We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 188 Bath B&Bs / inns

The Windsor

5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Windsor to your Saves list
The Windsor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
80%
Ranked #78 of 188 Bath B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Pete7-62 Stockton on Tees
  • Overview
  • Reviews (438)
  • Photos (83)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (90)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    122
    54
    22
    14
See reviews for
79
241
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I selected the 5 Star rated Windsor Guesthouse as a treat to break our journey from Yorkshire to Cornwall. Whilst our stay was ok we had been expecting more than ok for the £170 we were paying for the one night. Our room, the Victoria, was located on the 3rd floor and the final set of stairs is very steep,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Windsor for two nights and was very impressed. The location could not be more central but parking is still available right outside for a reasonable fee. The rooms are plushly decorated and are a good size. The staff are friendly and well informed, and the breakfast was great. What more can I say? Smiley face. Like. Highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night in August .had the family room in the basement which was huge and had everything we needed.My only one complaint would be one of the matresses on the single beds was dipped in the middle so was quite uncomfortable to sleep on .But apart from that from the time we arrived until the next morning when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything you want in a hotel. Family friendly, helpful staff. Room was lovely and in keeping with the grand Georgian building and beautiful street. Located 2 mins walk from the main Bath shopping / visitors district. The room was stocked with visitor info for the city (restaurants, attractions etc) which was useful. Breakfast for myself, wife and 3 year old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay at The Windsor, which I booked for an overnight trip to Bath. Given that everything in England is so incredibly expensive after you take into account the conversion rate, I knew that a ~£90 room would not be getting me a spacious villa with a balcony. What it did get me was a small but cozy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An expensive stay at a good location but the facilities were not good. Basement room was dark and stuffy. The air conditioner did not work effectively. Bedroom carpet was stained and marked. At £160 a night it is an insult to expect to pay extra for a cooked breakfast. The continental breakfast was average at best. I had hoped for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Melrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

"Superior" room booked, but we were given a claustrophobic, dirty basement with a third bed made up for no reason. WiFi didn't work, although the manager did try to fix it. I was able, the following morning, to get WiFi from halfway up the stairs between ground and first floor (try working there, while other guests are trying to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Wow, what a terrible review! I was made aware that you were unhappy on the evening of your arrival when the room reserved for you was made up as a triple instead of a double. My Duty Manager said she would put the sofa bed away whilst you went out for supper. You were not happy that your room was... More

Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Windsor is in a terrific location , just over the river to the many shops and restaurants/bars. Staff are very friendly and helpful and provide a really good continental breakfast (cooked one available if requested at extra cost). We were in a luxury room at the rear which was ideal and quiet. We will book again next year -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My single room was on the top floor of a wonderful Goering terraced house. The room was small - probably a servant's room at the time of building. However, the facilities in the room were modern and comfortable - I particularly appreciated the air-conditioning on what were two swelteringly hot days. The bed was clean and afforded me a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely quaint place in a very good location walking distance to the city. Service was great. The room was small but fine for our needs and quiet. Would highly recommend this niche hotel for travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bath with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windsor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer