We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dunster Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Dunster Castle Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night between Christmas and the New Year to visit family in the area. More a pub with rooms but this did not detract from a very enjoyable stay. Warm welcome and room available even though arrived a bit ahead of check in time. Room and bathroom were both very clean and well presented. It was the economy... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Team_DC
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Team_DC , Thank you for your review of The Dunster Castle Hotel, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found a warm welcome. We have been working on our breakfast menu and we are pleased that our efforts are belonging to show, we apologise for having a reduced dinner menu between Christmas and New year,... More 

Tewkesbury
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dunster is a hidden treasure and the two nights spent at this hotel were most enjoyable. The friendly welcome we received set the tone for all our dealings with the staff. The room and food were good, but above all the value was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jandebeardsley
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Janebeardsley for your lovely review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we have some fantastic deals throughput January and February every year so we hope to see you again soon. Clare and The Team More 

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was rated as 4 star, the food was excellent and a very tasty breakfast was included in the price. Having said that, the room let it down. The mattres was so hard I had back ache the next day and the pillows were nearly as bad. But for what we paid I was quite happy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue P
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SueP, Thank you for reviewing us here at the Dunster Castle Hotel, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you're food was excellent. I just wanted to clarify that we are in fact a 4 star inn and not a 4 star hotel - the classifications by the tourist board are quite different... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although I haven't stayed here, I have eaten many times, and I must say everything was always fantastic. I've eaten many dishes, my favourite being both the Beef Burger (yum) and the roast beef. The burger was juicy and easily known its homemade (you can always tell the difference), fresh salad with the burger and lovely homemade chips, what more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan D
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan D, Thank you for your kind review, I will pass your comments along to all the staff. We do indeed make our burgers in house with our own secret recipe! We have been working tirelessly to "revamp" The Dunster Castle Hotel since we took over 6 months ago and I am very pleased that our efforts are beginning... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night on the 27/01/2016. Very warm and cosy hotel staff where friendly the shower was the best one iv'e ever stood in and a fantastic full Exmouth Breakfast would stay again and would recommend it to anyone.Thanks for a great stay .

Helpful?
Thank bigdad40
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bigdad40, Thank you for your kind review! We pride ourselves on our friendly customer service and I'm really pleased you enjoyed our Full Exmoor breakfast - it certainly does set you up for the day! Look forward to seeing you again soon Clare More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable weekend stay here during January for the bargain price of £35 a night for bed & breakfast. The room was small but comfortable and clean with a modern en-suite shower room, while Clare and the staff were all very welcoming and accommodating. The cooked breakfasts were a great start to the day and we had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartinandAlice
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartinandAlice, Thank you for taking the time to review us at The Dunster Castle Hotel, we value your feedback. We are really pleased you took advantage of our "January Sale" accommodation offer and enjoyed your stay with us. We take on board your comments about our website and will be looking at making amendments and removing out of date... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was attractively prepared and of a good standard although a trifle limited in choice. Car parking access is a little tight through the archway but area spacious at rear. All our needs were attended to and every effort was made to make us feel welcome. Hostess and staff were friendly and attentive. Hot chocolate and warm mince pies after... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John W
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us and would love to welcome you back in the future. We work very hard to produce a Christmas break package that encompasses a little bit of something for everyone at that very special time of... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

From the hotel website we expected a good quality 4star hotel. What we experienced was much lower standard and we could not recommend this hotel to anyone. Faulty electrics, rooms hallways and eating areas that are not cleaned, poor service with plenty excuses, understaffed, food I would expect in a small pub not 4star standard. Too expensive and I don't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chris0661
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris0661, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at the Dunster Castle Hotel, we value all feedback both positive and negative. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your required standards on this occasion, however I feel I must clarify a few points in your review. We are not, nor have we ever claimed... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

We booked a table for 10 earlier this year for the Saturday evening of the Dunster by candlelight weekend. We arrived at the hotel and ‘checked in’ only to be told the hotel had changed owners and the new proprietors had no knowledge of our booking. Fortunately they were able to accommodate us within 40 mins of our original booking... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank mark m
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark M, Thank you for reviewing us here at the dunster castle hotel, as you are fully aware we moved heaven and earth for your party of 10 that had NOT booked with us on what is arguably the busiest night of the year for Dunster. 1000's of people enjoyed a fantastic "Dunster by Candlelight" this year, in order... More 

east anglia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

It's for Clare who I give the two above. For her it would have been more but that would have skewed the overall impression I wish to give. The castle for all it's fabulous location is falling apart at the seams. Windows in bedrooms that don't and can't shut. Toilets that won't flush. Electrics that will default. Being the only... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank mlsvhmmw4
micky b, Manager at The Dunster Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mlsvhmmw4, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Dunster Castle Hotel, I appreciate your kind words and I am sorry you did not find the facilities here up to your standard, we hope this doesn't deter from you from visiting with us again in the near future. Many Thanks Clare Sturman More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay