We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Bath hotels

Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
77%
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Bath
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Petri P Tampere
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    172
    76
    34
    23
See reviews for
73
296
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (572)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (132)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Tampere
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel has really good breakfast and service is in the breakfast room is really professional. Royal Hotel is situated next to the railway station but also next to the homeless centre. The rooms are spacious as well as the bathrooms that have a bath tub. WiFi is slow. TV set is small and modern. There are too few channels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the hotel is located at the heart of the city 10 meters from the Bath station almost near everything in the city. the room was neat and fully equipped. the place was quiet and very romantic. the breakfast was not as it should it was good but they could have done better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Although you appear to have enjoyed everything, you felt that our award winning breakfast could have been better and I, therefore, apologise for the shortcomings on this occasion. We do pay particular attention to the quality of our breakfast as invariably it is the last meal our guests have... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a hotel that is central to all that Bath has to offer and you like old fashioned courtesy, helpful staff, lovely food and within walking distance of all Baths many tourist attractions, don't look any further than 'The Royal'.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review and for recommending The Royal and in particular highlighting some of our qualities. Mike MacDermid General Manager More

Irvinestown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

my wife and 2 friends stayed here recently and could not speak highly enough of hotel, as i had booked it i was delighted by their comments of a very nice hotel, good location, good value and excellent staff and food. thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your brief but lovely review following your stay with us and for awarding us 5 stars. Mike MacDermid General Manager More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is conveniently located next to the station and also close to the office I was working in. The welcome was friendly and there were always friendly greetings and efficient service from the staff. The room is very pleasant, TV, wifi, a teapot and a cafetierre, together with being clean and comfortable. Both breakfasts and the evening meals were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review following your stay with us whilst you were working in Bath In particular I am delighted that you enjoyed the friendly efficient staff who we employ and who we are enormously proud of. I am also pleased that you found everything in your room as it should be and that you enjoyed your... More

Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have given this hotel v.good marks based on the location of the hotel to Bath railway station, in essence, across the road.Also on the most friendly and helpful members of staff, including the kitchen staff and cleaners. We had a lovely 3 night break here and paid a little extra for a larger room with a 4 poster bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location across from train station. We were worried that it might be too busy or loud, but we were wrong. Easy access to train, bus stop, taxis. Walking distance to all the sights in Bath. Easy walk to the Bath Abbey Hotel where we had to catch our tour bus to Stonehenge (and much cheaper than that place). We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your stay with us at The Royal. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with the only downside being you felt that the water temperature was not as hot as it might have been and the WiFi was not strong in all parts of the hotel.... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights having booked the Spa package. We received a very friendly and warm welcome. Our room was ok, but nothing special. The champagne cream tea was a bit of a disappointment, after being told by reception not to eat lunch as the cream tea was so big, I expected more than just two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed that you only gave us 3 stars following your stay with us on the Spa package. The champagne cream tea is as stated, tea, 2 scones, clotted cream and jam, together with a glass of champagne and I am sorry if you were misled by a member of our staff who indicated that there would be more... More

Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a weekend spa package to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was excellent - the same one shown in the web page. A warm welcome from the friendly and helpful staff. The bar staff were also friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food and service were excellent. The same was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review which I very much enjoyed reading and which I have passed on to all members of our staff so that they can see how their hard work and friendly manner are appreciated by our guests. I am, of course, especially delighted that given it was your wedding anniversary that The Royal made the occasion... More

Casares, Spain
2 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location for 5 friends weekend away , booked spa package. Lobby and reception area was dirty, dingy and unwelcoming. Booked 2 car park spaces , I car arrived later and all spaces were taken. Rooms , staircases and corridors were old , tired ,had damp marks and generally needed updating. Bathrooms had been updated but badly decorated and water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am responding to this review as one of the owners of The Royal Hotel. The background to the issue relating to the car park is as follows. This particular guest was due to arrive on Friday evening and a car parking space was reserved however, for reasons whatever she arrived early on Saturday morning. Unfortunately on that morning there... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay