We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

pentahotel Reading

Hotel website
Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Special Price
15% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
pentahotel Reading
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    316
    123
    62
    29
See reviews for
54
231
48
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (832)
  • Mar-May only
    (183)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (260)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (216)
All months
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here on a few business trips. Hotel is in a great location, 5 mins walk to the oracle shopping centre and restaurants. Hotel bar is open 24 hours and is probably the best bar in Reading, breakfast is really nice. Rooms are comfy and the walk in showers are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basildon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

great location, good facilities friendly staff , I will comeback definetly again and will recommend to my friends as that was a very good experience as has great location and near all clubs pubs perfe

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was located at very ideal area, 24 hour bar, pool table, Play Station 4, fusball table, spacious room, big bed, good size bathroom. One slightly negative thing was the shower had very little force.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel last minute for night out in Reading and then shopping the next day. Was really reasonably priced so when I arrived was amazed how good it looked inside (I nearly didn't go out). Staff very welcoming. Room was nicely decorated, comfy and with everything we needed. Free Wifi, lots on tv and play your mp3 through tv.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here on business, and found that it was a lively place to stay. The bar area is very relaxed, the staff are really friendly and the rooms were quirky without being tacky. I very much enjoyed my stay there

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulogne Billancourt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Smell : What the hell ? Smells like a Aberkomby shop. Could you lower that? Elevator : Some of the people in our Summit were staying for one week. And it seems no one was even trying to repare the elevator generating furstration to everyone... THE SPOON: Serving small icecreams as dessert for lunch. I was asking for a spoon,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ph_Reading, General Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Yves L. I totally share your frustration regards the lift and you have my assurances we are doing everything possible to get it back up and running any day. Regrettably when it failed it turned out to be a huge job that needed parts building so much of the work has been off site. As... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I spent 3 days in that hotel for a conference (that was also held in the hotel). Confortable room and bed. Fresh and nice design decoration. Excellent breakfast and lunch every day. Lobby is huge and offers modern sofa & tables. Free wifi running fine & fast in my room & lobby. Friendly staff. Two very minor issues that could... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, General Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Hi Xavier C and thank you for your review. And as that manager you mention, I do value your feedback and appreciate your comments so thank you for them. It really does help us monitor performance and make improvements. I'm glad that otherwise you found the hotel to be so good and enjoyed the food. Hope to welcome you back... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I had to stay in Pentahotel several times in the past month as all the other business hotels were fully booked. The hotel is clean and very well located with a very good breakfast. However personnel is not very courteous and facilities are poor, especially for a 4 star. Despite being a modern looking hotel, one of the two lifts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ph_Reading, General Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Hi Annal 1256 and thank you for taking the time to write this review. I can certainly appreciate your frustration at the series of events you describe and am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The work on the lift has been a huge project offsite to rebuild and repair parts that has been incredibly frustrating for all... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here just for the one night as my partner was running the half marathon. We arrived around about 8pm. It could do with its own reception that isn't just off the bar, but nothing really to complain about. Staff were helpful when we arrived, let us know everything we needed to know and late check out every Sunday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, General Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Hi jrcope & thank you for the great review you have posted. Its great to hear what a fan you are of the hotel and what a great stay you had. Sorry about the curtain...that shouldn't have happened! And yes, we did unfortunately have a problem with the pay tv last week which has all been fixed. Really appreciate you... More 

Worcester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am very unhappy about my stary at the Pentahotel. me and my partner had to go a night without any heating and my partner woke up with a extreemly bad cold. when having dinner at the restaurant my starter never arrived and I informed the waitress ho was flirting with a table of men, she bought it out and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ph_Reading, General Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you Tyler S for taking the time to write your review. I was most concerned to read your feedback and would be grateful if we were able to discuss in more detail so that I can establish some more facts. You can reach me at the hotel on 0118 958 6222. I'm sorry that it appears that we didnt... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question