We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure George Hotel Reading

3.0 of 5 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    92
    108
    49
    39
See reviews for
17
40
70
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Positives The location. Right on the main shopping area. Easy to get to the station. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The bed was very comfy as you'd expect from a mercure. Negatives The location. Right on the main street meant it was very noisy all night. The general quality of the room. The bathroom was tatty with broken tiles,mould... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading. I will personally look into the comments you have raised. Please feel free to contact me at stuart@georgehotelreading.com should you wish to discuss further. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

OK - so there are a lot of negative reviews on here for this place - BUT you need to put things into context. This is not the Ritz or Dorchester and equally do not charge those kind of prices. I paid £30 for a single room on a Saturday night and was exclusive of breakfast or parking - as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to stay at this hotel for 2 nights on a work engagement. The hotel looks quite sweet and quaint from the outside but that is shattered as soon as you walk in. Be prepared to carry your bags up multiple random flights of stairs, and along narrow corridors with surprise dips and bumps. Don't expect to sleep at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading. I will look into the comments you have made. Should you wish to discuss please contact me at stuart@georgehotelreading.com Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was pretty horrendous. It's in a very old building that hasn't been updated in what appears to be many years. Lots of steps, no lift and with each step the floor creaks loudly. Room is dark and fluorescent lighting is just really not pleasant. The room feels dirty and I cringed when I had to walk around without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not find your stay at The Mercure George Reading up to your expectations. I will personally look into the comments you have raised. Please contact me at stuart@georgehotelreading.com should you wish to discuss further. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the George, after you get used to the floor arrangements it's airily easy to find your way around. Carrying luggage is a different story! The staff at reception and and the restaurant are really welcoming an helpful. The restaurant staff were very helpful a I had a none standard breakfast requirement. With respect to the room it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Mercure George Reading. i was pleased that you found the staff to be helpfull and friendly. I will personally look into your comments regarding the shower. Tea and coffee is in the cupboard under the television. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

West London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Out christmas shopping with a friend stopped at the George for lunch . They seemed a bit disinterested saying lunch only served till 2.30 as it was 2.10 we said can we get food they said ok . Ordered tea coffee and 2 omelette and chips with salad . Drinks arrived first , only tepid , food arrived after ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to the restaurant at The Mercure George in Reading. I was pleased to read that you found the waitress to be friendly and will look into your comments regarding the food and Receptionists. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the face of it a nice caching inn that mercure have taken on which gives them some credit otherwise this would have been 1 star. On arrival I was told I have been upgraded to a suite. Great thinks I but then find that there is only 1 TV in the 2 rooms and it is where the sofa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will investigate your comments. Please feel free to contact me on 01189 5573445 to discuss. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
103 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated a short walk from the train station, The George is conveniently placed for everything in the town centre, however, this advantage also has it's drawbacks. A city centre location can be something of a double-edged sword for many hotels as can their historic standing, upon which a fair share of them trade. This place would seems to suffer and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay at The Mercure George in Reading was not up to your expectations. I will respond to your comments via e-mail or if you have time you could call me on 0118 9573445. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Friday night. We got a nice welcome from the lady at reception, and was advised we had been upgraded to a superior room. Once we reached our room, I was a little surprised at how 'non superior' it was. The room looked old, the bed, tv, curtains and bathroom all modern. Except the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading. Please contact me at stuart@georgehotelreading.com so we can discuss your issues. Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Moita, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Mercure George Hotel is housed in a building with 508 years of existence which gives it unique features that we need to appreciate. The hotel is situated in the center of Reading in the shopping area and a five minute walk away from the train station and the bus RailAir that make a direct link to Heathrow Airport. Surrounding the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review i am glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George in Reading and will pass your comments on to my team who will be delighted. I hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay