We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oxford Hotel

Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Oxford Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,077 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    228
    388
    274
    122
    65
See reviews for
111
504
20
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1077)
  • Mar-May only
    (290)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (306)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (263)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (218)
All months
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed there many times over the past ten or twelve years this time excellent service good room everyone very helpful. Regular customers such as me that are known to the Hotel should NOT have to present a credit card and have £25.00 set aside when it takes about 10 days to get it back. the alternative is to carry... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms needed a bit of a deep clean, i was upgraded but room stands were poor. Room was also very very hot and needed to ask for a desk fan as there was no air con. Gym was also unclean and cob webs needed a good wipe. No wifi in the hotel doesn't help, was told WiFi was available in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
North Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good location only a ten minute bus ride to town. Reasonable rooms good size and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good with a very varied selection only negative was cheap fatty bacon. However, the biggest issue for us was we booked online and paid on booking. When we got to the hotel they claimed we hadn't paid and tried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed for 3 nights at The Oxford Hotel. We had just flown in on a red eye from the US and were exhausted. Upon trying to check in they had no record of our reservation. Fortunately I had a copy of our confirmation. The first person I spoke with was not very helpful, I was hoping to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel.The room was a reasonable size and in a clean condition. It had a kingsize bed which took up a lot of room. The air conditioning was good and cooled the room down overnight. It was quiet at night and no noise from anywhere. Tea and coffee in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AdeDerbyEngland, What a lovely review! I am thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us, from your room and king-size bed to your tasty breakfast in the morning. Thank you ever so much for leaving us your feedback. We do hope that you will use us as your base next time you are exploring the... More 

Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a double and a twin room at The Oxford Hotel. On arrival we found that only one room had actually been booked. Luckily we had a print out of the booking as proof and showed it to the reception staff. We were never given any apology for the mix up just told that there were no twin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TibbyMum, I am sorry to hear of the confusion over your booking and also that to rectify it took longer than anticipated. The points for improvement that you have mentioned have been read carefully and will be discussed with my management team. Thank you for leaving us a review We do hope that you will reconsider and return to... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a weekend break with friends. Our friends arrived first booked us in was offered a room upgrade for two nights at a cost of £20 per couple for two night, bargain. Our friends had the two rooms allocated. We arrived and our room number was changed and we thought nothing off it. Reception told us that the upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron K, It is lovely to read that overall both you and your friends enjoyed your stay here. I am however sorry that you felt mislead by our reception team. This has been fed back to them to avoid future occurrences. Thank you also for your feedback regarding bedroom size. We look forward to the welcoming you back to... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In the summer months, Oxford is inundated by teen-age students from all over the world who seek to learn English and to be inspired by the architecture of the many colleges at this great university. Lodging is therefore limited. We were fortunate to spend eight days at the Oxford Hotel located within a twenty minute bus ride to the city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 60974lsernia, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit to us in particular our excellent location and the facilities we provide. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do hope that you will use us as your home if you return to Oxford. Kindest regards Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night in a 'family room' which consisted of a king bed and a roll out bed on the floor. The king bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've slept on in years with springs and coils poking up underneath the mattress topper. I slept very poorly, partly due to the mattress and partly due to the noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark C, Thank you for leaving us a review, your feedback has been taken on board. I am sorry that you felt the bed was uncomfortable and that your sleep was disturbed by other guests, I do hope that you mentioned this to a member of my team whilst you were here so we could rectify this for you.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't know how the star qualification works in the UK but if I compare the quality of hotels with the rest of Europe the UK falls way behind. This hotel is in my eyes not a 4* hotel. It's noisy, rooms are outdated with poor quality furniture, towels smell dull and dusty, staff is poorly trained in customer service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear O-_Maurice_-O, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry that you felt our hotel did not meet expectations on this occasion. We are in the process of refurbishing parts of the hotel and hope you will return to see the improvements. Kind regards Debbie Priestley General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

281 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (111)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Premium Room (29)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
0.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 43 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 43 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
8.7 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#28 of 43 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Galaxie Hotel
Galaxie Hotel
#6 of 43 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay