We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dunster Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Hotel amenities
The Dunster Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
RobandMitch London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    49
    26
    7
    12
See reviews for
29
117
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The staff were very welcoming & offered us a choice of seating. We had a cream tea which was delicious and the price was very reasonable. They did not rush you and the hotel was a great place to relax

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely location close to castle and very close to minehead, easy to find as just off the main road in to minehead. friendly people and great value room, full of character but clean and functional well worth a visit if staying in the area. Menu had regional specials.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a meal for 13 guests to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday. Every one had a really good time the meal and service was excellent. My wife and I would like to thank every one at the Dunster Castle Hotel for helping to making it a memorable night. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
clivet3001
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just stayed here, I will start by saying that they cant do enough for you whilst you are there, the owners are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Now the not so good. The larger rooms are located at the front of the hotel and so are the set of traffic lights that control the traffic through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely welcome on our arrival and told that we had been upgraded. We stayed in the Dower room and it was wonderful. The bed is huge and so comfortable, bathroom has a fantastic shower, we didn't want to leave. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very tasty as was the breakfast the following... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tried this for the first time today for afternoon tea. Poor waitress was on her own coping with everything. Limited choice cakes which seemed a bit bad when a board outside invited you in for cakes. The cream tea was nice. Warmed scones. Freshly brewed coffee. Not too keen on the way the table was cleared of our plates while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I should caveat this review by saying i've neither eaten at or stayed at this hotel. What follows might appear to be the rantings of a deranged man, but I can assure this is out of character for me and I am only posting to avoid others going through the same frustration I have just encountered. We stayed locally and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldYarn, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

As this gentleman stated he never ate or stayed at our hotel. on the day in question I the general Manger open the door which had blown shut due to winds and explained that we were not serving breakfast on that day as the restaurant ceiling was being repaired. Apologies but i feel this is a unfair review. More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From our arrival for a 3 night stay we found the owners and staff both friendly professional and engaging. the hotel is situated right in the centre of a most beautiful Somerset village. The room was large, warm and comfortable with good facilities. The food was excellent with a varied menu. The Friday special was excellent value This is our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A party of nine and we all enjoyed all our food. Good range of choices on the menu and friendly service. If I was picky the restaurant lighting was a little dim and there was a hole in the ceiling(?) But the food was great and well priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here for the Friday and Saturday night with my girlfriend and our four month old baby. the location is excellent, right on the high street in dunster and just yards from the castle entrance. the room was charming an quite large. we ate at the hotel both nights as part of the deal and the food was beautifully cooked.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities