We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Oxford hotels

The Oxford Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
58%
Ranked #20 of 43 hotels in Oxford
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Misty981 Stevenage, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (742)
  • Photos (106)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (3)
  • Room tips (172)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    262
    192
    79
    38
See reviews for
84
323
17
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, NZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is the first time that I have written a review bbefore I have spent the night but this hotel is an exception! Express check in is supposed to be available but it was not. The receptionist was obviously overwhelmed with the queue of four and when I asked if she could get some help she said no. After a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Us and another couple stayed here for 1 night on August 30th, the location is great, the hotel is lovely, the room was lovely, the food was great, the staff were friendly & helpful! The only thing that let it down was the lack of jacuzzi in the Spa area. There is a pool, sauna & steam room but no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms we're small, spent About 20 mins trying to find them not layed out very well , not very clean , bed was rock hard so didn't sleep all that great, food wasn't top standed as u would expect a lot better. Shower didn't even work, rude receptionist on check out. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements for the future. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for a night on a special deal, room, breakfast, dinner for 2, free wine, access to facilities. Excellent Value to be fair, however the room we were first shown was small, dirty and in need of a refurb, so we paid an extra £15.00 for an upgrade and the room was large and excellent. Pool is odd in that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyed the excellent food here at The Oxford Hotel. The team are delighted to receive your recognition of their service. I am focused on improving the hotel facilities and your feedback will help us in this goal. Nigel Hadfield... More

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice enough hotel but was kept awake by music, loudness and the bass, from a disco until gone midnight. Tried to phone reception from the room but the phone doesn't work. I called from my mobile and was offered a different room for the next night when there isn't a wedding on. There are plenty of wedding guests staying here,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we acknowledge your feedback and will review these in detail to make improvements for the future. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just spent a night here, on a special deal and thoroughly enjoyed it. However, our room was very small. Peeked into other rooms as they were being cleaned and they were a more normal size, so not all rooms are as small as the one we had. You'd certainly not want a room this size for a stay of more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. I am focused on improving the hotel facilities and your feedback will aid us in this goal. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel's facilities, service and position for visiting Oxford were excellent. The staff were friendly and attentive. Room clean and comfortable. They have a big car park where you can leave your car and take the park and ride bus, which is just round the corner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oxford Hotel on the next occasion. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I got a voucher offer from a friend to visit the ‘spa’ here for 2 treatments. I was looking forward to some luxury pampering but was disappointed with the venue and treatments. Although a very nice hotel, it was not at all luxurious. It was odd to wait in a robe right next to the glass fronted gym. The beautician... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements for the future. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Arrived here 22nd August for a 2 night stop over for a family wedding, was initially given a small double room but as we arrived early thought we'd try and see if we could get a larger one. After a few minutes speaking to the girl on the front desk ( Rachael ) we were given a bigger room. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, a useful critique that will get our focus and re-training as required. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Whittlesey
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights, asked for ground floor room and got one. Clean, functional, and excellent value. Staff, attentive, well presented and helpful at all times. This hotel is mainly on the foreign tourist route and everyone appeared very happy with what they had. We did not eat in the restaurant, but the buffet breakfast was one of the best we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. Nigel Hadfield Hotel Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Oxford with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford #10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Oxford Hotel has 168 contemporary rooms and is just two miles from the beautiful and historic Oxford city centre. Perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and the Cotswold countryside means you can wander through the spires of Oxford University's ancient colleges, and explore the relics in The Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology.You can also shop at the designer outlet stores in Bicester Shopping Village. You can also relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room, get pampered in the beauty rooms and enjoy award-winning food in the AA Rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
168

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Oxford Hotel and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Oxford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer