We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Reading hotels

Hillingdon Prince Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hillingdon Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Reading
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Dominic V Paola, Malta
  • Overview
  • Reviews (468)
  • Photos (71)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    200
    51
    29
    45
See reviews for
71
101
49
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paola, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel several times - its rooms are clean and even provide (at least in the rooms I stayed in) a fridge and a microwave - a draw back is that it does not provide family rooms for 4+ and thus I had to rent two rooms which doubled my costs and there was no discount... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Room was clean with nice new bathroom and powerful shower. My room was tucked away,quiet perfect as I am a light sleeper. Bar lady friendly, bar meal was fine. breakfast large full English with everything you want and more kept me going all day!!staying again in August!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Just left Hillingdon Prince and thought I should comment on how friendly and helpful the staff are at this hotel they couldn't do enough to make me feel at home especially as I was travelling alone Room was spotless and had the bonus of a fridge and microwave. Fridge most useful in this hot weather also great idea that I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I don't know which hotel some of the people who have posted positive reviews stayed but the one i spent a night in was probably one of the worst hotels I have ever been in. The only plus is that the staff are polite and friendly and.......well thats about it! I'm no snob and I was in Reading working but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apolgise to the families that have recently been staying at our hotel as this guests comments are totally slanderous. We certainly do NOT taking bookings for families with housing issues and we also do NOT taking any council bookings. I would like to apologise that you didn't enjoy your stay and request that you contact... More

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

booked two nights at this hotel, wanted a nice room so went for refurbished one...once inside the room, ott on the room fragrances prob to mask out the smell from dirty stained carpets, the blinds had rips in them, in the bathroom tiles were nearly falling on the wall, square shaped marks ova the wall where they replaced no doubt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review of our hotel and I am truly sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay, it is such a shame that you stayed 2 nights and did not tell us you were unhappy giving us the chance to offer you an alternative room. I want every guest to have a... More

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been using this hotel for a couple of years. Now mostly refurbished it is quite comfortable, and the breakfast is especially good. On a recent stay the gym was being refurbished so another bonus. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review your comments are really appreciated. I am glad to hear you find us good value and the breakfast to be good. We souce all our breakfast items locally using local butchers, farm shops and bakery. I am pleased to hear you found this to be of a good standard. I hope my staff have give... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel as I had left it late and availability in Reading was low. When I checked in I was allocated what can only be described as a cupboard with a double bed shoved up against the wall. I mentioned to reception on my way out that it really wasn't adequate and was told no other rooms were... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, your feedback is really appreciated. I am glad to hear that my reception staff were able to find you an alternative room to meet your requirements. We always do our best to meet everyone's needs and I am pleased we had the opportunity to change your room. A few days before... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in June. Booked the budget room, and was wondering if it would be bad. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the room, which was quite adequate, and the bathroom, which too was clean and usable. The reception and staff were friendly, and the breakfast was worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Katy Beeson, GM More

UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel a lot, and this is one of the worst places I've stayed - nasty carpets, trip hazards, hot taps that don't work at all - just don't stay there. Admittedly the location is good, there are corner shops within walking distance and there is parking, Reception staff were friendly but the place itself is ghastly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel, although we remained only for one night. The room was very large and clean, equipped with a large fridge and the usual kettle facilities plus a microwave. The TV was very large and not the usual tiny hotel type. We tried also the gym, which is more a room, but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you liked the large tv, we have these in all our rooms with built in freeview. I look forward to welcoming you back again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hillingdon Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
3:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
91

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer