We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Reading Whitley

387 Basingstoke Road | Whitley, Reading RG2 0JE, England
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Reading Whitley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Reading
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Welsh-couple11 South Wales
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    20
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
8
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
South Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Quite easy to find close to the M4 at Junct 11 and in the back yard of the The World Upside Down pub. Needs a bit of decorating to freshen it up but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Car park was a good size so no problem parking. A very positive point was the pub close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very basic and dated requires updating to the new travelodge style. New beds are comfy with a good nights sleep. Parking is on site with no charges. Staff ok. Pub next door is certainly in need of a refurb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochdale England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself smelt like a charity shop bordering on an old peoples home. I should have stayed for 4 nights but only managed 3. The beds are nice and new, but it is very plain and boring. The bathrooms have not been updated. Because Ascot was on I had to pay £96 a night as well..............

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to learn that you enjoyed our new Dreamer beds. We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. We do not provide extras which other hotels may provide so we can keep our room rates low. Feedback is invaluable and we thank you for taking the time to... More 

Yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at other Travelodge hotels before but was disappointed with this one. The corridors had a 'fusty' smell. The rooms were clean and spacious. The towels were old and had very bad wear and tear. There wasn't any bath mats to step on out of the shower. There is very little near to the hotel. On my list... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you found your room was clean and spacious; we are however sorry to learn that the corridors had an unpleasant smell and of the poor condition of your bath towels. Your feedback will help us to make the required improvements, we do hope this has not deterred you from staying... More 

West Wales
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
43 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this Travelodge because of four things: - Good price on the website - Only 5 minutes away from the M4 - Family room for 4 - Free parking We arranged to go to the Harry Potter Studios the following morning, therefore staying here was a break in travelling from South Wales. The Harry Potter Studios was only about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently refurbished, had two nights here, everything was great, from the time we arrived to the time we left. The lodge was behind a pub, which did great food, and fab breakfast!! Left some expensive jewellery behind by accident, and the honest staff had it in an envelope waiting for us , great stay well recommended

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked for two nights in June 15, apprehensive as I had experienced the old Travelodge Brand previously and they were a bit tired to be polite. This however was excellent. Clean, Fresh and Airy rooms with great upgraded beds and pillows. The reception welcome was great, attentive staff who explained everything. Yes there was some noise as cars left... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We were doing an event at the Hilton 1/2 a mile away. I have staid in the Hilton previously but for some one working I think this is far better value for money. Clean, reasonable size room, new beds, quiet, wifi (free 30 mins then 3GBP for 24 hours) the usual free tea and coffee. The rooms have decent size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Midweek one night stay for business. Clean and spacious rooms - in that spartan travelodge way. Nice and quiet - windows open, woken by birds tweeting in hedge just outside. But it was breakfast in a box and carvery pub across car park didn't open until 8.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

We stayed here for one night to visit family. It was well located between Earley and reading town centre. When we booked in the carpark was full of white vans so we thought great, this place is going to be noisy and cheap and not maintained. We couldn't have been more wrong. Place has just been decorated and beds upgraded.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay