We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Reading hotels

The Reading Lake Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Reading Lake Hotel to your Saves list
The Reading Lake Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
34%
Ranked #22 of 32 hotels in Reading
A recent review
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    79
    93
    69
    55
See reviews for
24
154
3
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on business, the hotel is easy to find with a Sat Nav and is a quite a way out of town which is lovely and sits on ( obviously ) a lake. The car parking is free and there are lots of spaces. Check in was swift and the girl on reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm writing this review currently sat in the restaurant/bar after staying for two nights. I stayed here for a night last year on a romantic break with my girlfriend and had a fantastic time. I have been working in reading so I thought no place better to stay than here, however I regret nothing more... My room has such a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 1night end of March. They had been flooded by recent Weather,so down stairs did smell very damp. We enjoyed the quiet and Pretty location. Clean restaurant, but a bit soulless, food ok, bit pricey. Our suite was large with 2 rooms, with pleasant balcony over the lake.With such a lovely view, you would think the windows could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I used this Hotel as a base for a trip to Windsor. We got a night + bottle of wine and breakfast for £59 so I wasn't expecting too much. We turned up and had a very friendly receptionist who gave us a bigger room. My wife and I just chilled out, watching TV on the bed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here two years ago and first visit was really great so decided to come back. I have few points for this hotel. I've seen some sad changes/damage from the recent flooding in the area and am really disappointed to see the restaurant we ate in last time was unfortunately affected and the hotel has a smell of damp... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am sorry that due to recent flooding we have had to close off certain areas of the hotel while still being able to accommodate our guests on our higher bedroom floors. Partly due to the flooding the hotel will under go refurbishment in the very near future and we hope you will return... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived on the 15/3/14 to a virtual empty car park which should of warned me, then met by a bored member of staff who grunted and handed me a key and pointed which I assumed was the way to the room. Then you smell and see the state of the hotel, it is disgusting dirty walls, floors and doors. Then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We got a good deal on an overnight stay here and weren't disappointed. The room was a great size, beds were comfy and view was lovely. The only thing I thought was a little odd was there was only one armchair in a twin room with plenty of space for a second. Wifi could be better but that's not essential... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a super hotel for runners and spectators of the Reading Half Marathon. We stayed for 2 nights Bed and Breakfast. Reception staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and spacious, but looking a little tired. The balcony looking over the lake had VERY slippery decking, but offered stunning views of the lake. Wi-fi non... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I booked a night at this hotel due to the romantic location on the lake, it was a special celebration for me and my partner. I booked directly with the hotel and informed them that i am celebrating something special, i would appreciate anything they can do to make our stay more special. I work in a hotel and i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked this hotel with groupon and got a good deal. The hotel was quite difficult to get to, and there was one really narrow road on the way there, with cars parked both sides of the road. I could only imagine what would happen if an oncoming car was to come. One car would have to reverse quite far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Reading Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading
Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reading Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.