We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Bath hotels

Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
77%
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Bath
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
NormaCartwright Staffordshire
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    172
    75
    34
    23
See reviews for
72
295
46
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (567)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have given this hotel v.good marks based on the location of the hotel to Bath railway station, in essence, across the road.Also on the most friendly and helpful members of staff, including the kitchen staff and cleaners. We had a lovely 3 night break here and paid a little extra for a larger room with a 4 poster bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location across from train station. We were worried that it might be too busy or loud, but we were wrong. Easy access to train, bus stop, taxis. Walking distance to all the sights in Bath. Easy walk to the Bath Abbey Hotel where we had to catch our tour bus to Stonehenge (and much cheaper than that place). We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights having booked the Spa package. We received a very friendly and warm welcome. Our room was ok, but nothing special. The champagne cream tea was a bit of a disappointment, after being told by reception not to eat lunch as the cream tea was so big, I expected more than just two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed that you only gave us 3 stars following your stay with us on the Spa package. The champagne cream tea is as stated, tea, 2 scones, clotted cream and jam, together with a glass of champagne and I am sorry if you were misled by a member of our staff who indicated that there would be more... More

Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a weekend spa package to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was excellent - the same one shown in the web page. A warm welcome from the friendly and helpful staff. The bar staff were also friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food and service were excellent. The same was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review which I very much enjoyed reading and which I have passed on to all members of our staff so that they can see how their hard work and friendly manner are appreciated by our guests. I am, of course, especially delighted that given it was your wedding anniversary that The Royal made the occasion... More

Casares, Spain
2 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for 5 friends weekend away , booked spa package. Lobby and reception area was dirty, dingy and unwelcoming. Booked 2 car park spaces , I car arrived later and all spaces were taken. Rooms , staircases and corridors were old , tired ,had damp marks and generally needed updating. Bathrooms had been updated but badly decorated and water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am responding to this review as one of the owners of The Royal Hotel. The background to the issue relating to the car park is as follows. This particular guest was due to arrive on Friday evening and a car parking space was reserved however, for reasons whatever she arrived early on Saturday morning. Unfortunately on that morning there... More

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
1,099 helpful votes 1,099 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we would like to direct this review to Ron Zanre, Owner. We have visited this hotel on many occasions and think that some of the reviews have been totally unfair to you and your staff. We understand that things can occasionally go wrong and people need to complain but we are sure that they would be have been dealt with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review which is directed to me. As very regular customers of The Royal we very much appreciate any observations from you as given the number of times you have stayed with us you are well placed to pass comment, good or bad. I was particularly delighted that you mention our staff in such complimentary terms... More

Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as the website was welcoming. However reality was so different. I know the owners cant help the noise from the road, rail etc but they can help the attitude of the staff. Everything seemed rushed through dinner and breakfast. Once served then nobody reappeared to offer more drinks or find out if everything was ok. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am responding to this review as one of the owners of The Royal Hotel. I am sorry that this guest felt rushed at dinner and breakfast as this is not our normal service style, particularly with regards to dinner which we try to keep leisurely. It is a fact that at the time they stayed with us the hotel... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Saw the special 2 night dinner, bed & breakfast package on their website and thought it ideal for a Bath getaway when travelling by train as the hotel is right across the road from the station. The meals were mostly fine, although I had the Eton Mess for dessert one night and wasn't too well afterwards and believe the cream... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am responding to this review as one of the owners of The Royal Hotel. I am sorry to read that this guest was not feeling well on one occasion after dinner and they felt that the problem may have been caused by our Eton Mess dessert. Eton Mess is our most popular dessert by far and is made fresh... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a four poster bed for a romantic night away, I requested a top floor room in a quiet area. Upon arrival we were shown to our room on the first floor at the very front overlooking the train station. The room was so hot, there was a portable air conditioning machine which did nothing, we had no choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 23
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am responding to this review as one of the owners of The Royal Hotel I am sorry that we were unable to provide this guest with a four poster bedroom on the top floor of our hotel but we only have two four poster rooms, both of which are on the first floor. My understanding is that on booking... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The decoration is a bit rococo for my taste, but I appreciated the effort of the management to keep the original style of a hotel with so much history. The staff is friendly, and the location is unbeatable. But my special mention goes to the breakfast! No buffet but you can order from the a la carte menu, so you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review following your stay with us. I am delighted that you appreciate the original style of The Royal which we work very hard to try to maintain. Thank you also for mentioning our award winning breakfast which we are very proud of. Last but not least I apologise for the fact that you were given... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Royal Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay