We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 188 Bath B&Bs / inns

Lamp Post Villa B&B

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lamp Post Villa B&B to your Saves list
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
36%
Ranked #148 of 188 Bath B&B and Inns
  • Overview
  • Reviews (103)
  • Photos (4)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    17
    16
    32
See reviews for
23
47
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I must say that the best thing about this B&B was it's location - 10 minutes level walk into the centre of the city. First impressions really are important and, had I been walking along the street looking for a bed for the night, I wouldn't have even considered this place. All it needs is a bit of TLC -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The good thing was a short walk into Bath, the bad,dead beetle in carpet, bathroom dirty, bin had not been emptied from previous occupant, sink dirty and tiny, barely big enough to wash your hands. Shower very poor, hardly any pressure. At £96 per night very poor, definitely wouldn't recommend or go back...

Was this review helpful? Yes 52
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay. Our rooms are serviced daily and thoroughly cleaned. My manager did not receive any complaint from you and indeed always enquiries after each guest has stayed. We cannot respond after a guest has checked out should anything need attention. We do hope you... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Like in previous reviews, the Lampost villa could do with a bit of TLC. It's best selling points are the parking and the fab location. They took full payment a week before arrival and overcharged by £4, not sure if that was an unexpected credit card fee? (My own fault for not querying, but I felt awkward doing so on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are sorry that Bath is expensive for accommodation. The bathrooms have just been fully refurbished. Parking is at a premium for any city centre. The average cost is 15.00 per night so our subsidising this to 6.00 is a very fair price. Our website is clear that credit cards are charged at a 2%... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

When I say quirky I mean our room was at the top of the house and built into the roof so all the ceilings sloped. Me and my partner thought this was quaint. The place was very clean and tidy and had off street parking. It's only a 10 minute walk into town, but on a sunny day this was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and liked your room. The rooms on the ground and first floors have very high ceilings and are completely different. Please request one next time you come and stay of we can hold the quirky rooms for you. Thanks More

Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week. We chose the Lamp Post Villa as it offered free parking and was within easy walking distance of the City centre. It did both of those things. However, the place needs a lot of TLC and everywhere ! The breakfast was average in our opinion, despite recent reviews, and Dave, the proprieter,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 47
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You were very happy upon check out and did not mention you felt we were expensive. Bath City rooms are averaging 120.00 per night so at 86.00 we are good value. We do not generally offer free parking, it is on average 15.00 per night, we charge only 6.00 to subsidise our guests. You were... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed over a bank holiday weekend for 2 nights and the bill was around £100p/n which isn't cheap, but Bath isn't cheap! We managed to get a space to park not far from the hotel and David gave us a permit to display (I think the cost of this was added onto our bill) The outside of the property... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, yes Bath is expensive and we offer a good budget price with comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. The ingredients are locally sourced and and premium quality. Parking is 15.00 a night on average, we charge just 6.00 subsidising our guests. WiFi is free we are please you enjoyed your stay and thank you for... More

Stalybridge
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Bath is very popular and accommodation is at a premium. There are no bargains. We chose Lamp Post Villa because of its location, it’s handy for the city centre and our daughter’s flat. The price was on a par with other B & B’s in the area. We stayed for three nights over a weekend. The place is clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes Bath is expensive and we are at the budget end. Parking is on average 15.00 per night elsewhere, we have limited parking at just 6.00 subsidising our guests. I'm sorry you felt breakfast was limited. We have over 15 premium locally sourced ingredients to choose from. I will certainly make some enquiries to ensure... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hello ,this is the first time I'm writing review for the hotel. We had very bad experience with lampost. We arrived at the hotel near 1 pm. David told us on the phone he booked a family room for us. After our arrival in hotel he told us he cannot give the family room you have to stay in double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 84
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

You booked a double and arrived with your young daughter knowing full well the room was only suitable for two people, however you said that it would be perfectly comfortable three in a bed. The following day the family room for three became available and we upgraded you for comfort without extra charge. All rooms are serviced daily to a... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the christmas markets and were horrified with what we got. Payment was taken before we had even arrived and £100 a night plus a £5 charge per day for on street parking was incredulous, if we hadn't have paid we would not have stayed as there are so many nicer B&Bs on the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 93
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay although you said you were quite happy upon departure. We always take reviews seriously but the comments I do recognise as being about Lamppostvilla. I would point out all rooms are a 3 star standard awarded by Visit Britain. All rooms have also been refurbished. We have seven ingredients in... More

Oxford
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for two night while visiting the Christmas Markets. The B and B is dated and shabby. You have to pay up front on arrival so having payed for two days we stayed for two days but one night would have been enough! It is warm and clean and there is plenty of hot water but that's the only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 101
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

we are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. We are a three star B&B and four star in sime areas awarded by visit britain. The house is Victorian, the floor board are are 140 years old. We would all begin to creak a bit at that age. The breakfast consists of premium quality, with a choice of seven... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lamp Post Villa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lamp Post Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Post Villa B&B

Address: 3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Post Villa B&B 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lamp Post Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Villa Hotel Bath
Lamp Post Villa Bed And Breakfast

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bath with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lamp Post Villa B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer