We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marlborough Arms

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
26 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TS, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Marlborough Arms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    116
    67
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
26
120
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (216)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked the Marlborough for 3 nights August 4th to 7th. Arrived in plenty of time, had a quick tour of Woodstock then went to book in, this is where we met the delectable Eliza, what a compliment to the establishment she is, helpful, smiling, and thoroughly delightful. We were given room 10, I say room but it is actually more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so glad you found The Marlborough Arms comfortable, clean, and that your breakfast was 'great'. (We have recently upgraded our sausages which are now sourced locally). As you know, we are a family run business and are incredibly proud of all our staff and we will pass... More 

London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first weekend away with our 4-month-old baby so I was a bit nervous. I bugged Sally loads on the phone the week before! But she was very understanding and accomodating to our needs. We stayed in Room 10, which was lovely and we had a great time. We were given a cot for baby, although he wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and for the helpful tips for other guests planning on coming to The Marlborough Arms with babies. We will mention the tips to our guests when taking bookings with babies. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently held our Wedding Reception at the Marlborough Arms. Alistair and Sally were the most amazing hosts,as well as helping with the organisation and coordination of the event the Hotel was amazing the rooms are extremely comfortable and the breakfasts are first class. We had 70 members of family and friends who had a great time. We have booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased you were happy with everything and that we could help make your special day perfect. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your Wife's 50th. More 

Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a wonderful day at Blenheim Palace this was a great place to stop for the night. Plenty of off road parking, helpful staff, very comfortable room and massive bed. Bathroom was clean and lots of hot water. We were advised to book a table for dinner in one of the local restaurants as it can get busy. We ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Woodstock and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day. More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time within the last twelve months we have stayed at The Marlborough Arms. It is a charming and (recently) beautifully sympathetically decorated hotel. The owners have been extremely welcoming and helpful on both occassions with the 'dark haired' waitress being very helpful and polite. Couldn't fault the breakfast on the first morning, delicious. Unfortunately the sausages... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, it was a pleasure to welcome you back for a second time. We are proud of all our staff and Eliza is brilliant. Being a family run establishment we like to keep things as personal as possible and enjoy meeting all our guests. We have now changed the sausages... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived after a tough 3 hour drive and was greeted warmly and enthusiastically by a lovely dark haired girl who was more than happy to facilitate with my demands and rigorous questions regarding the history of the hotel and town. Breakfast was served by the lovely and chatty dark haired girl who took my breakfast requests to order - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments about cleanliness, the breakfast and for complementing Eliza. We are very proud of all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were pleased with our courtyard room but the courtyard has only two tables and they were soon being used by smokers. Our room was hot and we would have liked to leave door open to freshen it but the smoke was drifting in from a couple of feet away. Breakfast was served by an elderly gentleman who was doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you liked the courtyard room, and I am sorry there were guests smoking in the courtyard though. The size of the front courtyard only really lends its self to a few tables however there is another private area for our guests outside the dining room should they... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights as we were visiting Blenheim Palace and later going on to Kent to visit Chartwell. If your looking for an average B+B then this is not for you it is definitely a luxury B+B. The owners are delightful people, welcoming and gave us lots of advise including the best places to eat. The car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review! We hope you enjoyed your trip to Kent. It was a delight to have you to stay at the Marlborough Arms and look forward to welcoming you back again one day. More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Good points:- Friendly breakfast staff, very comfortable bed, nice historic building centrally located. Bad points:- Expensive for just a B&B. No water in room, cheapest sausage I have ever had the misfortune to come across at breakfast. Bacon had been cooked and kept warm for too long was like leather. No proper dressing table in room. Had to stand in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and as per our previous private emails, I would like to reiterate again that we are sorry for any confusion that may have occurred regarding the room you booked and that in future, we will be confirming all telephone bookings via email to avoid this happening again. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights. The staff are very good, the breakfast was great. Some people have said its dark. It's a period building so it has character which is great. This issue we had room 1 is a nice room but and its a big but the room in this weather is like a sauna, the windows do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you were unable to open the windows in Room 1 – they all do open but maybe being an old building they were a bit tricky. Had we known at the time you were having problems we would have helped you. With regards to fans, we do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
0.0 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall
Eynsham Hall
#5 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay