We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Bath hotels

The Abbey Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Hotel amenities
The Abbey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Bath
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
HOLLYLW89 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    251
    96
    29
    14
See reviews for
85
278
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (633)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I organised for 15 of us to stay here on our (belated!) Christmas work do on Friday 23rd Jan and we had a great time! The location is absolutely ideal, the staff were fantastic and the rooms were lovely. The bar staff were particularly accommodating, chatty and friendly (and we didn't get the stink eye for sitting in the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were meeting up with friends for a two day stay in Bath. Looking for a central location we chose The Abbey. We were not disappointed it was an excellent choice. Car-parking was a short distance away and the town centre was also only a short walk away. Our bedroom was quiet and well furnished and the bed very comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Me and my wife have just returned from a 1 night break to the wonderful city of Bath . We stayed at the Abbey Hotel in the city center . After reading a few reports we were a bit concerned as to what to expect from this hotel. We found it to be a fantastic choice !!! the staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The visit to this hotel was a late Christmas present. Our room was extremely well furnished, with a bed big enough to hold Snow White and the seven dwarfs! Excellent coffee and tea equipment, and full range of toiletries. The hotel is still in the throes of a grand refurbishment, and we enjoyed some amusing discussion about the decor in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved the place,closed to the hearth of bath ,the room was really comfortable and very welcoming.try the restaurant great quality and great presentation.the best restaurant experience in bath for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed for one night, and it was one night too many. The radiator in the room could not be turned off and the temperature was over 32 degrees Celsius. It was impossible to sleep. In addition the hot tap in the bathroom basin did not work so shaving and washing was problematic. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Compliantpete Thank you for your comments, I am very sorry to read that you experienced problems with the room temperature and he water taps. We always hope that guests make us aware of any problems during their stay, and we can them make every effort at the time to fix the situation. I am only sorry that we were... More 

Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came up to Bath the night before to ensure I was fresh for a work training day. The rate I got on Booking.com for a 'cosy' (small) double was £65 without breakfast. I thought for the money this was fair as the room although small, was warm and comfortable and most importantly the bed was very comfortable with good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JuliaP Thank you so much for your very comprehensive review, it is always good to hear from business travellers to the hotel as your experience is often very different from that of our guests who are visiting for leisure. Delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and it worked so well for a business visit. I hope we... More 

bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having checked in quickly and professionally we got to our room and at the cost of £140 per night with out breakfast i felt the room was not even worth £80. It was £10 per person for breakfast. The shower head span round an resulted in all my clothes gettin wet. Slightly gruby shower curtain. We ate out so cant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbeyhoteloperations, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guestyboy We are in receipt of your email and are contacting you directly to discuss your stay. We are very sorry that your experience was not what you had hoped for on many levels in part due to our refurbishment process and appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards Andrew Foulkes General Manager More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my boyfriend are regular travellers and have stayed in many hotels around the country, of all different standards. I have to say, this hotel was very disappointing and not worth the £215 for one night that we paid. If you are wanting a luxurious hotel then I would recommend you go else where. Equally if you are wanting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KatyLouise2014 Thank you for your comments, I am so sorry to read your review and find that we failed to meet your expectations. It is always our hope that guests alert us to any issues whilst staying with us so that we have the opportunity to put things right at the time. I am sorry that we did not... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for just a few nights before Christmas and I was thoroughly impressed! It really felt like they had made an effort to make the whole place feel festive. We stayed in probably the smallest room they had but it was still much nicer than some of the bigger rooms we've stayed in, good use of space. Tastefully designed without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (98)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay