We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bocardo

5.0 of 5
Hotel website
24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England
The Bocardo
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #54 of 83 Oxford B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Sherietan
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
23
42
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had planned a trip to oxford with my family to visit my brother, but because of a family emergency, had to cancel my trip just 2 days before. According to the policy of the hotel, I would have been charged the full price. However, I called up the hotel and spoke to Darren, and he was willing to transfer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which we value, and we always try and do our best for our guests. So pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Even at back of hotel it is impossible to sleep with loud generator sound whole night, topped off with early morning visit of refuse collectors. Reception very keen to obtain payment for second night and just helped themselves before I had chance. Opaque glass in bedroom with old windows does not add to whole experience, lots of stairs and no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, however the City centre location is noisy and we are in the process of replacing all windows, to help minimise external noises that are beyond our control. We hope on your next visit this will be the case. More 

Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was dreading staying at this hotel afte reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised. My room was clean the bathroom was lovely, my only complaint would be that the windows were all heavily frosted so it was impossible to see out. There was no problem with noise but this may be because it was a Wednesday evening. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your recommendation, and when the windows are replaced we look forward to our guests being even more pleasantly surprised. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Options in the centre of Oxford are extremely limited, so the Bocardo is really the best value for money option available. Rooms are compact, but beds are extremely comfortable, and the excellent heating/AC system means that there is no need to open the double-glazed windows (essential for those facing the street - there's a bar opposite, and plenty of night-time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

It is re assuring for us at the Bocardo to hear comments which illustrate our value for money. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When the revolution comes I do hope it will be televised. This will enable me to hunt down the shysters who market this as a boutique hotel and ensure they are in prime place for Madame Guillotine. What I will do is find the owners, the staff, the drunken revellers and the body odour rancid receptionist and send them a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

We try and do our best, but cannot control the noise on certain evenings, not all, from other late night visitors in the Centre of Oxford, or noise from Refuse collection vehicles, which is very much out of our control. The other review saying best value for money in Oxford is the other side of the review feedback, which hopefully... More 

london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

oxford is not a car friendly city having said that there park and ride service is very good and frequent . we stayed at the Bocardo which was ideal for us as we wanted to go to the concert hall next door .the only problem with this hotel is the entrance its a small doorway leading to a steep staircase... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Some limitations, but as you say many plus points, and we are p[leased to note you enjoyed your stay. More 

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel has 5 AA stars and bills itself as a luxury hotel but it certainly isn't. Tiny rooms, three star decor (IKEA mugs in the room), creaky narrow stairs up to the room and no restaurant. A plastic modular shower and the horrible hotel coat hangers you can't steal and, in this case, fall out of their fitting if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Space in the centre of Oxford is at a premium, we are next to the Theatre, and we do our best to provide clean and comfortable rooms, and if guests call we explain we do not do any catering, but George Street is full of bars, pubs and restaurants, and perfect for trying the variety of cuisine, which most of... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Travelling as a couple we wanted two nights in the centre of Oxford. We looked at several options , all very expensive, but bit the bullet and booked when we saw it was a 5 star, we thought we would have a little more luxury. We came by train and walked to The Bocardo - found it easily using their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

As a 5 Star Guest Accomodation, of only two in the City of Oxford, we offer excellent value for money, and the other positive reviews reflect this, and we are disappointed that your stay did not meet your personal expectations. More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I have stayed in many city centre hotels and this is far the worst,you expect some noise but with the double glazing broken you might as well be sleeping in the street.The green ceiling light which stays on continuously just adds to the lack of any chance of a good nights sleep.The room itself was fit for one person certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anton K, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Given the excellent location, then space in the very centre of Oxford is at a premium, and rooms we offer are comfortable and clean, and in the Heart of the City, surrounded by restaurants, bard and cafes. Many of our guests appreciate the value for money. City centres will always be noisy, unfortunately, and is something out of our control. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Don't stay here. not as advertised !! Broken double glazing and green light above bed all night. Awful left at 3.30am so noisy. Response from management - tough we are a city hotel!! Have 10% refund. Cannot stress how awful, tiny rooms - just overpriced should be a hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question