We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Eastgate Oxford

3.0 of 5 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    297
    189
    52
    32
See reviews for
122
276
77
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (692)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (176)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (189)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
pisa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

a few steps from the main street in a old building restored and renewed the hotel offers a parking place, a restaurant, a quiet environment and nice faacilities. One can walk in minutes to the main colleges and attractions or be in the nature in the nearby meadows. The rooms are smaallish because the age of the building, but bathroom... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Oxford and at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse. The city of Oxford is full of history and a great place to meander through – the shops and the universities. WE are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms, and where possible we are improving the... More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First, let me say that the hotel is well located on High Street, within walking distance of most of the important places in Oxford. I was very pleased with the service of the English concierge, front desk and restaurant staff. They were very nice, and made you feel welcome. The buffet breakfasts were also very nice. Public transportation is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry for the lapse in standards that you experienced during your stay. The hotel has started the refurbishment programme, and we are at present on phase 2 of the bedroom upgrades, not all the bedrooms and bathrooms have been done and the planned completion date is the end of May, however... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited last night for a one night stay. We had stayed here a couple of years ago and liked it, this time we were given a refurbished room (work has only just been completed) and very nice it was too. Very comfortable bed, tastefully decorated room, comfy chairs and a great bathroom. We enjoyed breakfast, there was a good selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback, it is greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost to the team. I am pleased that you liked the new bedrooms, they are very nice and we cannot wait for the remainder of the hotel to be completed; by the end of May. The restaurant has been designed by the Black and White Company... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights just before Christmas, and it was perfect for our needs. Whether it was the fact that the Christmas spirit was affecting the staff, they were charming at check-in, making a fuss of our toddler grand-daughter, but also generally extremely efficient, making sure that our daughter and son-in-law's room had the cot they had requested.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, it is grealy appreciated and a huge morale boost to the team. We have recently started a refurbishment programme of the hotel bedrooms, along with changing the restaurant in a Marco’s New York Italian. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse in... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The reception was disorganised and unprofessional. The room was tired. There was mold on the bathroom windows and bath. The walls were grubby and marked. It was a very disappointing stay. Breakfast was the only redeeming feature.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I have recently appointed 2 new members to the reception team, and one of the targets for the reception manager is to train, develop and communicate with his team to ensure that we offer a consistent and organised arrival at the hotel. I am... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on valentines night this year, and I must say we were very pleasantly surprised! We walked to the hotel from St Aldates, as we opted to use the park and ride instead of paying for parking at the hotel, which is an additional £20 per night extra. When we arrived we walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Eastgate Townhouse and Oxford itself, it is a lovely city. I have passed on your compliments to the staff and they are very appreciative, it is such a morale boost. With reference to the car park, we do charge for parking, the hotel is... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Mecure Eastgate last night (Valentines Day) for a short break in Oxford. The hotel is ideally situated for the centre of Oxford and is directly on the High St. We were given room 604 which had been newly renovated and it was clean, modern and comfortable. The new rooms have been given a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Eastgate Townhouse and Oxford itself, it is a lovely city. I have passed on your compliments to all the staff in the hotel and Marco's New York Italian, they are very appreciative and na excellent morale boost. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given room 214 initially, which is a small room and really suitable as a single room. We couldn't even open the cupboard which housed the kettle etc as the bed was in the way. No way was it worth £150. The was a very noisy fan outside the window, so fearing that this would keep me awake, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that the team were able to help you and that the service and quality of breakfast was good. We officially opened Marco’s New York Italian Restaurant on Thursday night, and the atmosphere and ambiance has been great. I am afraid the hotel is old and full of history, however we have started... More 

Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is perfect for a visit to Oxford. We booked a classic room which was on the 3rd floor. Certainly wasn't a classic room as described on the web. The room was very tired with peeling wall paper and paint, the bathroom was very dated and had mould on some tiles and the windows. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards atht you encountered following your overnight stay at the hotel, last Saturday. I have personally written to you through our internal customer questionnaire apologising for the lack of attention to detail with the room you were check in to, and that as of next week it... More 

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

not stayed here before. Staff helped me find it and got me a parking space, which I was able to use next day whilst I attended a business meeting. Room was nice although a little small. Breakfast was absolutely delicious as I had eggs benedict, beautifully poached with very tasty sauce. Staff all very pleasant and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback, I was pleased to note you had enjoyed your stay and Oxford, it is a beautiful city and full of history. I have passed on your kind comments to the team a great morale boost and great appreciated. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay