We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cromwells Hotel

11 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1EN, England
Hotel amenities
Cromwells Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #31 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
stephendY6085IL West Midlands, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    45
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
6
77
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel lots of character enjoyed the meal on the open courtyard ,the room had a four poster bed and was very clean the only complaint we had was we could not open the window so the room was very hot however in the morning we found a fan in the wardrobe.the breakfast was brilliant and the staff were great.well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A quirky old historic pub / restaurant with tastefully themed rooms in keeping with the age of the building. A beer garden / extension to the restaurant was a little sun trap at the back of the hotel and we ate there each night as the food was of a very good quality and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Stayed two nights when in town for a wedding - room small but comfortable - breakfast freshly cooked and good quality - if you don't want noise don't book a room above a wine bar!! Parking nearby in NCP - £7.20 per day. Would stay again - great location and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Hotel should be closed. Electrics in room weren't working so couldn't plug anything in. Bed side lights bulbs broke. Very uncomfortable bed. Filthy behind bed. The workmen woke us up at 6.45am by admission of staff hotel should be closed whilst works on going. An extremely noisy hotel would never stay here again. The breakfast was worst I've ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

The workmen started at 7.50am and not 6.45am as you stated. The work was urgent and you were not charged for your stay due to the interruption for which we apologised. More 

Travelers are raving about these Shrewsbury hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Nice little place. We came by train and out was an easy 5-10 min walk from the station. We had room 1, which was a bit noisy until the bar closed at around 11 but after that pretty quiet. It's a lovely old building and we had a very nice meal when we arrived. Good location for wandering around town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Bar was lovely with great wine and great food, pretty reasonably priced. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Room was very small but cosy. Definitely needs some redecorating though. Exposed wires in the bathroom, paint peeling from the roof of the shower and a mass of cobwebs behind the bathroom sink. The tv is tiny as well! That didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

the pictures I'd seen on line. Obviously a good photographer as I felt a little disappointed by the room when I got there. However, that aside, it was perfectly functional and had a great bathroom. The only gripe was the flat screen TV which is specifically mentioned on booking.com is only slightly bigger than an iPad and has regular fits.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed here overnight with friends for my wife's birthday. Excellent,friendly welcome,our room was small but comfy,our friends paid more and had a large room with four poster bed.Great breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Arrived at B&B after 2 laps of town trying to find a parking space. Lovely quirky very old building. We where shown to our room by one of the bar staff who was very friendly. The room its self was more like a glorified closet, i have never stayed in a room so small. The bed was very uncomfy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We had a great stay, staff were friendly, great breakfast. WiFi was not easily accessed., if at all. We had a faulty shower unit, which was not passed on to us on our arrival, only in the morning when we went for shower, we couldn't use it as we live 10 miles away we left it, but on checkout we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay