We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bocardo

Hotel website
24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England
The Bocardo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #52 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
schillaci1306 london
Rate this Hotel

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
20
42
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

oxford is not a car friendly city having said that there park and ride service is very good and frequent . we stayed at the Bocardo which was ideal for us as we wanted to go to the concert hall next door .the only problem with this hotel is the entrance its a small doorway leading to a steep staircase... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has 5 AA stars and bills itself as a luxury hotel but it certainly isn't. Tiny rooms, three star decor (IKEA mugs in the room), creaky narrow stairs up to the room and no restaurant. A plastic modular shower and the horrible hotel coat hangers you can't steal and, in this case, fall out of their fitting if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelling as a couple we wanted two nights in the centre of Oxford. We looked at several options , all very expensive, but bit the bullet and booked when we saw it was a 5 star, we thought we would have a little more luxury. We came by train and walked to The Bocardo - found it easily using their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in many city centre hotels and this is far the worst,you expect some noise but with the double glazing broken you might as well be sleeping in the street.The green ceiling light which stays on continuously just adds to the lack of any chance of a good nights sleep.The room itself was fit for one person certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't stay here. not as advertised !! Broken double glazing and green light above bed all night. Awful left at 3.30am so noisy. Response from management - tough we are a city hotel!! Have 10% refund. Cannot stress how awful, tiny rooms - just overpriced should be a hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is fab for ease. Everything at your doorstep. However if you want to sleep beware there is a nightclub opposite and the noise doesn't die down till half 3 and when I say noise it's noise that I've never heard before it's like you are outside with them. We did stay on a Saturday night so I don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Advertised as a boutique hotel, this is a slightly upmarket hostel. We were told on booking that the room was a 'superior twin'. It was nothing of the kind; rather a standard single with a large double bed squeezed into it. The noise from the air unit - probably an extractor from the restaurant below - was so loud it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted a hotel handy for the Theatre as we were seeing Spamalot! They don't come any closer as the Bocardo was next door to the Theatre and above Jamie's Italian. The hotel is up a quiet narrow flight of stairs so if you struggle this might not be the place for you. The room was a good size and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

this is a guest house with very pleasant staff and rooms with everything you could want except space. Very clean,free wifi and in-room tea, coffee and biscuits is not enough to compensate for intense noise til 3.30 am and heavy beat music from 7.00. Am Vastly over priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Spent 1 night on a Saturday in November with my wife. Great location in the centre of Oxford. Hotel was basically a small room with no facilities in the hotel. Boutique is an understatement. £140 a night and feel robbed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question