We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 187 Bath B&Bs / inns

Lamp Post Villa B&B

3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lamp Post Villa B&B to your Saves list
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
38%
Ranked #145 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Steve U Stalybridge
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    14
    15
    30
See reviews for
22
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bath is very popular and accommodation is at a premium. There are no bargains. We chose Lamp Post Villa because of its location, it’s handy for the city centre and our daughter’s flat. The price was on a par with other B & B’s in the area. We stayed for three nights over a weekend. The place is clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hello ,this is the first time I'm writing review for the hotel. We had very bad experience with lampost. We arrived at the hotel near 1 pm. David told us on the phone he booked a family room for us. After our arrival in hotel he told us he cannot give the family room you have to stay in double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 37
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

You booked a double and arrived with your young daughter knowing full well the room was only suitable for two people, however you said that it would be perfectly comfortable three in a bed. The following day the family room for three became available and we upgraded you for comfort without extra charge. All rooms are serviced daily to a... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the christmas markets and were horrified with what we got. Payment was taken before we had even arrived and £100 a night plus a £5 charge per day for on street parking was incredulous, if we hadn't have paid we would not have stayed as there are so many nicer B&Bs on the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 47
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay although you said you were quite happy upon departure. We always take reviews seriously but the comments I do recognise as being about Lamppostvilla. I would point out all rooms are a 3 star standard awarded by Visit Britain. All rooms have also been refurbished. We have seven ingredients in... More

Oxford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for two night while visiting the Christmas Markets. The B and B is dated and shabby. You have to pay up front on arrival so having payed for two days we stayed for two days but one night would have been enough! It is warm and clean and there is plenty of hot water but that's the only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 59
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

we are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. We are a three star B&B and four star in sime areas awarded by visit britain. The house is Victorian, the floor board are are 140 years old. We would all begin to creak a bit at that age. The breakfast consists of premium quality, with a choice of seven... More

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I am currently staying at the Lamp Post for a long weekend in Bath. Several of the reviews on here are very unfair and to an extent misleading. As usual it's down to those who pay for 3 star and expect 5!! The b&b is very close to the centre (10 min stroll) and has parking available which suited us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your objective and fair review, it clearly reflects accurately who we are and what we offer. Please do come again and we will of course ensure you have a comfortable and friendly stay with us. More

UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just believe the reviews. I am 99% positive on my reviews but this is the 1%. The accommodation is cramped and smelly. There is a smell which is like a mixture of stale cigarette smoke and poor people. There are donkey sanctuaries that are probably more inviting. Book elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 62
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unable to offer a fair and objective review. Spurious and puerile remarks are unhelpful on review sites and we cannot respond accordingly. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Booked and received confirmation of the deluxe twin room in July through their advert on the Visit Bath website for a double special occasion. David called the day before to confirm arrival time, but no mention was made that we were not getting the room we expected. On arrival we had to pay in full before being shown to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 63
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

The room you booked was a superior twin which came via a booking agency. This room had been allocated and should not have been offered offered by the booking agent, we offered you the other twin room with a 25% discount which you accepted happily as we had no other rooms available. You made no complaint at all upon departure.... More

Towcester
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lamppost Villa is extremely convenient, a 6 minute walk to the centre, with a bus stop outside. This Victorian house is no oil painting and reminded me of a small seaside B&B in Blackpool. Our twin room was compact, with pretty basic furnishing, with NVQ level 1 decor. OK beds, heating and hot water. Breakfast was fine, with cereals, eggs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are, as you said a three star B&B offering convenient accommodation close to the city centre. We have just completed an upgrade of bathrooms to a five star standard. The beds are clean with orthopaedic matresses, very comfortable, with the breakfast of premium quality. As you have correctly stated, the management are very helpful... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

There are a lot of Bed and Breakfasts on this road and the location is great. Having experienced the competition in a neighbouring B&B recently (which was sadly full this time) we were alarmed at how little effort is exerted in trying to meet the needs of the guest in this bed and breakfast considering the very hot competition only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 76
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

I am sorry wherever you stayed was certainly not Lamppostvilla! I am the owner and do not cook breakfast but have a competent breakfast chef and waitresses to take care of guests and attend to there every need. I also have a manager who takes care of visitors. As the owner I am able to greet guests and hopefully enhance... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just back from a weekend in Bath and cant understand some of the negative reviews, as we had 4 double rooms and although there were some minor issues (ie water pressure not great on the shower in my room) overall we were very happy with our stay. David was very friendly and welcoming, and was happy to share his local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and objective review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again.Yes, David my manager is a genuine and friendly helpful person, thank you for saying so, We have just completed a bathroom upgrade to make things even more enjoyable. Thanks again. More

Been to Lamp Post Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Post Villa B&B

Also Known As:
Lamp Post Villa Hotel Bath
Lamp Post Villa Bed And Breakfast
Lamp Post Villa Hotel
Address: 3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Post Villa is an elegant Victorian Townhouse offering quality en-suite B&B accommodation with car parking in the center of Bath. Located just a few minutes walk from the city center, we cater for tourists and business people alike and aim to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The friendliest B&B in Bath. Just ten minutes walk from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamp Post Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Post Villa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.