your comments on board and removed them from the children's menu. We were happy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question