We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pentahotel Reading

4.0 of 5 Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pentahotel Reading
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pentahotel Reading
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    238
    89
    46
    20
See reviews for
40
170
33
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (632)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (212)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (122)
All months
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A trendy hotel, extravagant public space, and funky rooms. It felt a bit dark all day while working there but I still enjoyed it. Breakfast was good with a lot of choice and the evening meal was lovely. I had salmon. Staff were really polite and helpful. Loved the free toiletries too especially the apple smelling hand soap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wouldn't pay £100 to stay there. When I checked in there was only one girl serving. Had to wait 10-15 to check in. Customer service was ok but not brilliant. Lifts inside the hotel are not that good you have to wait at least 5-10 mins for the lift. The room sizes are a good size and decent size bed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights at this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is well located near the centre of Reading, next to Broad Mall Shopping Centre and 10 minutes walk to the Oracle Centre. Check in was good, very nice lobby area, reception/bar all in one area and nicely lit as I arrived late in the evening. Room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff at reception were particularly unfriendly. Seems like they mainly employ untrained students. Not convincing. Design: everything's dark, walls, floor, carpet .... looks stylish in the photos, but in reality it gets rather depressing. Room was ok.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow, my boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for me recently and l thought it was wonderful. The hotel is very funky and the beds were huge and very comfortable. I have been reading the reviews on trip adviser before writing this and l am bit surprised. We both really enjoyed our stay and one member of staff called... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Jaqui. Thanks so much for your lovely review. I was so pleased to see you had a great surprise break with us and you enjoyed what we do here at the hotel. Thank you particularly for the feedback about Amber and the team. I will ensure this is shared with them. Looking forward to seeing you again. Best wishes,... More

Tavistock
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't use this place for buisness the staff are poorly trained to a point when I got served at the bar the lady at the till could not understand the British currency when giving me the change pointing to a 2p and 1p is this right I have never seen these before ! I requested an ironing board ( you... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Sarah. Thank you for talking the time to leave a review of your stay. I am very sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us and particularly for the issue with the change and ironing board. There is not one of the team that hasn’t been trained in the roles they carry out in the hotel so I can... More

Bristol
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very disappointed with my stay at Pentahotel, so much so that after two nights I changed hotels for the remainder of my business trip. It got off to a bad start with a very long wait to check in and unfriendly reception staff. The room overlooked the main road and was thus extremely noisy throughout the night due... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Edward. I am very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Your points have been raised with the senior team responsible for the areas you experienced challenges for immediate address. I am sorry that you didn’t get chance to speak to us during your stay as I am sure we could have arranged things to... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I’m incredibly lucky to have the luxury of staying here on a regular basis, the rooms are always well furnished and clean with the biggest beds ever. It has amazing decor, especially the massive glitter ball......just the right side of cool without being pretentious. Bedrooms are always well equipped and comfy with fab toiletries. Its always a pleasure to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Mark. Thanks so much for your lovely review! Incredibly nice feedback about our team which I will ensure is passed back to them – they’ll be delighted! Looking forward to welcoming you back again next time. Best wishes, James Gardiner – Hotel Manager More

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will reiterate a lot of the comments. One of the reviewers had said that one of the lifts didn't work in June, it still doesn't in October! Although it says the Wifi is free, it really isn't. 24 hour access is £9.95 a night, not really acceptable in this day and age where Wifi is a business travellers necessity.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was nice to meet you but as stated I am sorry that you experienced some personal frustrations during your stay. We do have free wifi, there is also an option for one hour and 24 hours at super speed which you opted for. I am glad we... More

Reading
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very poor value for money. One elevator out of action. Understaffed on reception desk at peak times (ie at usual check-in and check-out). I will do all I can to avoid staying at a Pentahotel again. The web site hype is not delivered. I will share this information with my colleagues, friends and family around the world. Whoever is in... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ph_Reading, Manager at Pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Hi Chris. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that one of our lifts being out of order and a delay at our front desk spoiled your stay with us. I am really sad to see that you feel so strongly about this too and would have appreciated the opportunity to speak to you and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay