We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Head of the River

Hotel website
Folly Bridge | St. Aldates, Oxford OX1 4LB, England
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Head of the River
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Head of the River
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    124
    52
    30
    22
See reviews for
46
154
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Heart of England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for one night while attending a live music event at Joe's Cafe Bar on the Woodstock road three miles away. Good stuff first, the location of the Head of the River is just excellent. It nestles on North bank of the Thames between the main Abingdon Road and Christchurch meadows. The extensive terrace if brilliant for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in with friends, booking too rooms in this 12 bedroom Fuller hotel/pub/eatery. The website sold a great looking hotel in the perfect position. So far so good! The reception at the bar worked well and we were shown to our room, still good. The room was well designed air conditioned and roomy. But then the the lack of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a number of occasions over the last couple of months. Very nice hotel. Convenient location. Lovely setting and atmosphere as right next to the river with a lively (but far from loud) environment in the pub garden. Would like the rooms to be a bit cleaner, specifically the windows with the high number of cob webs around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Situated by the river very central in Oxford, - a popular pub indoor and outdoor, with rooms to let. Airy, quiet rooms and free, very good Wifi. The staff was solid and very serviceminded, breakfast excellent. Price ok. Very recommendable. We will come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

London is exciting, but Oxford is good for the soul. The Head of the River puts you in the middle of it, just down the street from Christ Church college and right on the bank of the Thames. In an old, cream-coloured stone building, the hotel rooms are above a pub and facing (most of them) onto an outdoor patio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clacton on sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large room with complimentary beer and bottled water, sadly there was no milk available in the room for the tea/coffee but we were given a small jug of milk when we asked....but on one of the hottest days of the year this is not a good option. Great choice of breakfast served by friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie R, Deputy Manager at The Head of the River, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I cannot say why there was no milk in your room on that particular day as we usually have flasks in each room. Hopefully we will see you next time you visit Oxford! Thanks, Joseph Hanna More 

London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were disappointed by our stay here. The room was very over-priced. Despite having pre-booked parking, when we arrived we were told there was no record of this, there was no parking available, and we would have to pay (at our own expense) to stay in a public car-park 15-mins away. There is no separate check in for hotel guests,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jamie R, General Manager at The Head of the River, responded to this review

Dear GC75, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We genuinely were not sent any record by Expedia of your parking request. We only have 5 spaces for 12 rooms and these are always full by the day of arrival, so there really was nothing we could do on the day other than apologise and advise of... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is ideal and the beer garden is ideal for a sunny day. The room we stayed in was nice but could do with a once over; there were a great deal of marks on the ceiling where previous guests had squashed mosquitos. These could really do with being cleaned off as it brings down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie R, General Manager at The Head of the River, responded to this review

Dear 87hjm, I am sorry to read that there are some aspects of your recent stay that you did not enjoy. I Have spoken with the housekeeping staff and asked them to re-double their efforts with reference to the areas you have highlighted. With reference to cob-webs outside the building, these are all cleaned on a twice-weekly basis, but being... More 

abertawe
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed last night in room 1 - fabulous room super comfy bed. Beautiful views over the river and a lovely ambience. We kept the sash windows open all night for a welcome breeze. Breakfast was fab. A perfect place to stay as a base to explore Oxford by foot, we didn't need taxi or buses. Would definitely stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie R, Deputy Manager at The Head of the River, responded to this review

Hello Cymrolan, Congratulations on your first review and hopefully we will see you again soon. Thanks, Joseph Hanna More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A tired building in need of external upgrade. The bedrooms were themed but the décor was way too dark. As everything was old the floors creaked as did the chairs and the bed. Staff appeared unhappy - not welcoming or friendly. The dining area had old dirty worn rugs on the floor and the dining tables had what I can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie R, General Manager at The Head of the River, responded to this review

Dear TortoiseQueen, I am sorry that there are some aspects of your recent visit that you did no enjoy. You will be pleased to hear that all of our rugs are being replaced in the next couple of weeks. I can promise you that the bacon used for breakfast is not a cheap cut. We use a streaky bacon that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Ethos Hotel
Ethos Hotel
#17 of 43 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
#24 of 43 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#7 of 43 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 43 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay