We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marlborough Arms

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
26 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TS, England
Marlborough Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jane101m Norwich, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    112
    66
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
117
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived after a tough 3 hour drive and was greeted warmly and enthusiastically by a lovely dark haired girl who was more than happy to facilitate with my demands and rigorous questions regarding the history of the hotel and town. Breakfast was served by the lovely and chatty dark haired girl who took my breakfast requests to order - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were pleased with our courtyard room but the courtyard has only two tables and they were soon being used by smokers. Our room was hot and we would have liked to leave door open to freshen it but the smoke was drifting in from a couple of feet away. Breakfast was served by an elderly gentleman who was doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights as we were visiting Blenheim Palace and later going on to Kent to visit Chartwell. If your looking for an average B+B then this is not for you it is definitely a luxury B+B. The owners are delightful people, welcoming and gave us lots of advise including the best places to eat. The car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good points:- Friendly breakfast staff, very comfortable bed, nice historic building centrally located. Bad points:- Expensive for just a B&B. No water in room, cheapest sausage I have ever had the misfortune to come across at breakfast. Bacon had been cooked and kept warm for too long was like leather. No proper dressing table in room. Had to stand in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and as per our previous private emails, I would like to reiterate again that we are sorry for any confusion that may have occurred regarding the room you booked and that in future, we will be confirming all telephone bookings via email to avoid this happening again. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights. The staff are very good, the breakfast was great. Some people have said its dark. It's a period building so it has character which is great. This issue we had room 1 is a nice room but and its a big but the room in this weather is like a sauna, the windows do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you were unable to open the windows in Room 1 – they all do open but maybe being an old building they were a bit tricky. Had we known at the time you were having problems we would have helped you. With regards to fans, we do... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel calls itself a 'luxury bed and breakfast' but this is understating things somewhat, in terms of scale at least - it is generously hotel sized and offered a very comfortable place to stay as a great and relaxed alternative to paying way over the odds for much less a few miles down the road in Oxford. A cool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are proud of our staff, so thank you for commenting on both the quality of breakfast and Eliza who greeted you. We also endeavor to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible so we are pleased you were happy with your room and that the double... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Wonderful accommodation and highly recommendable. The interior of the building is classically English and the rooms are elegant and spacious. The downstairs lounge/foyer area provides a particularly lovely atmosphere to relax in or recuperate from a long day of travel - our room itself was equally enjoyable. Everyone working at the Marlborough Arms were tremendously attentive and welcoming throughout our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back one day. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Very nice hotel, good breakfast and very clean large rooms, an old building but has obviously been refurbished. The owners were very pleasant, only stayed one night but would recommend. Excellent location for Oxford, and of course woodstock and bleinham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. More 

Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We checked in late (7:30) because we went to the wrong hotel originally by mistake, and spent a few hours there. Carnage. Long story. When we did check in, the receptionist was very helpful and polite. She gave us a quick run down on the local places to eat etc. The wifi in the hotel is really strong which meant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We feel that it is imperative to have strong wifi as we have many guests like yourself who are visiting due to work commitments. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

bedfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

I've been lucky enough to stay here twice, once on business and once with my husband. Both visits were excellent. Unfortunately I can't remember the room numbers (possibly one and two) both at the front of the hotel (beware, it is a busy road through the village and despite the secondary double glazing there was some noise but I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make a review. We are pleased you enjoyed both your visits and our recently refurbished bathroom in Room 2. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
0.0 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall
Eynsham Hall
#6 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 43 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#7 of 13 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay