We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Hotel amenities
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #24 of 42 Wells B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
OldfashionedLondon London
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    99
    39
    23
    7
See reviews for
39
150
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (277)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Wells last Sunday and decided to try eating here for Sunday lunch. The bar was busy and empty tables were sparce which was a good sign but the food proved to be a real disappointment. Believe roast was £12 but I selected the pork and despite being presented with what appeared to be a large portion 80% of it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your meal with us. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the pork. Pork belly is, by nature, fatty but not to the degree you describe. It is such a shame you didn't mention it during your meal as we could have replaced the... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were lucky to get a bank holiday Monday night's accommodation without booking. It's very close to the cathedral and bishop's palace and we did not get the morning noise from the market place outside on the Tuesday. Nice period room, beds OK, small shower/WC. Restaurant food good, pleasant service. Good breakfast, Reasonable value for money. We are always happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We really appreciate your ethos of supporting independent business and thanks for choosing The Crown. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Walsall
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Grateful they were open as nowhere else was. Waiter service, limited menu but food was lovely. I chose the cheese burger which was of good quality and my partner had steak which was beautiful. Only downside was the pudding. We both had trifle but it wasn't like any we'd had before. Nice place though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. The trifle is not like any other as it's a Spanish recipe, that sure have been made clear to you, sorry. We appreciate it's not to everyone's taste. Do hope you'll come again and have a different pud next time! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great meal with friends in the bistro and the food and service was excellent. Would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great value meal. Lovely surroundings and Pleasent ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation, much appreciated! More 

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very historic Inn and restaurant right in the middle of the small, beautiful city of Wells in Somerset. The Inn is ideal for exploring this ancient city being right next door to the Cathedral and Bishops Palace and gardens. The rooms are clean and well equipped, although if you are facing the square it can be quite noisy and unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, albeit inspite of your discomfort with the bed, sorry. With regards to the car park; we appreciate it is not ideal (being a 15th coaching inn!) but we are more than happy to move cars for... More 

Wookey, Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Was looking forward to a Sunday roast, heard alot about this pub, Table was booked and was ready for when we arrived, our daughter had a activity paper which she enjoyed, I ordered pate when it arrived there was a good size portion of pate but only 2 small slices of toast making the slice of toast to heavy with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We did get in touch to ask you to clarify elements of your review but did not hear back from you, unfortunately. We're sorry you were disappointed with elements of your meal. We are happy to offer guests more should they feel the portion size inadequate - this is a real bone of contention as people's appetites vary. We do... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I have visited this place many times over a few years and always found it a very good place to est and drink. There is always a good range of drinks and food to choose from. There are often many people there just having an afternoon coffee etc which is great to see when the high street appears to absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Great review, thank you so much for taking the time. Thanks also for supporting us independents and not the myriad of coffee places on the high street, much appreciated. So pleased you decided to stay and do hope you'll come again in the not too distant future. More 

Hayward, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Nice place to have a relaxed lunch, tasty, efficient wait staff and close to center of town. We were there on market day, which is a very busy time in Wells - and were able to get a table without a wait. Sandwiches and drinks - served quickly and prices - very fair. We were back out shopping in no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

A lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We're so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and yes please to you coming to stay here next time! More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Friendly staff and quick service. Where Hot Fuzz was filmed. It was a bit quiet when we went in but that could have been the time of year and time of day. The cheesy chips were awesome and went well with a cider

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your short 'n sweet review on Trip Advisor; much appreciated and we're glad you enjoyed your visit with us. More 

Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

My partner and I went for Afternoon Tea at The Crown as a birthday treat on Sunday 5th April. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and seated in the restaurant area. On the website it says you get the choice of the bar, restaurant or terrace, but we weren't asked when we got there (though it didn't matter). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Lack of jam was an oversight on our part and we're sorry. We do urge diners that if they're not happy about something, please let us know, we're keen to rectify anything wherever possible. We would have popped some music on for you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay