We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cromwells Hotel

11 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1EN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Cromwells Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    49
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
6
83
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Still worth a rating of 4 even though there was a mix-up with our room. When we turned up someone else had our 4-poster room & no more rooms available. We were offered a staff bedroom (6) for free or a move to a choice of 2 more hotels close by. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, if they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a nice little place, had the 4 poster bed (very comfortable), the staff were all very friendly. A bit noisy of an evening with the outside patio & decking always in use. Food was excellent, with something special on most nights from what I could see & reasonably priced as well. Breakfast was everything you want & literally nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff and management here are fantastic. Enthusiastic and super friendly, loved it as soon as we came in. Hubby said his beer wasn't great. We chose superior four poster, the room itself is lovely, great size tv and lovely bathroom. Spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. I didn't sleep well at all sadly. Mattress is so hard, it actually made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We enjoyed our stay here and will be back in the near future. Room was very clean and nicely decorated. I wouldn't come here as a family, it's definitely a place for couples. Yes it was a little noisy but there is a wine bar downstairs so you have to expect it a little. It didn't affect our stay anyway.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
telford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

very warm welcome, bedroom was clean and tidy as was the bathroom. Thought it may be noisy as on the front but never heard a thing. Had a drink on the courtyard before meeting family, lovely place in the sun with plants and a water feature. Breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty, tea,coffee and juice available

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Nice hotel lots of character enjoyed the meal on the open courtyard ,the room had a four poster bed and was very clean the only complaint we had was we could not open the window so the room was very hot however in the morning we found a fan in the wardrobe.the breakfast was brilliant and the staff were great.well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

A quirky old historic pub / restaurant with tastefully themed rooms in keeping with the age of the building. A beer garden / extension to the restaurant was a little sun trap at the back of the hotel and we ate there each night as the food was of a very good quality and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Stayed two nights when in town for a wedding - room small but comfortable - breakfast freshly cooked and good quality - if you don't want noise don't book a room above a wine bar!! Parking nearby in NCP - £7.20 per day. Would stay again - great location and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Hotel should be closed. Electrics in room weren't working so couldn't plug anything in. Bed side lights bulbs broke. Very uncomfortable bed. Filthy behind bed. The workmen woke us up at 6.45am by admission of staff hotel should be closed whilst works on going. An extremely noisy hotel would never stay here again. The breakfast was worst I've ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

The workmen started at 7.50am and not 6.45am as you stated. The work was urgent and you were not charged for your stay due to the interruption for which we apologised. More 

Travelers are raving about these Shrewsbury hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Nice little place. We came by train and out was an easy 5-10 min walk from the station. We had room 1, which was a bit noisy until the bar closed at around 11 but after that pretty quiet. It's a lovely old building and we had a very nice meal when we arrived. Good location for wandering around town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre
0.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#12 of 14 in Shrewsbury
3.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
#25 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#24 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Draper's Hall
Draper's Hall
#16 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay