We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Oxford

2a Botley Road, Oxford OX2 0AB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Oxford
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Minus : - the staff REALLY have no manners, they DON'T knock, a man just came in and told us he want to collect the garbage, when I still took my bath, and my wife was sitting on the bed, later she told me thankfully the man came in right after she wear her clothes. btw he came twice, first... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johan G
YHA181, Manager at YHA Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our youth hostel. It's a real shame that the last impressions that you had of the hostel were such bad ones. The cleaning team do knock on doors and announce themselves as 'housekeeping', but I'll raise it with them to make sure they're doing this clearly enough. On this... More 

Nullagine, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Do not drive here no matter what. The cheapest carpark is 1.5 mile away on a park and ride carpark, charging 2 pounds a day and 2 pound bus to Oxford city or 4 pounds whole day. The YHA is practically built, newer than many others. Right beside the Oxford Railway Station, close to the Thames River, only 100 meters... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mei Y
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Stayed here two weeks ago in the 4 bed ensuite with a 5 year old boy. He's reaction when we got in the room was " It smells like dog!" We are not a fussy family,and we mind the noise it is given, we stayed in a hut on our asian holidays, I can tolerate anything else but a smell.... More 

Helpful?
Thank alonsky
YHA181, Manager at YHA Oxford, responded to this review

Many apologies that you had such a bad experience of the hostel on this visit. I'm pleased to say that carpets in all of the bedrooms have been professionally cleaned during the past week. Whilst I hate to get negative reviews, this is really valuable to us, in that it helps us to ensure that we climb the priority list... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

From the outside this looks like a pleasant new build YHA conveniently situated. It ends there. It is smelly and dirty with ingrained dirt - a patina of dirt has actually become the décor. Rooms though big enough are remarkably ill designed. You cannot sit on the toilet and close the toilet door (how did the building inspector allow this?),... More 

Helpful?
Thank reiver59
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

This was the 1st time I've stayed in a YHA for 25 years since my backpacking days and the brand seems to have had a complete overhaul! This YHA backs onto the train station and is very central. There are free car parking spaces on the other side of Botley Road. Basically, very easy to find. We (my sister and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarah36
Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

I booked a 2 bedded private with ensuite. Clean place a part from a smell coming from the carpet in the room. Quite hostel. Really handy 10 min walking from the center and 2 from train station. Self catering kitchen useful and clean..Staff ok.

Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

I stayed here in early November, having come to Oxford to lead a seminar. Positives: Very convenient location and cheap. The shower has hot water. The common rooms are friendly and welcoming. Negatives: The room was dirty, with disturbing crud on the curtains and carpet. At about 10:30PM I was fast asleep (having traveled all day) and was woken up... More 

Helpful?
Thank lama_pdx
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

I was there a year ago and back to this hotel on Sep 2015 ... No changes and the service still good ... and it seems more people coming to stay at this hotel ... In front of the hotel , there is a food truck from 4 pm until 3 am int he morning .. so if you get... More 

Helpful?
Thank 10RISAL
Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

The rooms are nice, try to get a room on the inside, as otherwise you will hear the trains each time they go past. The day staff are rather tricky. Some have really rude attitudes, however not sure if this is just an everyday British cultural thing? The only staff to actually acknowledge me without any prompting where the cleaning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ghost_of_the_World
YHA181, Manager at YHA Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we really value your comments and can use these to help improve our service. We generally get great reviews about our customer service, so it's a shame to see that we let you down with not being friendly and helpful on this occasion. Now the daytime crew know that they were beaten by the... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

I stayed in the Oxford YHA on a Friday night. The first room I was allocated to smelt very strongly of B.O. and cleaning chemicals. I mentioned this to staff who were very helpful and gave me a new room. This room smelt less of B.O. but still very strongly of cleaning chemicals. The noise was also incredible - it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Merryweather2013
YHA181, Manager at YHA Oxford, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you didn't get a good nights sleep during this stay at our hostel. I will always be very honest and state that we're not in the quietest of locations and we cannot promise that there won't be noise from outside. We're in a central spot in a busy city, with railway lines, roads, bars and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#12 of 45 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 45 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
#21 of 45 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#2 of 45 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay