We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nanford Guest House

137 Iffley Road, Oxford OX41EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nanford Guest House
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Nanford Guest House
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    15
    45
    35
    279
See reviews for
36
110
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (378)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This B&B guest house is FAR better than most of the reviewers will have you believe. True, the reseption area, the hallways, the stairs, and the doors are worn to the extreme, and the manager may answer differently than I would have, but seriously: What's important when you stay at a hotel? Your room, the bed, the bathroom, the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were drawn to the location of Nanford, practically opposite the Athletics track, whilst visiting for a late BMC meeting. The location was great, with plenty of fantastic places to eat a short walk away. The guy who we found at reception and showed us our room could seriously work on his manners, which might ameliorate somewhat the poor standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked the Nanford because our previous stay was full and this has an equally good position. I then read TravelAdvisor reviews and felt a mixture of panic and curiosity. Is it really so bad? Could it actually be? Well, it is not as bad as it once appears to have been and some aspects are good – even very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mid wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After trawling the web for three weeks, the course I was going on getting closer and closer, and needing three single rooms without spending hundreds, when I saw the exterior photo of the Nanford, and full breakfast and free private parking for £40 pp per night, I thought it was possibly too good to be true...it was.... From the moment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

If you are a fan of the classic British television show Fawlty Towers, you will truly find what you may (not) look for at this place. It is an experience, but not necessarily one that you want to do again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

I don’t write many reviews but simply have to warn people about this place. The short version is don't bother staying here its dreadful as in one of the other reviews my husband and I were determined not to let it spoil our short break but seriously stay home rather than stay here. The long version is below... My husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Writtle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Oh how I wish I had checked this on TA first but I was in a hurry and booked without checking (Stupid Me) This must be the worse B&B in Britain. I have seen squats in better condition than this place carpets thread bear ripped lino broken beds faulty electrics broken toilet seat I could go on and on but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I required a hotel in Oxford at the last minute and therefore was quite pleased to find such an affordable hotel. The rooms was en suite and was reasonable for £40 a day. The next morning I went to the kitchen and was about to order my breakfast, the manager interrupted my conversation with the chef and ordered me to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Nanfordguesthouse, Manager at Nanford Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. Per your comments, I do not find my self as being rude o either a Dictator The breakfast is served in the... More 

Kidlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

There are many things this guest house is not. However what it is, is excellent value for money. The local area is fantastic and the service is nice, personally I really enjoyed the food and will come again. GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY DO NOT BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU READ.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Herts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We booked this place for 8 of us (without checking TripAdvisor first, unfortunately) and all 4 rooms were cancelled less than 24 hours before our arrival. The cancellation took the form of a one-line email. When we phoned to enquire as to why, the rudeness of the owner was quite breathtaking! No reason was given. He said he was completely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Balkan Lodge Hotel
#35 of 43 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#26 of 43 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
#23 of 43 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 43 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
3.0 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 43 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#28 of 43 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?