We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windsor

69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Hotel amenities
The Windsor
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #85 of 194 Bath B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Debbie W London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    141
    66
    31
    16
See reviews for
92
288
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (528)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (146)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed one night, staff friendly. Guest house is nice but tired in parts. Room was average size, bathroom small - cleaning could have been better! Room quiet at top of house, a lot of steep stairs. It is a beautiful old property but wouldn't say it was 5 star, okay for our one night! Breakfast was average and only continental... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

I'm sorry you found your room slightly on the small side, you booked a classic double which is our best value double, we did have larger rooms available at the time of your booking. Taking our cleaning services very seriously, we have achieved a 5 star rating for 5 consecutive years, I am very surprised you found this could be... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a nice hotel on a lovely street in Bath that was fairly central and very easy to get around the attractions, as well as not too far from the station. Breakfasts were good, although you do have to pay extra for anything cooked, which is a little disappointing given it's not a cheap place to stay. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am happy you were pleased with so many aspects of your stay. With regards to the a la carte breakfast charge, we feel the small supplementary charge is justified. This means we can keep room rates down and not penalise the large number of guests who would not choose a cooked breakfast and have... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here after a lovely afternoon relaxing at the thermae spa, lovely room which you'd expect for the price you pay, but such a shame our stay was completely ruined by guests next door to us... They were partying all night until 4am even after knocking I their door they still carried on and couldn't report it as nobody... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you were disturbed by the guests in the next door room, this is extremely unusual as we do not accept groups who may be more likely to stay up late and cause a disturbance. Whilst it is difficult to police what happens in the privacy of guest rooms, the vast majority of our... More 

Rotterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got the basement room. It really is a basement - with only a skylight to a small dark yard below street level. The website shows other pictures for this room. We asked to leave a day earlier. The desk manager agreed, but later, when we we are all packed and ready to go(!), she told us she had made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

It is very easy to blame the Receptionist for this miscommunication whilst we are both aware that, as discussed at the time, you knew our cancellation policy. Not only was this made clear in the letter of confirmation we sent you on the day you booked but also agreed by you on check in when you signed our registration form.... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night on the bank holiday and it started off well, we'd mentioned it was an early wedding anniversary stay and they had put petals on our bed which was lovely. However that's where the enjoyment ended. The room was average and quite dated with a very small bathroom. The hairdryer was broken and really should have been removed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

You were clearly unhappy with your experience and for that I am sorry. The chef arrives at 07:15 during the week and 30 minutes later at the weekend. We do not run the dishwasher until breakfast is underway but I have passed your complaint on to the chef to make sure this does not happen again. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst the location and staff were very good the quality of the room wasn't so good. We paid extra to have the four poster room only to find the canopy was torn in several places and hanging down which wouldn't normally have bothered me if I hadn't had to pay an extra £40 for it. There was confusion over breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

I'm sorry about the slight confusion over breakfast start time on the Bank Holiday. On a Monday, it is normally 07:30-09:30 but on Bank Holiday, we adopt weekend times, being 08:00-10:00. I agree this is a minor point and should not have detracted from your enjoyment of the stay. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A really good location roughly 10-15 minutes walk from the railway station. It is a quiet residential area, but only five minutes walk from central Bath. The hotel is in a beautiful Georgian terrace with lovely rooms. There is no elevator, so if you have a problem with stairs, it is perhaps not the best choice. The staff were pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review, we are pleased you were so happy with all those aspects of your stay. More 

Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am pleased that so many people did have a nice stay at the Windsor Guest House however, our experience was rather different from those reviews from people who clearly stayed somewhere other than in the Laura Room. We had saved up and spent a long time looking forward to a well earned break in Bath. We were so disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

I am sorry if you were woken at 7am by footsteps from Reception, my duty manager was not accusing you of lying, merely pointing out that she starts work at 07:30 on weekdays (and 08:00 at weekends), she being desk based, was not sure where this amount of noise could have come from?! She felt your comments about her, which... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were delighted to stay in a classic Georgian town house in a great location near the centre of Bath. We were minutes from the Holburne Museum and Pulteney Bridge, and could walk to most places of interest in the city. We stayed in the Somerset room, although fairly small it was nicely furnished and had a view of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you were happy with all aspects of your stay. More 

Mooroolbark, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Windsor in Bath is a great place to stay. The accommodation is beautifully decorated and the location to town is perfect. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was great. I could not recommend more highly reasonably priced great accommodation close to everything and great staff what more could you ask for. Thanks to the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities