We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Dunster B&Bs / inns

The Dunster Castle Hotel

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Hotel amenities
The Dunster Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Dunster Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
2015Libby0115 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    41
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
26
99
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for a single night on Thursday 22 Jan 15. We were impressed with this hotel no faults to find whatsoever; the owner and staff were very welcoming, efficient, polite and friendly. Our room was a good standard with everything you would expect. The shower was hot and powerful and the enormous king size bed was extremely comfortable too!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our 4th Christmas visit to this hotel. On arrival we were asked to pay up front. A deposit had been paid in November. This set the tone of things to come. We had our usual room so no problem there. Our dining experience could not have been more different from previous years. Poor quality food (on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldYarn, General Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

It is with great sadness that I read this review. At no point in the 4 days that you stayed with us did you ever mention any disappointment or concern regarding your stay. On the point regarding food we gave you the most attentive service and that service also included a staff member that had worked at the hotel and... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like franchise hotels with no character or soul.DO NOT COME HERE!!!.however if you would appreciate old world charm with a modern twist,a hostess with verve and a desire to make your stay as perfect as possible : then do yourselves a favour and book a room in this most characterful place! many thanks JO,familly and staff for putting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldYarn, General Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you both and thankyou for your kind comments. see you both soon More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay at this hotel. It is a very old building so it has lots of character and is nothing like a ‘plastic’ modern hotel. The hostess was charming, the room superb (super king size bed) and breakfast most enjoyable. Fantastic value!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldYarn, General Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been coming to this hotel for a number of years! Booked in early Autumn 2014 for a Winter break, asked 3 times for confirmation by e-mail or post no response, called to asked again for confirmation answered by a very abrupt female saying it had been sent 3 times and they will ring back! Nothing as of yet! So e.mailed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldYarn, General Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to read your disappointing review, as upon your departure I, the manager in question checked you out and you never at any point mentioned any of the points you have stated in your review. The ownership has not changed and as you were happy with my husband and my service during your stay we cannot understand why... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had booked a two night special deal stay for Jan 5th and 6th. Arrived in the afternoon of the 5th to find the hotel closed and were asked rather bluntly what we wanted? On explaining we had a reservation we were told they had a problem with the boiler and were closed. They claimed they'd rung to explain but that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldYarn, General Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are very sorry to read your response, however unfortunately the hotel did not have any record of your reservation, as we were closed for 2 x weeks for maintenance and general refurbishment, we tried to assist you in every way to seek alternative accommodation. As we are in the hospitality trade we do not turn business away... More 

Minehead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not a review of the accommodation. We have been coming here as locals for lunch and dinner on and off for nearly three years, but after our Christmas Eve experience we will not be coming back until there are changes. Good points: it was open. Bad points: The service was unacceptable. To wait more than an hour from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldYarn, General Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We are saddened by this review as you took the time on your departure to talk to our front of house team and chefs, saying what a wonderful time that you had? If you had bought to our attention at the time of your visit your disappointment we would of endeavoured to have rectified any problems. The French... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this restaurant for a Christmas day dinner for four of us. The service was first rate with very attentive staff. The food was delicious and of a high standard. The decor and fittings are in really good condition. I will certainly book here for a meal again in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldYarn, General Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much we very much look forward to seeing you again in 2015 More 

oldbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

booked this hotel for dunster by candlelight (a great event) the hotel on the internet looked fabulous highly priced but 4 star even booked 18 months in advance but what a disapointment definitely not 4 star badly stained carpet and walls no hairdryer hoover not took round during our stay nor before we got there either judging by what i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We recently stayed at The Dunster Castle Hotel from Friday to Sunday for my Sister’s wedding. Jo and her team were absolutely incredible, nothing was too much trouble and they literally went above and beyond to make the wedding as special as it could be. The reception room itself was decorated beautifully, the bedrooms are a good size with very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dunster Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunster Castle Hotel

Address: 5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunster Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Dunster Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunster Castle Hotel Somerset

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay