We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Sheffield

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    222
    112
    45
    15
See reviews for
87
201
35
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (608)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (159)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (168)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (159)
All months
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I won't be rushing back to this hotel. I stayed last week on business. First, the location - terrible. No restaurants nearby unless you want takeaway kebabs. Second, the room - the only radiator was in a bay window that was covered by floor to ceiling curtains - so you can either have heat or block light from the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thornbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed one night in the spa room. It was delightful and I would recommend anyone in a position to upgrade to this room to go for it! It was a spacious room with a very comfortable bed, and we know about that both having back trouble, and the spa bath is brilliant. The staff were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear travelinwilbury007 Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you liked our historic old hotel and that you had enjoyed your stay. We do apologise for the inconsiderate behaviour of a table of guests in our restaurant and we do hope that they did not impact too much of... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Have stayed here before and I like the old grand building. Roooms comfortable and as I say Classic. Bar area is where I ate and had a drink. Great old Room full of Character. Beer was fine however, I ordered a Holiday Inn Burger expecting the same goodqaulity beef that I have came to expect from Holiday Inn. Very disappointed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear JoeDeg Thank you so much for your review. We were very pleased to read that you like staying at our historic old hotel and found your room comfortable. However, we are very sorry that you were disappointed with your burger. We are normally renowned for the quality of our food offering, so it is disappointing for us to hear... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my family and friends prior to a sporting event at the nearby Sheffield Ice. The hotel is very difficult to find, you can see it as you drive but very difficult to find the enterance. We called the Hotel who gave us a different postcode and the rest was easy. The building was lovely and I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear Tracie1309 Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you liked our historic old building, your room was comfortable and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. However, we would like to apologise that when your family ordered food in the bar it was not served all together and your steak was overcooked. We are... More 

stourbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights the hotel is full of Victorian charm and elegance but unfortunately has been allowed to fall into a bad state of repair there is some refurbishment taking place but this is going on while the are moving about I stayed on the second floor during my stay decorators were working on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear mitiebob Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful and that on the whole you enjoyed the food. We are currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment to both our bedroom stock and public areas to improve the hotel. We do our best to... More 

Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

....good in parts! Friendly staff, nice room, good service in bar and excellent breakfast! All great but after staying here for probably our third time, second time as Gold members, they always ask what newspaper we would like but it is never ever delivered! Not a big deal but suggests a lack of care and attention to detail. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear Ian S Thank you so much for your review. We were delighted to read that once again you had enjoyed staying at our hotel and liked your room, the friendly staff and breakfast. We do apologise that you did not get the newspaper you requested and we will certainly take this up with the reception team. We all hope... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived we were told that we had booked a smoking room which we were not aware of because we booked through another company,i have never smoked so when we walked into our room(172) that's all you could smell cigarettes,there was a smoke alarm in the room so i dont' know how that works,i thought you could not smoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear moiraw Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were sorry to hear that you had booked your room through a third party booking site and when you arrived at the hotel you had been allocated a smoking room. Unfortunately, occasionally the information we receive regarding bookings from other websites is not always totally accurate and... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night March on business. In generally we had no problems with the hotel, everything from check-in to check out was quick and smooth. The room was a good size, with a nice bathroom. We ate in the hotel and ordered starters and a main - the main came before the starter which wasn't really acceptable and why I've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear Andrew_wyrobek Thank you very much for your review. We were pleased to read that on the whole you had enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable. We would like to apologise for the mix up with the service for your food and assure that this is not our normal high standard and indeed an unusual event. We do... More 

leicester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights on business. The good; welcoming friendly staff who do try very hard to accommodate you. On arrival I was offered a very poky quite shabby room, if I was staying 1 night it might have been okay but not for three nights. Apparently there was no other rooms but an executive smoking room, this room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear Babledeb Thank you for your review. We were pleased to read that you liked the food and found our staff friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, due to the age and layout of our historic old building, all our rooms are indeed different shapes and sizes and we are sorry if the room you were allocated on arrival was not one... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is really marvellous, everything is very grand and we'll maintained, it's absolutely huge, and so was our room. We had an executive room which was number 210, as I walked in I was overwhelmed by the size, the ceilings are really high and the bed was the biggest I've ever seen, another lovely touch which I wasn't expecting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review

Dear Tom D Thank you so much for your review. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found everything to your satisfaction and we all hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in Sheffield. We were also pleased we were able to assist you with your missing wallet... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question