We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lansdown Grove Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Special Offer
WEEKEND BREAKS FROM £129
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Bath
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013
Bella361 Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    178
    69
    23
    16
See reviews for
47
243
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (413)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Lansdown Grove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for a weekend recently and was very impressed with the service from the staff as well as the décor in the communal areas. The evening meals were great quality and the choices were balanced. Breakfast was average for a 3 star but there was nothing really to complain about food wise. Although quite nice the room was dated as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RFrances20 Great review thanks.I will look into the points you have raised. Regards Jane More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The food was pretty good in the mornings and staff were lovely. Yes the place does need a good update and the decor is rather dated and tired but its still a nice central hotel and couldnt really fault it for a weekend stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks B3cky79 for taking the time to post a review we do try and upgrade where and when we can as well as offering value for money which is something everyone wants nowadays. Hope you will come again. Jane More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Even though our room was in need of some updating, the hotel in general was nice and clean, food was fair and every day there was something for everyone. Staff was very helpful indeed, they would do their upmost to please you and this made our stay more enjoyable. Location is perfect for getting to the City centre, with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MariB134 I have passed on your lovely comments to all the staff concerned. Many people do walk back up the hill as well they see it as an achievement when they manage it, I may need to start handing out certificates!! But as you said there is a local bus service the numbers 31 and 2 that will take... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

spent 2 night solo from the 15th July. very friendly helpful staff. It is an old hotel with a bit of damp marks on the ceiling but clean. On a steep hill ( most of Bath is) but even me being unfit managed to walk up from town twice albeit straight to the bar! walk not suitable for aged or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 111aussie111 Thank you ,I have shown all the staff concerned your lovely review . I am happy to see you enjoyed the food. Regards Jane More 

Penryn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

1st thing to mention is the friendly staff who made our stay enjoyable. Dated hotel but clean and would not hesitate to stay again. 10 minute walk downhill to town, £5 in a taxi to get back up. Roman baths interesting . Bath spa nice way to spend a couple of hours. Great stay, hope you appreciate your hard working... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MaxTerrell Its great to read you not only enjoyed your stay but you though all the staff were friendly, rest assured they are all apppreciated as I know hard they all work. Regards Jane More 

Coleford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Lansdown Grove from 24 to 28 June, 2013. We were booked in for bed, breakfast and evening meal. We had also upgraded to a front facing room and £5 per day for reserved car parking. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable, with a very pleasant view across the city, but the room decor and furniture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike and Mo Coleford Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We try to offer all our guests a value for money product and upgrade rooms where and when we can. Regards Jane More 

West Sussex
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Weekend in Bath in the July heatwave (phew). A nice old characterful hotel, helpful polite staff, excellent size room with good furnishings and the usual amenities (ambassador suite), but, the en-suite was a disaster zone, bathroom heater thermostat was broken and stuck on max! (a waste of power) the sink had no plug, extractor fan didn't work, the entire en-suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sofitesouth It was very hot weekend when you stayed and continues to be hot. Its lovely. Its great to see you were happy with the staff in the hotel. Not sure about the thermostat situation as the heating has been off since the end of May. Will investigate further the issues you have raised. Regards Jane More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It is hard to find a good quality hotel in bath for one night during a weekend period, so we were really pleased to find the "The Lansdown Grove Hotel" who enabled us to have this one night stay. Beautiful georgian house, in a fairly central location of Bath. Tastefully decorated, clean and tidy and with very friendly and helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear buttonsarah222 Thanks for a lovely review ,I will pass on all your comments to all the staff concerned. Hope you visit us again soon. Regards Jane More 

lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just had 4 days at the Lansdowne Grove. Second time there. May I say that every member of staff is excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for them answered all my questions with a smile. As I am allergic to onion I had to tell them in the dining room and they made sure that I had an enjoyable evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wombat_666 Its great to see we were able to sort out your dietary requirement and that you though the Lamb was fantastic. I have passed on your comments to the chef. Franck says thank you and I will pass on your lovely comments to Chris the driver. Regards Jane More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Lansdown Grove and were very pleased with the service. Our room was pleasant, we did pay a supplement for a room with a view. The view could have been slightly better for the money as we seemed to be half way behind the main building so part of the view was obscured.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter W Thank you for a great posting. It was lovely to see you though the staff were exceptional I will past this on to all the staff concerned. Hope to see you agin in the future. Regards Jane More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question