We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Bath hotels

The Abbey Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
76%
Ranked #13 of 32 hotels in Bath
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
jlk703 Los Angeles, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (518)
  • Photos (176)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (145)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Traveler rating
    193
    206
    84
    24
    11
See reviews for
72
218
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Something to remember with these type of hotels is that there is not air conditioning, however there is a fan in the room and you can open the windows. The hotel is only about 5 blocks from the train station and even with pulling suitcases, you can easily get there.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I came to Bath just for the weekend and we both found it very convenient and comfortable to stay in Abbey Hotel. The staffs here are friendly and helpful. If you stay here only for a few days, it is definitely a good choice. If you stay in Bath for more than 4 days, this is probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in better hotels for the price but the hotel is in the middle of Bath so easy to see every thing I'm a solo traveler so my room was ok for one person just a couple of things that made me wonder if the room had been cleaned properly, some of the toiletries were empty,hairs around the bath,and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is a very good hotel to pick for a weekend in bath. pros - the location is extremely convenient, less than five minutes walking to lots of the main sights in town. staff are friendly and helpful. it has lovely decor and a nice feel to it, with lots of interesting artwork dotted about, some fascinating paintings in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to extend our time in Bath due to our 4 year old son being hospitalised, and it was during the time of Bath University graduation week, so accommodation was hard to get. The Abbey Hotel was very accommodating in getting us a room for the night, and helping us move our luggage to our rooms. The rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location is good. Moments walking from main sites and restaurants. When you book, make sure you are not getting any room at the subsolo. We were given a room there. It's absolutely terrible, small, bathroom disgusting and the smell from the kitchen. Breakfast was OK, pleasant staff but that's all about it. I wouldn't stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcia311 Thank you for your review I am sorry that you did not find the room to your liking, some of our rooms are smaller and this is reflected in the room rate. Your comments about the aroma from the kitchen have been investigated as this is not a complaint we have had before. We appreciate that you found... More

Southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for a short getaway and got a deal through an online comparator; Room was okay, but that's all, just okay. We were given a room overlooking rooftops which is where I suspect the online deals are placed. Staff weren't bad but they weren't overly friendly or helpful either. The hotel is well positioned but is merely trading... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IanM Thank you for your review, I can only apologise that you found us to be only ok that is not at all the level of service we aim to deliver, as you will see from other reviewers. With reference to your room overlooking rooftops, we do not allocate according to price paid per room, as the hotel is... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a long weekend while visiting Bath for a friend's wedding. The hotel is in a perfect location to explore Bath. I stayed in a 'cosy double' which was perfectly fine; the shower was great, the bed was really comfortable and it was clean. There is a fan always going in the the room, so it is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Filmbuff1985 Many thanks for your review, so delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the room, shower, breakfast and team to be good! Your comments are greatly appreciated and you are right Air Conditioning and new bathrooms are on the way for 2015. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here in July 2014 and was put into a front facing room which initially worried me as it looks out onto a busy junction but there was actually not too much noise at night, only during the day. The room was BOILING though, I had the window open and a fan on the whole time and I still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah C Thank you for your review following your recent stay, delighted to read that you would use us again when you next visit Bath. Good news, additional Air Con and new bathrooms are being fitted in the coming months, we are just hoping that does not spell the end of great summer weather! With regards to your experience... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely and friendly staff, but the hotel is in need of some real TLC. Firstly I was sent up to a room which was already occupied (embarrassing) and then given a room in the bowels of the building. Bathroom tired with broken tiles, room tiny and desk falling apart. Would not rush to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KaneKane6722 Thank you for your review, I am so sorry that you had some confusion on check in and hope this was quickly resolved. Some of our rooms are located in the further reaches of the building and we do appreciate they can seem far away. The hotel has undergone a great deal of refurbishment since we purchased the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (98)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bath with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city.The Abbey Hotel is a member of the Best Western Group, so you can be assured the highest standards, with all the care and excellent service you'd expect from a privately-owned hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer