We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Staindrop Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Offers & Announcements
Book direct
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staindrop Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Staindrop Lodge
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    51
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
63
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

By misfortune I needed a local hotel, had just come out of hospital and my Wife and Kids had continued with the holiday I was unable to go on. As I live only a few minutes away it seemed a logical choice but I had heard some negative comments re the food and service. I can only assume these comments... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
warwickshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed just for one night in an executive room very spacious and comfortable cannot fault really food was excellent and staff friendly. Not that near to city centre need a car to get there about 10 minutes away from meadow hall. Enjoyed the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing really wrong with room, even though I think we had an upgrade, but much attention is given to decorations which you either love or fail to see point. For a low building, there are lots of needless steps which are annoying. Car park great, easy to find and reasonably quiet, although hotel is linked to the pub next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Needed to stay in the area and my usual haunt was full. The Staindrop Lodge look to meet my needs and it certainly came up to expectations. A large room with sofa and a spacious bathroom met every need. An art deco style was an added bonus. The bed was on the small side which was a shame as there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We booked our wedding at Staindrop as we go regularly for meals with the family, and have always had good experiences, they didn't let us down on our wedding day, nothing was too much trouble and we were helped along every stage of the wedding process by Rachel the wedding coordinator, all the staff, from Rachel to receptionists to bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We love this hotel and have stayed a few times. Exceptionally clean and comfortable with spacious rooms, art deco pictures and fabulous food cooked and served to order, including the fantastic breakfast with lots of choice for everything. Staff helpful and pleasant. It's just a wonderful place and cannot wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We booked as a party of six to stay again as we visited friends nearby. On the morning of travel, our elder daughter was rather poorly with this coughing/cold bug, so was unable to go. Our younger daughter who had arranged the booking immediately notified the hotel, and was told not to worry, and that no charge would be payable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and found it to be perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was spotless and very comfortable. Our breakfast was beautiful and the waitress couldn't have been more helpful. Would recommend this to anyone can't wait to go back in July.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Lovely fittings, nice clean room, great shower and a nice bar/restaurant attached. Was all good until breakfast when we entered the dining room and could not find a member of staff or a clean table. All but one of the tables was covered in dirty plates, half eaten breakfasts etc. It looked really messy. The cold fridge had not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy561, Manager at Staindrop Lodge, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read your review. We do not expect any of our guests to experience such service. I hope you can appreciate it is very hard for us to cover a breakfast shift as it is very short notice for any other staff member to cover. However, this is not an excuse. Should you read other reviews... More 

Bamber Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Spent a weekend here with my partner. First noticed great parking facilities. Arrived to be greeted by a lovely and polite lady. There are no lifts for those with low mobility so I would suggest definitely making sure you get accessible rooms. The room was beautiful, much larger than anticipated, very spacious and clean. All staff encountered were polite. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay