We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George and Pilgrims Hotel

1 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
George and Pilgrims Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    96
    55
    35
    47
See reviews for
36
150
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (319)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are disgraceful - filthy holed carpets awash with a variety of stains some of which were hidden by carefully placed rugs. Room 10 had several seriously broken panes of glass in the windows: hot and hot running water (even after leaving the cold tap to run for several minutes the water was hot !!): a tiny TV falling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Some reviews say “ there is no other place like it” and I agree. Room carpet dirty and stained, window glass with holes, bathroom floor tiles broken, furniture broken. Bizarre room layout (room 10) - we had the second floor emergency exit running through the en-suite. The bar was atmospheric, however the customer greeting was one member of staff trying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Glastonbury hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The G&P is great as a pub, it's full of character, atmosphere and tangible history, but the food is disappointing. I wasnt expecting anything amazing but my steak and ale pie was like a microwaved slice of Fray Bentos or something. Would have been ok if it was some cheap and cheerful chain pub '2 meals for a tenner' job.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disgusting is the only descriptive word I can think of to rate this place. It would be insulting to all other pubs/hotels to call it anything else. It was absolutely filthy. Could not bring ourselves to eat an evening meal there and although breakfast was included in the price, we could not face eating a morsel from their kitchen. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went into this hotel today for Lunch, wished we'd never bothered. The food took 50 mins from ordering to arrival at the table (the time of order was on receipt, so we weren't imagining that) when the food for 2 of our party arrived, the other had to wait a while longer for theirs, and mine never arrived for at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A much needed 2 night break in this pub/hotel was not only disappointing due to the state of the room but made worse by the lack of ability of the staff to sort a problem or reply to emails regarding our disappointing stay. The room was clean but the four poster bed was missing its curtains & pelmet, the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

One of the most amazing hotels we have stayed in. This was our 3rd stay in two years. We had room 2 again which has an original four poster that was constructed in the room when the hotel was made. The period features in the room and whole hotel are amazing. Its like stepping back in time. Its grade 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

This is a hotel oozing character. One of the original buildings in Glastonbury dating back to the 1400's. It's in the high street so very close to the main attractions, shops etc. A great place to say, good food, good ale and great company...especially the ghosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

This hotel is old - it badges itself as the oldest hotel in continuous use in the south west and I wouldn't argue with that - so don't expect large lobbies, wide staircases or convenient landings. Do expect narrow staircases which twist, uneven flagstone floors and a great stay. It is right on the high street in Glastonbury, handy for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WendyPlum, Manager at George and Pilgrims Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel, we look forward to you staying with us again and hopefully next time a ghost will make an appearance! More 

Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Fell for the place the moment we arrived and weren't disappointed. We had booked a room with a four poster bed and it was great; spacious and with period furniture, like the photos! A lovely clean room, comfy bed, great shower, friendly staff, good breakfast and such character and charm. We were booked for 2 nights but asked to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WendyPlum, Manager at George and Pilgrims Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our pub and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury
Premier Inn Glastonbury
#1 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
3.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wessex
Wessex
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay