We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oxford Hotel

Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Oxford Hotel
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    356
    243
    103
    62
See reviews for
100
451
19
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (975)
  • Mar-May only
    (243)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (251)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (263)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (218)
All months
southampton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very disappointed in our room. No wow factor. Small uninviting bed. Decor boring and tatty. Old tatty bathroom.corridor smelt of toilets. Wished we had stayed somewhere else. Paid more expecting to have a nice room. Felt it was a waste of money. Other relatives spent similar on other hotels in area and had much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very easy hotel to access by road with an excellent local bus service allowing you to leave your car when visiting Oxford as a tourist Booked on a Secret Escape weekend with dinner and wine included and proved excellent value, with restaurant service very attentive and food quality and choice both good Breakfast was usual buffet fare but was hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having read some of the reviews, was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel, but as many of the group we were meeting had already done so, we bit the bullet...as others have said, it's handy for town, room was large (no view but wasn't a problem), bed comfy and everything was clean but needs a good spruce up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not the most impressive hotel, however very comfortable, great service and good food. Wouldn't stay for leisure, however fine for one night. Booked a table for dinner, however would have been the only person in there so swapped for the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hollie L, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at The Oxford Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky enough to have a 'free' night at this hotel and looking at the reviews, wondered what we would find. We found a very clean room with tea/coffee/biscuit facilities (not large but adequate), extremely helpful and pleasant staff, a comfortable bed and a spotless bathroom with a range of toiletries (not a dispenser on the wall). Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kay K, It is such a pleasure reading such lovely reviews on The Oxford Hotel. I am pleased that my friendly staff and freshly prepared meals met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff all very friendly. Booked 2 nights BB with dinner 1st night. For £209 in a 4 star very good value. Room comfortable and food, both diner & breakfast was good. Lounge gets busy with business crowd meetings due to hotels good location. Would return again

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven G, It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here and also that you would happily return to us here at the Oxford Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such kind comments. We look forward to the possibility of your return. Kindest regards Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

looking at reviews ... this is not the first time ... they took pre authorisation charge from my credit card as well as the bill .... in effect more than twice charged twice ... totally unacceptable ... and it just an ordinary hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We do hope that you will return to give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us. Kind regards Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed with service this week. Air-conditioning last Monday night left rooms freezing all night; temperature control failed to work. Poor, condescending attitude from manager next morning-request for refund declined. Unprofessional service. Suggest avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is excellent. The disabled room was all we could have wished for - the downside - the lift is poor and not working at all on one occasion. Not very good when husband is totally Blind and the restaurant is on the first floor with many steps to negotiate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen C, I am pleased that you were impressed with our accessibility and facilities during your stay here at the Oxford Hotel. I am however sorry that there was an issue with the lift on one of the days. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to welcome you back next time you... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked hotel through HotelsUK. We stayed 2 nights (10th and 11th April) and after reading some of the poor reviews I thought I would have to comment! The hotel is very easy to find and nicely located. We arrived late on Friday night/Saturday morning, staff on reception were very friendly upon check in. We had a premium double room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise W, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on The Oxford Hotel and my friendly staff and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

230 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (14)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (111)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Premium Room (29)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question