We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Hotel Reading

4 - 8 Duke Street, Reading RG1 4RY, England
Hotel amenities
Quality Hotel Reading
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    44
    40
    31
See reviews for
8
18
27
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was well located in the centre of town, the staff were friendly, the rooms were perfectly adequate and the breakfast was enjoyable, no problems so far. But my room was far too hot and after realising that the radiator controls didn't work I spoke to reception who told me that they they controlled the room temperatures centrally and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really do value your feedback and will look into the comments you have made. I hope to welcome you again to The Quality Hotel Reading in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Okayama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were clean and spacious with basic facilities, as were the bathrooms. Good central location in town and very friendly staff, willing to accommodate very late bookings at a good price. Others have complained about the location of the rooms and stairs, but we didnt find this to be a problem

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, i am glad you had a good stay with us at The Quality Hotel Reading and we hope to see you the next time you need to stay in Reading. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed there 8th/12th Mar, and was given a double room on the 1st floor. The room was spacious and well kept, I had a refurbished room which didn't smell of paint and was quite happy. The only things I would have liked was a few drawers, the room had places to store bags etc, but nowhere to put socks or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

New Forest
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Stayed here for purposes, room had just been decorated and the fresh paint over powered the room. That I could live with, however breakfast was very poor. One the way up to room there was a dirty serviette on the stairs. Although the cleaner was on my floor so had walked past it. When I walked down to checkout it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. The Hotel is in the middle of a refirbishment programme which is due to be complete end of March. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriosness and will personally look into the comments you have made. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Staff on front desk and at breakfast invariably excellent and polite. Beds was comfy and room warm. A few negatives. My room was close to reception and noisy at times, with noise of restaurant extractor fan until around 2230. Room was a little rough around the edges though very clean. Some of the breakfast items were not the best quality.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Quality Hotel Reading and i loo forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I stay in a lot of hotels through work and this was about the worst experience in 12 months. Yes its local to the centre of Reading however the all pervasive smell of curry throughout the ground floor, a room which had been recently painted (which resulted in waking up feeling like you had been party to chemical warfare) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear that your recent stay at The Quality Hotel Reading was not up to your expectations. The hotel was in the middle of a refirbishment programme and i apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Good value, cheap and well located hotel. Room was basic but everything we need. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was nice. I was impressed that we were able to get such a good deal the day before. Would definitely stay here in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Quality Hotel In Reading and hope you return soon. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Quality is an adjective slightly misplaced here, I would suggest the average Inn at a push. Location wise you couldn't be closer to reading town centre and it's walking distance to the station. We stayed two nights and went into London on the train one day which was brilliant. It's fair to say I wasn't exactly impressed when we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a reiew about your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. I was pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast. The hotel bedrooms are now being refurbished with all being completed by end of March. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

The hotel was basic and was clean and tidy. But the room I was given was too hot to sleep in, got so warm I had to go outside at 6am to cool down. Great location just wish that the rooms had the ability to turn off the heating. Hotel had dreadful 3G facilities and was not informed of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay at The Quality Hotel Reading was spoilt by the issue with your room being to hot. I will personally look into this. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Spent a month in this business hotel smack bang in the centre of Reading. Had many a generous cooked breakfasts and a few decent curries during my stay. Great for business as it couldn't be more central. Is footsteps away from the bus stop at Market Square where the shuttle bus to Thames Valley Park picks up. A few more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to The Quality Hotel in Reading. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and i have noted your comments which i will look into. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Stuart Hall General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question