We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Oxford hotels

The Oxford Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
58%
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Karen B Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    268
    196
    80
    39
See reviews for
84
332
17
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (754)
  • Mar-May only
    (180)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (252)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (143)
All months
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel for one night on the basis of room and breakfast. Check in was quick and efficient, found it quite a long walk to find the rooms and it is a bit of a maze with very indistinguishable arrows to various rooms which was confusing. Found the room to be clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the hotel through Amazon Local. Only finding a one night option I booked that and then found I could not book the second night through Amazon. I phoned bookings and was told that I could not book the second night at the deal price due to demand. I questioned this as I had the option through Amazon of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. A very informative review about our hotel and location, indeed we are fortunate enough to offer free secure car parking to guests unlike many of our competitors. A great base from which to explore not... More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights from Saturday 6th to Monday 8th September whilst on a girlie trip to Oxford with my Mum to celebrate her birthday. Hotel was easy to find, with plenty of parking available at the hotel. Even left my car there all day Saturday before we could check in so we could explore Oxford. Checked with the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a premium room and at check-in asked if it was "premium". "Yes" we were told. We hastily left our cases and moved on to the event. When we arrived back late that evening it was clear that the room was second rate. We just went to sleep. The next day we asked again and were told it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aceofhearts44 Please contact me via trip messagener to allow me to resolve this complaint. Many Thanks Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Merseyside, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Oxford hotel for a short two night stay. Our room was massive. Very clean with a huge very comfy bed. Bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. The tea/coffee making facilities were excellent as were the black out curtains (we actually overslept).... The bathroom was lovely and so nice to have proper big size towels! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. Nigel Hadfield More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean and tidy. Park up and get the bus in to town. It runs every 15 minutes from a very handy bus stop. They go on until about 11 at night. £3.50 return ! Bargain. An amazing collection of local pubs up to 20 minutes walk away..the Trout, the Plough, the Jacobs Inn and the White Hart. Type Wolvercote into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. Nigel Hadfield More

London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Partner and I have just returned from a two night stay, luckily we were in oxford visiting friends so spent little time in the hotel, although the hotel was clean I fail to see how it has earned 4 stars, to be fair we didn't use the leisure facilities so I am unable to comment on their quality. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, I am sorry that we have failed to deliver the recognised 4 star standard. We are focused on improving the hotel facilities and service and your feedback will aid us in this goal. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Positives: Blackout curtains in the room were very good and the heated towel rack in the bathroom (together with very soft towels), were great. Location is very easy to access, fitness centre and swimming pool are good and there is ample parking (free). Complimentary Wifi in the rooms is a nice touch. Breakfast is fine and breakfast staff are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, we are focused on improving the hotel facilities and service and your feedback will aid us in this goal. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here with my wife and her parents for a weekend away. Spent the day in Oxford which was about £7 away in a cab and then came back for an evening meal which was included in the offer I bought. Reception and bar area very nice. We had the deluxe room which looked pretty standard and didnt seem much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel, if you would like to book another of our locations the best available rate is always on our website - www.thehotelcollection.co.uk Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the first time we've stayed at this hotel in Oxford. To be honest parts of it are very good, however check in was a bit of a nightmare, very slow and the queue was huge. Room was ok, a bit small but clean enough. The thing that has put us of is that there are dogs allowed here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, we are disappointed to learn of your decision not to return based on our dog policy. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Do you own or manage The Oxford Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay