We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Wells B&Bs / inns

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Hotel amenities
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 41 Wells B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Judith M Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    93
    37
    22
    7
See reviews for
38
137
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars NEW

Just got back from a weekend in wells Somerset, a small city with a beautiful Cathedral and Bishops Palace. We stayed at the Crown in Wells hotel , parts of which date back to the 15th centur, and is situated right in the heart of this small City, overlooking the market place. It was quaint and quirky in parts but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're delighted to receive such a positive review of The Crown and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Comments concerning the shower duly noted, thank you. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went here as we had been told that the Italian round the corner was booked up....very glad we did. I had the pork belly which was divine. Beautifully tender pork and the crispy black pudding was lovely and well presented. My girlfriend had the penne pasta with bacon/beef and tomato sauce. Again a good balance of flavours and good portion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just to clarify this is only a review for a meal rather than a stay but what a meal - the best of our holiday. The building is an old coaching inn dating back to the 15th century so has bags of character. I loved the photographs of the various visiting celebrities (Simon Peggy, Nick Frost, Steve Merchant etc) in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review on Trip Advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you again before too long. More 

Perranporth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in the middle of our week's break which had been brilliant so far until we came to Wells where we were so disappointed with the original hotel we booked we decided not to stay. So at 7.00pm we found ourselves driving in Wells looking for somewhere else. Fortunately we were able to get into the Crown where the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Ah, great to hear we were able to help and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thanks for sharing on Trip Advisor. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went here for a Sunday lunch when every where was booked and were delighted.Had the set menu for 19£ having three courses. Food outstanding, service friendly and they catered for our toddler with no fuss. We'll definitely be back. Lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for your super review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our party was 5 adults, plus 2 under 5's and an infant - it took 2 hours for two courses, the food was mediocre to poor (the infant had sausage and mash and could not eat the sausage it was so tough! (how do you make a sausage tough??)) - we watched order after order going off to the bar,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a wait for food. Your order for food was put to the kitchen after the remaining members of your family joining you arrived. The sausages are 'proper' butcher's sausages. We are sorry you found them to be tough. We have taken your comments on board and removed them from the children's menu. We were happy... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the crown .....this time we bought our small dog , we were given room 9 on the 3rd floor ...the room was very small but we wasnt too bothered ....it was a gift for valentines day from my fiance ... we went down to the bar for drinks and food we had a starter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

It was with a heavy heart we read your review. The experience you said you had sadly is not entirely accurate and, more importantly, entirely avoidable. The bread comes with olive oil and a balsamic reduction, not vinigarette dressing as you describe. Not entirely sure why this was such an issue for you. You then describe going up to your... More 

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great situation in small city right under the cathedral,excellant service Tracy on reception superb,Rooms clean shower a bit dated,good meal and breakfast ant the old town and cathedral stunning.Parking in the centre very valuable,building dates from 1450

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Great review, thank you. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Wells. Hope you'll come back again before too long. More 

cardiff
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a lovely valentines break at the crown at Wells , Somerset. Hotel is perfectly placed overlooking the ancient market place. Plenty of parking if not in hotel car park then in town hall's literally a minutes walk away. Excellent customer service throughout the hotel. Provided an unexpected alternative room with an upgrade when requested a change to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll upgrade rooms when we can and it's great we were able to do it for you on this occasion. Look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Menston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hmm...unfortunately this is my first ever bad tripadvisor review....Went into the bar for lunch with kids, very very slow service, took over 45 minutes and only arrived after chasing them up. The table next to us had ordered immediately before us and had eaten and gone before our food arrived so my guess is they forgot the order. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're sorry it's your first bad one. We accept the wait for food was unacceptable. This was explained to you, as you say. Our member of staff was being honest when trying to explain to you about the burger being prepared fresh to order. Your did challenge that, albeit in a bit of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay