We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Silverton Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
9 - 10 Frankwell, Shrewsbury, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Silverton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Silverton Hotel
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    39
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
97
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (169)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked to stay for one night in may as we were going to a show at Shrewsbury theatre and the hotel is only a few minutes walk away. On arrival the lady who checked us in was very welcoming and friendly and showed us to our room and explained how to use everything and where everything was. She made sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Perfect from start to finish. We wanted somewhere close to the theatre and you can't really get much closer than this. Couldn't fault the service, we were shown the room on arrival in person which was spotless with some very nice features from the iPod docking system player, to a fridge with fresh milk for morning tea. Pre theatre meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Silverton Hotel was selected at short notice from other references when my wife and I required a night in Shrewsbury for an early business appointment the following day. The friendly staff, extremely clean accommodation and location made this an excellent choice. The rooms were well equipped, a reasonable size and the shower room obviously recently refurbished. We eat breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silverton H, Owner at The Silverton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to the Silverton on your next visit to Shrewsbury. More 

Burton on trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we never managed to stay here due to the regatta that our daughter being in was cancelled.. We understand the cancellation policy but it was a little disheartening that we weren't allowed to change the date! The regatta was cancelled at such short notic so we couldn't give any more notice than we did, £100 is a lot to pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silverton H, Owner at The Silverton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I understand that you are unhappy about not being able to change your dates. However as you will appreciate you cancelled your room which was booked Friday and Saturday Night on the Friday afternoon. We were unable to re let the room at such short notice and as our cancellation policy is 24 hours notice... More 

SOUTHAMPTON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Silverton has an unassuming exterior - more like a cafe/bar than a hotel, but the rooms, all upstairs are clean, comfortable and of a good size. The hotel is on a main road near to the Welsh bridge and our room was overlooking the road. We were given ear plugs in case of noise but did not use them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silverton H, Owner at The Silverton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Shrewsbury. More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

What a disappointment, the hotel and restaurant lived up to the description when we entered the staff were courteous rather than friendly and the prices not over the top with a great deal on food reduction due to staying there. Why the disappointment - Road noise the room overlooking the main road into Shrewsbury along with the main route out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silverton H, Owner at The Silverton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are on the main road into Shrewsbury and some guests do mention the noise of traffic, we have double glazing and provide ear plugs in the front facing bedrooms. We are currently looking at other options to reduce the noise experience for our guests. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Lovely little boutique hotel. Staff were helpful and attentive and made us feel very welcome. We stayed for food on the Satuday night and had steak deal - it was good value and the fillet steak was fabulous!! There was live music on so was lively but a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Rooms were comfortable and even had ear plugs provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I was deciding where to have breakfast and remembered the sign outside the hotel full english breakfast for £5 too good to be true for Shrewsbury and I was not disappointed the Breakfast was amazing service was great I will be returning. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

A really lovely place to stay - staff very helpful, food good, bedroom clean and comfortable, safe parking. Only downside was very loud, live music till very late on Saturday night (supposed to finish at 10.30pm but didn't). As ground floor is either bar area or restaurant, noise probably to be expected but we were on the second floor. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silverton H, Owner at The Silverton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the live music, we have live music every Friday and Saturday night and the music always finishes at 11pm. Some of the Acts play 8 - 10.30 others 8.30pm - 11pm. I am sorry you did not appreciate the entertainment, however most of our... More 

Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We stayed here for the night after attending a Wine Tasting at Tanners in Shrewsbury after checking out Trip Advisor. So glad we did. A lovely little place with good service and good staff. Nice modern room called Caradoc which overlooked the street. Comfortable bed, great shower and bathroom and a decent sized cupboard with hangers. TV, tea and coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities