We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oxford Hotel

4.0 of 5 Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Oxford Hotel
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    302
    226
    88
    52
See reviews for
89
382
17
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (853)
  • Mar-May only
    (180)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (252)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (263)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (158)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Although listed as a 4* it most definitely isn't, more of an average 3*. The room was clean, which is the most important thing, though very dated, pretty small and amenities were very basic. The hotel is not necessarily within walking distance of the city centre unless you're an avid walker, however there are several bus stops pretty much right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend break with friends. The Hotel was easy to find with large free car park. There was nothing to fault with this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food we had was excellent. The hotel itself and bedrooms were very clean. Had the most comfortable bed. Bathroom well stocked. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royston, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were on the same good deal by Travelzoo mentioned by others which was great. Room all clean and fine, staff pleasant, great location etc. The breakfast room is a bit clinical and canteen like but the food was adequate. The evening meal was delicious but our only complaint is that we were sat in a small walled-off section of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Della G, Thank you for writing us a review. I am extremely pleased that you were impressed with your room and overall your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the fact you felt separated whilst dining and that you were not warm enough. I do hope that you mentioned it to a member of my team... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I had booked a group of people into The Oxford Hotel for a Christmas party night. Communication from the events team had been excellent, but I was slightly apprehensive as I hadn't been to the hotel before and a lot of people were relying on me to have got it right! Fortunately it couldn't have been better. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rinders, I am delighted to read that both you and your colleagues thoroughly enjoyed your Christmas party here with us at the Oxford Hotel. Thank you for leaving us such lovely feedback, especially regarding your room and our staff’s attentive service. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future Warm regards Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just stayed in this hotel at the beginning of December. I had booked it three months previously. So when I looked at a few recent negative reviews I felt nervous as we were going with friends too. But no need to worry. The hotel was in a great position. A bus route next door into the city centre the buses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grace W, It is great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of you stay. We are in a fantastic location, I couldn't agree more. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your comment about the bar prices has been noted and fully taken on board. We do hope to welcome both you... More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Arriving and checking in was simple and put a smile on my face easily. The reception is beautiful and spacious. I had been travelling for a long time, so when the staff were as attentive and polite as they were, it was a big relief. Unfortunately we found the room hard to find, but when we did get in there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear overoath, I am pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is lovely to read that you were impressed with the service you received at check in and that your room exceeded your expectations. With regards to your feedback about our night’s team’s service this will be addressed with my team straight away. Thank... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We Stayed here at the weekend for one night as part of an inclusive deal with breakfast, dinner, wine and late check out for a reasonable price of £109. We didn't come for the the 'health and fitness' pool /spa but my life what a disappointment. The pool is like the size of a hot tub...except it wasn't hot. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shonalc, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am disappointed to read that certain aspects of your stay were not of our usual high standards. I do trust that you spoke with a member of management during your stay so that we could have helped to rectify the issues you encountered. I do hope... More 

Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is December and frosty outside but inside the hotel you can be sure of a warm welcome, warm room, peace and quiet. My wife and I like walking so we had no problem walking the 45 minute walk into the city. In fact with the traffic being so bad, it's probably not much longer than sitting in your car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 609RogerH, It is fantastic to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for leaving us such lovely comments especially regarding your accommodation and the service you received. I am pleased that you had the time to walk into the centre it is a nice walk. With a bus stop right outside the hotel not many... More 

South Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perhaps a bit early to be writing a review ... but we are so impressed that I felt we had to share our experience. We're in Oxford - sightseeing - for a few days. Limited choice of places to stay so when a deal fromTravelZoo arrived in the inbox at the weekend we felt we should explore further. I checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BourneTownHarriet, Thank you for taking time from your trip to write a review of your stay. It is a real pleasure to read that you are enjoying every aspect of your stay. I hope you enjoy the rest of your break away! Kind regards Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend so we could spend some time in Oxford. I am not sure why there was so much negativity about the hotel from previous reviewers because, on the whole, our experience was a positive one. I do agree with the comments saying that it is not truly a 4 star hotel. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pookie19, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the team, they really appreciate your feedback. I do hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford

228 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (14)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (111)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Premium Room (29)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay