We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2a Botley Road, Oxford OX2 0AB, England
Hotel amenities
YHA Oxford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added YHA Oxford to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Dorothy P Verona
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    67
    38
    14
    15
See reviews for
20
21
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Verona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oxford is not a cheap place to stay so even though the youth hostel is in a noisy location, it is still good value for money. It was basically clean and decent . Some staff were very helpful, others not so. The thing I disliked was the music playing in the communal areas which was far too loud. Being right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here for a cheap night away, preferring to spend our money on activities and drink! It was a good location only a small walk into town. The room was nicer than I expected - we had a private twin which was actually a double bed and single bunk overtop. It was clean and had nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA181, Manager at YHA Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hostel - it's great to get feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Oxford and that the room exceeded your expectations. I'm really frustrated that the cleaning staff let us down by trying to empty the bins before you'd left the room and I apologise... More

Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we weren't very satisfied with this hostel. our YHA discount cards were not honoured and we had to sleep in separate dorms (they are gender segregated). my room was overbooked - a guy came in at 2am looking for his bed, and there were none left in this room. the staff were not very helpful either when we enquired about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA181, Manager at YHA Oxford, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at the hostel last year. Staff, facilities and procedures have changed in the year since your visit as we're always trying to improve and act upon all feedback. I'm confident that staff now would be helpful with questions about sightseeing, especially since we've recently set up a partnership... More

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The good things: Location is good, only takes about 10-15 mins to walk into town and good access to the train station. The room we stayed in (twin room with own bathroom) was fine, the bedding was clean and fresh. They have a well stocked bar, and plenty to eat, although we didn't try the food. You can pay an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I had a great experience staying at the YHA, we had a private room for the two of us but we enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Parking is a little bit of a pain as we had to park a mile away at a Park and Ride. The hostel though is close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I was really impressed with this hostel. I was in a room with five other friends and we had our own shower and toilet in the room. The bunk beds were comfortable, room was clean and a decent size with plenty of storage space. The hostel has some cheerful and nicely done communal areas, starting with the reception with sports... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Altrincham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in Aug 2014. Good value accommodation. Helpful staff. Self catering kitchen can be a bit crowded at peak times. But at all cost avoid the food from the on site 'restaurant' . I'm sorry but the quality of the food was very poor. £5 for breakfast threw most of it away the sausages and bacon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA181, Manager at YHA Oxford, responded to this review

Andy, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hostel - I am glad that you had a good time in Oxford. It's a shame that you did not enjoy your breakfast - it's unusual as we generally get great comments about our breakfast and many of our staff team eat here to build up the energy... More

Stoke
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great place to stay whilst visiting the city on a budget. We stayed with our 4 children, great value. Clean and a good standard in general. Facilities great and a lovely cooked breakfast. great place to use a base if you're just interested in somewhere to sleep; though the restaurant and lounge are good.Pool table and TV room. Outside seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

this was my first hostel experience. my wife and i usually stay in hotels and inns. this trip was all 'guys' and booked by my brother-in-law. overall, a very good experience. there were five of us travelling so we booked the six-bed room. clean, modern. great staff, felt very safe. had to pay extra for internet - should be included....... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Despite some very critical reviews, we decided to book the yh in Oxford for a night. We are a family of five and had a room for us. After all, this is a youth hostel, and I think, it's one of the better ones... If you go to a youth hostel, please don't expect a 4 Star hotel. But we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage YHA Oxford?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Oxford

Address: 2a Botley Road, Oxford OX2 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Oxford Hotel Oxford

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay