We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Reading hotels

Pentahotel Reading

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pentahotel Reading to your Saves list
Pentahotel Reading
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
77%
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Reading
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Oliwa9 W Reading
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    215
    83
    42
    14
See reviews for
35
158
31
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great value and the service was very good. Not the nicest part of town but still very close to the city centre. Rooms were good condition. Didnt eat as lots of restaurants nearby. Will go back again without doubt.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celbridge, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a good hotel for business use. Food is good and the rooms are of the standard you would expect for the money. Staying for business is ok but would not use it for anything else. Beds are ok and the rooms are a decent size. It has a small bar that is fine for meeting colleagues and relaxing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here the night before I was running a breakfast conference for a client. The hotel has a nice ambiance and the rooms are spacious. It wasn't ideal to hold a conference though as the foyer area is extremely dark and the wifi was not also working in the conference room...not great when needed for the presentation to run.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Seems to be a shortage of staff. We had to look and wait for staff when looking for food etc. Staff were pleasant and helpful when we found them but we expected better service.. Wifi service was poor especially as this was a business trip

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Barbara. Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that you felt there wasn’t enough of us around to help you, we must have been taking very great care of other guest’s but shouldn’t have neglected you. Very sorry for this, we will be checking our rota’s to ensure the best possible cover at all times. There... More

Millisle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When reading some of the reviews below I wondered if I had perhaps stayed in a different hotel to the one visited last week. The last time I was in Reading was 8 years ago and what a transformation the hotel has had from its previous life as the Renaissance. A now ‘hip’ feel embraces you when you walk through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted to read about how much you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the slight delay on drinks. As suggested we will indeed look into this as a team. It must have been a very rare moment when one of the team may have been called away to assist another guest. Great... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked double room online thru the hotels own website which was cheaper than all the other rates found online. We just had room only as had plans for the following morning. We came down early on the sat on the off chance we could check in early. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Hi Amy. Thank you very much for your review. Great to see you like what we do! See you again next time .. Best wishes, James Gardiner – Hotel Manager More

Villejuif, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What I found great 2 years back when the hotel just opened was the decoration, the smell and the atmosphere. I didn't know a few months later it would end that way. I guess they didn't invest too much and as a consequence : furniture broken, walls with holes, perfume too strong in the lobby, too much noise from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find us as perfect as you should have. We have a proactive maintenance team on site to keep everything in perfect order. I am sorry if we have missed something and will be straight onto this. We continue to invest in our property and your... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Strong decor, not sure how much I love it but at least it looks modern. But a bit Matalan contemporary, rather than Habitat contemporary. Silly things like the kettle not having an easy place to plug in and two duvets on a double bed instead just one, having a desk chair which isnt comfy but is pretty. Reception is nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am pleased to see there were some positive elements to your stay. However I’m disappointed that there were some points you felt we could have improved on and particular that we could have been more helpful. Helpfulness is our norm and your comments will be reviewed with the team to ensure... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here mid week on business. The rooms and bathrooms are good and comfortable. I was in a room at the rear which was noisy as it was over the dual carriageway. The breakfast was pricey at £15 and I had to ask to get the milk refilled so I could get some cereal

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Nigel. Thanks for your review. We are in the heart of the Reading action so apologies for any disturbance from this. With all the fabulous items you would expect we have smoked salmon and Prosecco on offer too at our breakfast so I believe we’re great value. Try our early booker option or look for a rate including breakfast... More

Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first stay at any of the Pentahotels and I was initially very impressed. Don't be fooled by the reception which looks like an extension of the bar and is really quite dimly lit. This is indeed the hotel reception! The room itself was great, as was the breakfast the following morning - the latter being a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Hi Jon. Thanks very much for your review. I am pleased that on the whole you liked what we do! Very sorry to hear you had a disturbed night. I will get our maintenance team to check your room window as you should have been very well insulated as all of our other rooms are. Hope to see you again... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pentahotel Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pentahotel Reading 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Reading with
any amenities