We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 187 Bath B&Bs / inns

The Windsor

5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Windsor to your Saves list
The Windsor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #78 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Gurdeep S Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    110
    52
    20
    14
See reviews for
74
222
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay at The WIndsor. We had the basement room, which accomodated all 5 of us. The staff very helpful, the breakfast was great. Its in a lovely area of Bath with lots to do nearby with the Town Centre just a walk away. The only one thing i have to say is that on the basement... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had a lovely couple of days staying at The Windsor. Great central location and parking permit made leaving the car easy. The rooms were warm and spacious: the triple was able to accommodate our three teenager daughters well. Our room on the top floor had a wonderful view over Bath and was very quiet. The staff were very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are gratieful to you for your favourable comments regarding all aspects of your stay. You did say that It would have been nice if the a la carte breakfast had been included, however, we feel it would be unfair to charge those guests who don't have a cooked breakfast the same price as those... More

Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I returned home yesterday from another six-night stay in Bath at The Windsor (my first having been in April 2013). When I searched the relevant tourist board website in January 2013, The Windsor seemed to offer the best combination of price / proximity to city centre and train station among the listed guest houses in Bath. The location was important... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

What a lovely detailed review, thank you. It was lovely having you back and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay again. It is always useful to receive useful and insightful feedback, all of which we appreciate. Hope to see you again should you wish to return to Bath. Happy travelling. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a great experience staying at the Windsor. The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was sweet with a pretty outlook. Little disappointed that the cooked breakfast wasn't included - but that's a small thing. Overall - great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, great that you enjoyed the location, your pretty room and our helpful staff, sorry you felt the breakfast should be included in the room rate, but it does help to keep the room rate down for those who would not chose to have one included and have to pay anyway. Hope to see you again. More

Wokingham, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent four nights at The Windsor along with friends. We both had Superior Double Rooms which were excellent. Staff, extremely pleasant and helpful. Location is magnificient situated as it is in Great Pulteney Street. I would certainly recommend this location for a short stay where nothing is too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, I was so pleased to hear you were happy with our great location and friendly and helpful staff, ill pass this on to all concerned. Hope to see you again. More

Overton, Hampshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a one night visit to Bath. We had the four poster room which was lovely (although a little twee… it was very flowery!) but it was a good size and the bathroom, although not very large, was also good. The bed was incredibly comfortable :-) The staff were very welcoming and helpful and gave us great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are happy you liked your room, if a little twee..(come on, we all love that really?!) and that my great girls looked after you so well. I find the shutters on the windows are great to close if you are sensitive to noise, although I am surprised you heard anything at all as... More

east sussex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to bath for an overnight stay as my daughter was visiting bridal shops . Upon arrival , I was delighted with the beautiful avenue that the hotel was situated in . Going into the hotel we were met by a very friendly and welcoming young woman . My daughters were allocated a room at the top of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your super review. It was so nice to have you and your daughter with us, did she find a wedding dress? We look forward to seeing you again. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before reading, I do warn I am a rather tight Yorkshireman, but I am also easily pleased so I feel my reviews are fair. Pros: We paid £165 for a room which was rather small, but had everything you needed and the bathroom was lovely, even if the bath would struggle to fit an umpa lumpa in!! (the shower is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I was glad to hear your positive comments. The bathroom in your room has been recently refurbished, with the addition of the new fixtures such as the shower you liked so much. The bath is small, but quite unique. (We were constrained by the restrictions of the building, so decided to fit super shower fittings... More

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were slightly disappointed by the Windsor given its 5 star rating. The room rates are expensive although we booked at a very competitive rate online. We stayed in the four poster room which was spacious and nicely decorated, in fitting with the surroundings. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Good location too in a very nice part of town.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you were happy with your 4 poster room, the friendly and helpful staff and our great location. You booked at a very good price, through a third party although it is always the same or much cheaper to book directly with us. The only point you were unhappy with was that... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I decided to book a room at The Windsor as I didn't fancy the drive back to Sussex after running the Bath Half Marathon. Having been so impressed with The Windsor when I had stayed there before Christmas, I was sure I wouldn't be disappointed. When I phoned the hotel to make my reservation, I was overwhelmed with the level... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for your fabulous review, it gave us all a big lift to know how much we were appreciated, hurry back. More

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel
The Windsor Hotel Bath
Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.