We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Shrewsbury hotels

Abbots Mead Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Julians Friars, Shrewsbury SY1 1XL, England
Hotel amenities
Abbots Mead Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Abbots Mead Hotel to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Shrewsbury
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
RStill Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    21
    14
    4
See reviews for
3
33
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely room on the top floor, clean and comfortable not exceptionally large but was more than enough for our needs for a 2 night stay. We were looked after very well, a warm welcome upon arrival. The breakfast was lovely well cooked and presented, lots of toast and tea/coffee. Excellent location in the centre of town, nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irby
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having decided to go to an away football match we tied it in with an away night at this lovely little hotel close to the town centre. It is within easy walking distance of all the real ale pubs and lovely restaurants. The owner , when he knew that there were no taxis available to take us to the football... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Having stayed in Shrewsbury before we knew how difficult it is to get a central hotel with car parking. The Abbots Mead was recommended by friends & we were glad we took their advice. We were given a warm welcome and our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and served by a friendly and attentive member of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

stayed at abbots mead years ago.area has changed,but hotel still so friendly and relaxed.loved the bar area,and sitting in tv lounge.had great chat with barry the owner,and night manager,paul..great breakfast.great hotel..wont leave it so long next time to visit..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here with colleagues for a 2 day meeting, very friendly and helpful staff, quiet location close to river, park and town centre. The hotel is at lower end of a steep hill into the town centre. The breakfast selection is small but plentiful, sausages are very tasty. Nice size garden to relax in too. Room would have benefited by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is quite well situated about 5-10 mins walk from city centre and near the excellent riverside walk. The staff are very friendly and the full english breakdast was quite good.Whilst the room was clean, it was small and basic. It was OK for a group of men having a few days in town. So OK but not spectacular... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were given Room 17, which is in the basement, and rather dark. It didn't have normal drains but one of those waste-mashing machines (?sanilav?). This choked up at bedtime and neither the bath nor the loo would empty at all thereafter (so we couldn't use them again during our stay). When we reported this in the morning the proprietor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
andrew197108, Owner at Abbots Mead Hotel, responded to this review

Again very sorry about the problem with are saniflow system , it is not a problem that happens all the time as you suggested if this was the case we would not use the room. Some times things breakdown, you did forget to mention that i did offer you another room to use which you declined the offer. Rm 17... More

Durham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is situated in the town centre, a short walk from restaurants and shops. It is slightly difficult to find at first because of the one way system in the town. There are parking places at the hotel, they are cosy and doubled up, so you have to leave your keys if you are blocking someone in, fair enough!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stoke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Abbots Mead last night, me for the first time, some colleagues have stayed regularly, and I would have no hesitation in recommending the place. The building is tucked down an attractive close near the river and a short walk from all the historic attractions of Shrewsbury. I was in a single room on the 3rd floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay at Abbots Mead Hotel and I can honestly stay if I were staying in Shrewsbury again, I would not hesitate to return. We went with our 2 dogs (retrievers) and were originally allocated the basement room; however, given the recent spell of bad weather and flooding, we were given another room (number 15), on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage Abbots Mead Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Abbots Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Mead Hotel

Address: St. Julians Friars, Shrewsbury SY1 1XL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbots Mead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Abbots Mead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Mead Shrewsbury

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Abbots Mead Hotel