We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wortley Hall

Hotel website
The Avenue, Wortley, Sheffield S35 7DB, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wortley Hall
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this last minute as was in the area for work and got an excellent deal on laterooms. My room was a single, very clean and well laid out. This hotel has stacks of character and the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. I spent some time in the bar which feels a little cold compared to the rest of... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmaf14
leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely from the outside. Spectacular gardens and building. Go inside and it disappoints. The main public rooms are spectacular but tired looking and were cold. The bedrooms were drab and in need of an update. Shabby furniture not enough plug sockets. They obviously get cold as fan heaters were provided. The walls were paper thin heard the neighbors talking. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karen T
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sorry you felt our public spaces and rooms did not meet expectations but at under £50 per person B&B including VAT we think we offer real value for money. We are expecting to spend over £300,000 on the building this year so you should see the few areas that need upgrading completed. Almost all our rooms have been... More 

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped for two nights over new year eating at the ruddy duck food was a1 this year and new year entertainment was a1, at last the manager got rid of the terrible singer which has been on the last two years, Overall the place is getting better the food was most improved this year. worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank logmasterthomas
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words which I will pass onto the chef and staff. I attended the NYE gala night which I enjoyed very much. Hope to see you next year. Thank you again for your review. Yours truly, Johnathan da Rosa General Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family came for a family meal on a Saturday. The food, services and atmosphere was fab. Especially the toffee puddings went down a treat :) Had a great night for a family birthday and would definitely recommend anyone going........

Helpful?
Thank beckx0
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Birthday Guest Thank you for your kind words regarding food and service, we have a great team in the kitchen headed up by Matt Robinson and also and excellent restaurant team. Thank you again for your review. Yours truly, Johnathan da Rosa General Manager More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The views are quite stunning as are the gardens. But upon arrival my room was cold when I went to bed , and I woke up cold. The heating was really poor. The breakfast looked nice but I question the temperature of there so called cooked Hot? Breakfast. The legal minimum temperature is 63° . Mine most definitely was not!!.How... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel Barry H
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, food is probed here in the kitchen and we look for up to 75 degrees for chicken less for beef however we do not hold on a buffet at that temperature as it would be ruined in a very short time. We are having difficulties with our heating in one section. We had... More 

Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight on business. Lovely food, helpful friendly staff and fabulous building. Room comfortable and well equipped. Great deal as well which helps. Good selection at breakfast fresh fruit, yoghurt so, excellent cooked breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Clashtrap123
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you soon. Yours truly, Johnathan da Rosa General Manager More 

UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic hotel, the staff at Wortley hall go beyond their duties to make you feel welcome and have one if the best states ever. From Meadow Hall it approx 7 mile. In the village of Wortley there is a workmanship club which is a cheap place to drink also at the back of this is a little country pub. Little... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karinanjim
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words for New Year which I also enjoyed very much, thank you again and we hope to see you again soon. Yours truly, Johnathan da Rosa General Manager More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently went here for a Sunday carvery as a pre-Christmas family get-together. What a massive disappointment. We had looked at the website, and as it looked such a spectacular place, we dressed up a bit. We needn't have bothered. The entrance was as expected which was stately and elegant, helped by the fact there was a wedding reception going... More 

Helpful?
Thank MillyFromTheShire
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Carvery Guest I am sorry you did not enjoy the Hall. We only have one bar which is used by all guest including the wedding guests. The bar was refitted about four years ago but in an old style to fit in with the style of the building. It has low energy dimable lights for mood changes. I will... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

We have quite a large family so dining out rather than cooking Xmas dinner at home for 12+ is now the norm every other year. In the past 10 years we've tried a few venues around North Sheffield but none compare to the wonderful experience we have at Wortley Hall on 25th December 2015. Meet and greet at midday consisted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Christmas Day Guest Thank you for your very very kind words, I have taken both reviews and posted them on the notice board so the staff can see. Have a great year and see you next Christmas day. Thank you again for your review. Yours truly, Johnathan da Rosa General Manager More 

Bourne End, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Lovely grounds greet you as you arrive at the hall and for Christmas lunch, Jonathon, the manager, personally greeted all the guests on arrival making it feel like a special occasion. The dining room was beautifully laid out and the food was excellent. From the canapés through to the petit fours, the standard was impeccable...and the food kept coming and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ab1405
JohnathanDaRosa, General Manager at Wortley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Christmas Guest Thank you for your kind words I am so glad you enjoyed the day, the team worked very hard to make it special. Hope to see you again soon. Yours truly, Johnathan da Rosa General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (175)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
3.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 57 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
8.4 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#12 of 57 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#8 of 57 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
9.0 mi away
Kenwood Hall
Kenwood Hall
#32 of 57 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay