We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 Oxford B&Bs / inns

The Conifers Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   116 The Slade | Headington, Oxford OX3 7DX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Conifers Guest House to your Saves list
The Conifers Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
57%
Ranked #48 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Georgia H London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    8
    11
    4
See reviews for
10
16
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked a room on behalf of my colleague for one night, he was very pleased with the service, cleanliness of the room and the breakfast. Very good value for money and very close to the hospital where he was working. We will be using this guest house for all other stays in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a very pleassant stay at the conifers! Nice clean room with every day clean towels. The most friendly staf and the breakfast was lovely! When we go to England again we surtenly are going to stay at conifers. Greatings fam. Bakker from Holland

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went to Oxford this weekend to visit family for an overnight stay. We would normally stay with our relatives but they have a young baby and we didn't want to inconvenience them so chose to stay at The Conifers instead. On our arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown straight to our room which was an annex at the back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had booked 3 nights at what we thought would be an excellent English B&B. Instead, we were "greeted" by rude staff, shown to a shoe boxed sized room, and charged almost twice of what we ended up paying at another guesthouse 1.5 miles away. Avoid at all costs!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager116, Manager at The Conifers Guest House, responded to this review

i have checked our diary, having returned from a short break. I am afraid we have not had anybody staying with us from Copenhagen in the last few weeks. Do you think, you have reviewed the wrong Conifers. Our relief manager who was here for few days is liked by all our guests. More

lincolnshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Fourth time this year and I never have any problems always very clean and all the staff are very nice and friendly the owner Mrs Bola is very warm and friendly and always wants to help if you have any queries,very nice breakfast that sets you up for the day cannot wait to come back in January after the big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager116, Manager at The Conifers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip advisor and we are delighted to receive such positive comments. We look forward to your stay in the coming year in our newly furbished rooms. More

Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed at Conifers several times over the last 2 years and I have always been very satisfied with my stay. Great clean en-suite rooms with very reasonable prices, excellent service, very friendly staff always eager to help me with any queries and good breakfast with a variety of plates. The location of the guesthouse is very convenient, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager116, Manager at The Conifers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. It is always encouraging to receive a good review on line. As you would have seen our guest book is full of hundreds of excellent reviews and we are very grateful to our guests who take the time to write a positive review on line. We look forward... More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I booked a single room at this guesthouse to stay for a work trip at a nearby hospital. The location to the Churchill Hospital is very near which is excellent. Service ---------- You cannot expect warm service from the owners of this guesthouse. They are not rude or unhelpful but they are very distant. They have no qualms about telling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager116, Manager at The Conifers Guest House, responded to this review

I apologize once again that it should not have happened in the first place. Following a power flush by the Plumber the next day, my staff made sure that all was in order for the rest of your stay. One cannot be expected to stay in a room for 12 days with a blocked toilet. However, had I known that... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Don't come here for a relaxing stay. Breakfast by 8.15 struck me as get them in, get them out, and take the money and run. Never made to feel welcome only met the owner at payment time! That says a lot. Very noisy room from road noise never slept. Horrible double glazing past their best and curtains didn't fit properly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager116, Manager at The Conifers Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry about the broken handle on the bathroom window, we are unable to find replacement for it. However, we have plan to replace windows in most of the rooms with tripple glazed units, that should provide quality sound proofing. I believe you stayed in Room 1, which is a large family room with a newly fitted bathroom and... More

UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked this guest house well ahead of the required date as it was for my wife to stay at for 4 nights while I was having an operation at a local hospital. They took details of my credit card so I felt that the booking was fixed and safe for her. All the guest houses close by, as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager116, Manager at The Conifers Guest House, responded to this review

A confirmed booking was taken for 3 days from 16th October with 4th day as a question mark, with a condition that 48 hours notice will be given either way. I had overseas guests without any transport, with a child in Hospital who needed to stay for another 10 days, hence a phone call was made to go over the... More

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed at Conifers a couple of times now whilst visiting family at Churchill Hospital. It is ideally located to the hospital which is a short 5 min walk away. Very friendly staff. Room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable and when your paying £60 a night you can't expect much more. Breakfast was good. Only negative... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Conifers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Conifers Guest House

Address: 116 The Slade | Headington, Oxford OX3 7DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Conifers Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to create a home from home experience, offering you comfortable accommodation. Our guesthouse boasts a variety of rooms designed to meet your specific requirements, making the Conifers an ideal choice for business or vacation travellers. The guesthouse has been recently refurbished to a high quality and all rooms are en suite. For added convenience, we have free on-site parking and for your leisure and relaxation a large rear garden to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Conifers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Conifers Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.