We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Staindrop Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Special Offer
FREE PARKING & BREAKFAST
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staindrop Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Staindrop Lodge
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    50
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
60
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our wedding at Staindrop as we go regularly for meals with the family, and have always had good experiences, they didn't let us down on our wedding day, nothing was too much trouble and we were helped along every stage of the wedding process by Rachel the wedding coordinator, all the staff, from Rachel to receptionists to bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love this hotel and have stayed a few times. Exceptionally clean and comfortable with spacious rooms, art deco pictures and fabulous food cooked and served to order, including the fantastic breakfast with lots of choice for everything. Staff helpful and pleasant. It's just a wonderful place and cannot wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked as a party of six to stay again as we visited friends nearby. On the morning of travel, our elder daughter was rather poorly with this coughing/cold bug, so was unable to go. Our younger daughter who had arranged the booking immediately notified the hotel, and was told not to worry, and that no charge would be payable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and found it to be perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was spotless and very comfortable. Our breakfast was beautiful and the waitress couldn't have been more helpful. Would recommend this to anyone can't wait to go back in July.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Lovely fittings, nice clean room, great shower and a nice bar/restaurant attached. Was all good until breakfast when we entered the dining room and could not find a member of staff or a clean table. All but one of the tables was covered in dirty plates, half eaten breakfasts etc. It looked really messy. The cold fridge had not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy561, Manager at Staindrop Lodge, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read your review. We do not expect any of our guests to experience such service. I hope you can appreciate it is very hard for us to cover a breakfast shift as it is very short notice for any other staff member to cover. However, this is not an excuse. Should you read other reviews... More 

Bamber Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Spent a weekend here with my partner. First noticed great parking facilities. Arrived to be greeted by a lovely and polite lady. There are no lifts for those with low mobility so I would suggest definitely making sure you get accessible rooms. The room was beautiful, much larger than anticipated, very spacious and clean. All staff encountered were polite. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Oh, I feel mean giving a poor review when good people have served me well. The lady on the desk was wonderful, the girls in the restaurant were lovely but I felt like someone was going to come bursting into my room all night. My room was right in front of the inter-connecting door to the bar and, honestly, my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy561, Manager at Staindrop Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you left feeling this way. Our reception is manned 24/7, having felt this way I do wish you had brought it to our attention so we could have moved you rooms and rectified the situation before you left. We do find it very disapponiting reading such reviews... More 

Nenthead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015 via mobile

Went with my other half. Had a wonderful time. Beautiful big room with jacuzzi bath :). Excellent food. Staff were all really friendly and helpful including Ann at the reception desk. One of the function rooms was hired out for a friends birthday party. We were all really looked after. We will definitely go back for another weekend break and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on saturday night with my partner in the executive suite with king size bed and spa bath. The room was lovely.. Clean, spacious and had everything you needed. The spa bath was nice and relaxing. The bed was very comfy and the room was lovely and warm. We had a 3 course meal with a bottle of champagne... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We were stranded in the snow on 26/12/14 and booked a family room (at 7.30pm). We stayed with our 2 teenage daughters arriving frozen after a walk through the snow. Their welcome was fabulous, extra hot drinks and towels provided. A discounted room rate, on a public holiday with snow falling - what more could anyone want! The facilities were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question