We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Eastgate Oxford

3.0 of 5 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    285
    182
    51
    29
See reviews for
119
262
77
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (663)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (177)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (189)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (154)
All months
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this room on lastminute.com for about £90. This was a fair price to pay for a Sunday night room. I don't know if all of the rooms in the hotel are of this poor standard or if they are just reserved for people who book on cheaper websites but as you can see from the photos the standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, I did e-mail you on receipt of your guest questionnaire and ask if you could kindly contact me personally. The hotel is due to start a refurbishment programme of the hotel on the second week in January; it should have started this year,... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a Christmas break. Lovely central location. Reception staff very friendly and gave us a map so we could find our way round. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful but there's no way I would have paid £16 each for this. Like others have pointed out the rooms are in need of an overhaul (which i noticed is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that the team were able to help you and that the service and quality of breakfast was good. The staff appreciated your kind words and a great morale boost, the reception team were please that you enjoyed your stay. I am afraid the hotel is old and full of history, however we... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location on The High Street, Oxford. I asked for a quiet room and that's what I got. The room did overlook the carpark but that was not an issue for me as there was little noise, which for the centre of Oxford is great. If you want more of a view ask for a room overlooking Merton Street. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Eastgate Townhouse and Oxford itself, it is a lovely city. I have passed on your compliments to the staff and they are very appreciative, it is such a morale boost. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford in the near future, and... More 

Llantilio Crossenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The first time I have stayed here, it was a last minute booking through a website. The location is central, however if you do not know the area it can be difficult to find. Make sure you know where you are going before you get there. The reception staff were extremely courteous and polite, in fact very Impressive. Slightly annoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the reception team were helpful and courteous. I am afraid that we do charge for parking, as we are in the centre of Oxford and to maintenance and ensure a secure parking space, there is an overnight fee and I am very sorry if this... More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night in order to have a night out with friends. Apart from the very narrow entrance to the car park could not really say anything negative about the stay. Friendly helpful staff at reception, in the bar and at breakfast with comfortable bedroom and good bathroom facilities. Food at breakfast was good and freshly prepared plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback, greatly appreciated by the team and a good morale boost. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Oxford and the hotel, and we would be delighted to welcome you back when the hotel has completed its refurbishment programme in the first half of next year. I wish you a very Merry Christmas.... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed Bed and Breakfast for one night. You pay for parking. Reception could not have been more helpful and offered us a choice of rooms (welcome, as the first one was tiny). Breakfast could not have been bettered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the reception team were able to move you to a largere room. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in 2015, when we have completed our refurbishment programme. With best wishes for a Merry Christmas Kind Regards Peter Watt MANAGER More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

While the location is very central and food in the restaurant was amazing (best fish and chips of my life), the rest of the hotel left something to be desired. I must say the waiters at the restaurant were quite personable, but the staff at the front desk were a bit frosty and condescending when I asked simple questions about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that the Food and Beverage team looked after you, and that you enjoyed the close proximity of the city. I am very sorry and embarrassed that the front desk team did not welcome or genuinely greet you throughout your stay, I am so sorry as I believe in a warm smile and... More 

London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

'Good', would be a better fit for this hotel which is above average for this mid range category. There are several positives. The hotel is situated right in the heart of this beautiful historic town. The on site car park is a real bonus and worth paying the extra 15 pounds for. We stayed 1 night and were able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerOxford, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and feedback which I will be delighted to share with the team, in particular Patricia, for the service you received. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future for another truly enjoyable stay. Regards Albert Tenkorang Operations Manager More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel staff great you with warmth and help really nice after long drive . Girls on reception are so helpful . The maintenance Man Vincent was so polite and so good at his job fixed a very difficult problem no fault of the hotels very professionally and quickly . Thanks to all

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and feedback in particular about the team. I will be delighted to share this feedback with Vince and the team. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Tenkorang More 

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here a few times on business now and always is very nice and pleasant, with a great breakfast and restaurant. Is a bit pricey in general but for Oxford standards its fairly reasonably priced. I also got upgraded to a privilege room in my last stay which was really lovely and comfortable. My only niggle was I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, greatly appreciated and I was pleased that you found the hotel to be welcoming and the restaurant and breakfast enjoyable. I am so sorry and embarrassed that you were wokemn up in the morning by our housekeeping department. I have spoken with the head housekeeper who has asked to be associated with my apologies to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay