We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cromwells Hotel

11 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1EN, England
Hotel amenities
Cromwells Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #34 of 55 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015
YorkshireCate yorkshire
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
6
75
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Stayed two nights when in town for a wedding - room small but comfortable - breakfast freshly cooked and good quality - if you don't want noise don't book a room above a wine bar!! Parking nearby in NCP - £7.20 per day. Would stay again - great location and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Hotel should be closed. Electrics in room weren't working so couldn't plug anything in. Bed side lights bulbs broke. Very uncomfortable bed. Filthy behind bed. The workmen woke us up at 6.45am by admission of staff hotel should be closed whilst works on going. An extremely noisy hotel would never stay here again. The breakfast was worst I've ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

The workmen started at 7.50am and not 6.45am as you stated. The work was urgent and you were not charged for your stay due to the interruption for which we apologised. More 

Travelers are raving about these Shrewsbury hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Nice little place. We came by train and out was an easy 5-10 min walk from the station. We had room 1, which was a bit noisy until the bar closed at around 11 but after that pretty quiet. It's a lovely old building and we had a very nice meal when we arrived. Good location for wandering around town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Bar was lovely with great wine and great food, pretty reasonably priced. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Room was very small but cosy. Definitely needs some redecorating though. Exposed wires in the bathroom, paint peeling from the roof of the shower and a mass of cobwebs behind the bathroom sink. The tv is tiny as well! That didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

the pictures I'd seen on line. Obviously a good photographer as I felt a little disappointed by the room when I got there. However, that aside, it was perfectly functional and had a great bathroom. The only gripe was the flat screen TV which is specifically mentioned on booking.com is only slightly bigger than an iPad and has regular fits.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed here overnight with friends for my wife's birthday. Excellent,friendly welcome,our room was small but comfy,our friends paid more and had a large room with four poster bed.Great breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Arrived at B&B after 2 laps of town trying to find a parking space. Lovely quirky very old building. We where shown to our room by one of the bar staff who was very friendly. The room its self was more like a glorified closet, i have never stayed in a room so small. The bed was very uncomfy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grenoble, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We had a great stay, staff were friendly, great breakfast. WiFi was not easily accessed., if at all. We had a faulty shower unit, which was not passed on to us on our arrival, only in the morning when we went for shower, we couldn't use it as we live 10 miles away we left it, but on checkout we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newtown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Our check in was simple and directed to parking close by.was able to check in earlier than stated time so worth a call beforehand. Lovely clean room, friendly bar area, fabulous breakfast nothing was too much trouble. Was a lovely place to stay will return.again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We have just stayed for two nights at this fantastic inn and restaurant in the centre of Shrewsbury. This place is packed full of charm and atmosphere and all the staff were second to none - so very pleasant and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and very clean. We ate in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities