We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel

Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Bath
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jon L Rome, Italy
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    204
    85
    36
    23
See reviews for
87
349
52
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (681)
  • Mar-May only
    (190)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On arrival we were greeted by cheerful reception staff. There was a queue for check-in and it was nice to be acknowledged. So often you're left wondering if anyone has seen you. Not the case here. The lift to all floors was out of order but there was an immediate offer for bags shopping etc to be carried to and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After arriving in the early evening, I received the good news that no single rooms were left for my reservation so I'd been assigned a double. The elevator is out of service. The receptionist offered to have my luggage brought up the single flight later. There is a letter of apology in the room describing how some mechanism broke and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Royal Hotel Bath 14th to 16th April, the rooms were better that I had expected in fact mine was very good, the evening and breakfast food in the restaurant was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly, even managed to reserve one of the few car parking spaces behind the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We came here as part of a package deal with the spa tickets and were impressed by the large, modern bathroom and neat, clean room. Those saying the rooms are dated - they are purposely decorated in keeping with the age of the building. The restaraunt is very nice, and the staff are very friendly and polite. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poole.Dorset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We went to Bath for a belated 50th wedding anniversary break the hotel is right opposite the railway station 5 minutes walk to centre of Bath very friendly staff we went on a spring break package and upgraded to a superior room although the standards are ok we wanted a bath as their are showers in standards e had b&b... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay with us for your 50th wedding anniversary. I am very pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your visit and you felt that the food was excellent and that we offered good value. I am also very pleased to read that you intend to revisit us and we look forward to the... More 

Weymouth, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took advantage of a Travel zoo deal at the end of March. Good value for money with three course meal and breakfast. The evening meal was very nice, well presented and service was good. However, I did think it was a little rushed even though the restaurant wasn't full. Good choice for cooked breakfast with the usual cereal, fruit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us on our Travelzoo promotion. I am pleased that you enjoyed the quality of food and the service but regret that you felt that the latter was a little rushed. It is always difficult for our restaurant management to get the balance right between allowing customers to have a... More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice looking hotel from the outside close to the train station short walk to the town centre! Staff although helpful were very poor on check in by speaking very loudly "thats £*** for the room" really good on a birthday surprise. lift was out of order, door was not easy to open for anyone as everytime we wanted to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read this review. Firstly I would like to apologise for any embarrassment caused when our receptionist confirmed the rate of the room, which is our standard practice, to make sure, notwithstanding any written confirmation received from our customers, that there is no misunderstanding regarding the rate charged. Had we been advised that this was a... More 

Cricklade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On contacting the hotel, they explained what they had - I requested a room with a Bath but got a room with a Shower. Unfortunately, the only lift had failed and being old, the required bits had to come from Europe and will be out of service for several weeks. I do feel that they should have told me beforehand,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes the lift was out of order and this would have been explained by our receptionist in addition to a written note in the room that this was due to the need to fit a spare part which is not readily available but is expected anytime soon I apologise for the fact that you were... More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, just opposite the station and about a 5-minute walk from the centre of Bath. Really friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast, flawless dinner in the restaurant. Comfortable bed, spacious room (four-poster bed room). Couldn't fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Picked up a good deal with Travel Zoo for a two night stay. Room clean, tidy and spacious. Staff were friendly and recommended places to visit. Good choice for breakfast and evening meal was ok. Fantastic location. Really enjoyed my stay and would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay with us via our promotion with Travelzoo. I am delighted that everything about your stay was enjoyable and I am especially pleased to read that you will return on a future occasion. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mike MacDermid General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

273 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (176)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (14)
Viewed
Family Room (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
Standard Room with Canopy Bed (24)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Street View (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question