We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5
Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Bath
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
piggywiggy01 Weymouth, England
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    202
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
88
347
51
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (677)
  • Mar-May only
    (186)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Bar staff so rude glad I didn't stay there , it was like going back in time not very nice at all .Thought it would be nice as its a hotel but no . Get some staff that know how to talk to customers won't be going back .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Took advantage of a Travel zoo deal at the end of March. Good value for money with three course meal and breakfast. The evening meal was very nice, well presented and service was good. However, I did think it was a little rushed even though the restaurant wasn't full. Good choice for cooked breakfast with the usual cereal, fruit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice looking hotel from the outside close to the train station short walk to the town centre! Staff although helpful were very poor on check in by speaking very loudly "thats £*** for the room" really good on a birthday surprise. lift was out of order, door was not easy to open for anyone as everytime we wanted to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read this review. Firstly I would like to apologise for any embarrassment caused when our receptionist confirmed the rate of the room, which is our standard practice, to make sure, notwithstanding any written confirmation received from our customers, that there is no misunderstanding regarding the rate charged. Had we been advised that this was a... More 

Cricklade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On contacting the hotel, they explained what they had - I requested a room with a Bath but got a room with a Shower. Unfortunately, the only lift had failed and being old, the required bits had to come from Europe and will be out of service for several weeks. I do feel that they should have told me beforehand,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes the lift was out of order and this would have been explained by our receptionist in addition to a written note in the room that this was due to the need to fit a spare part which is not readily available but is expected anytime soon I apologise for the fact that you were... More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent location, just opposite the station and about a 5-minute walk from the centre of Bath. Really friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast, flawless dinner in the restaurant. Comfortable bed, spacious room (four-poster bed room). Couldn't fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Picked up a good deal with Travel Zoo for a two night stay. Room clean, tidy and spacious. Staff were friendly and recommended places to visit. Good choice for breakfast and evening meal was ok. Fantastic location. Really enjoyed my stay and would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanted a really nice hotel for our 3 day break,and boy did we get just that.Couldnt fault anything at all,staff so friendly,room so comfortable,no noise,and breakfast was amazing,full english or lots of other things to choose from,I went for eggs benidict,well done we will return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a huge room with a four poster bed with full english breakfast included for £130 per night. Easy walking distances to all Bath tourist spots. Bed was HUGE, staff extremely friendly and helpful and though lif was out of order, appreciated that there was a good explanation and we were helped upstairs with ours luggage. Breakfast excellent. Only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Exceptionally good staff; great location Cons: Creaky floorboards, lift out of service so steep climb of stairs, no mixer tap in washbasin, no water force in shower, double room quite small with hardly any luggage room space, and lastly, the bed and pillows are squiggly soft so certainly not for the older guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am responding to your review as one of the owners of The Royal. I do apologise that our lift was out of order. We are awaiting a spare part and unfortunately this is out of our control. There is a letter in every bedroom apologising to our guests. All guests are offered assistance with their luggage both on arrival... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was in a great location just outside the train station, which was great to drop off the bags before exploring. The staff were friendly and welcoming, always on hand to answer questions. Even when a teenage decided burping very loudly at breakfast a member of staff was quick to point out manners within the dinning room. Reception was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to note that you found our staff friendly and thank you for your complimentary comments regarding our reception area and receptionists. I do apologise that the lift was out of order which is out of our control due to a part being on order. There is a letter in every bedroom... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

273 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (176)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (14)
Viewed
Family Room (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
Standard Room with Canopy Bed (24)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Street View (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question