We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Hotel website
Hotel packages
73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Special Offer
UP TO 30% DISCOUNT
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location . Our room was well clean , enough space . My girl friend and I had a bar meal as the restaurant was full. Clarentin the barman was very pleasant , was from Romania . looked after both of us well. My girl friend had a cheese sandwich and I had a Marco's Burger , we really did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kemal55
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location superb. We arrived early about noon and asked at reception if there was a room ready and were told by Anna no chance and to come back after 2pm. That's fine, but I sat in reception for 5 minutes and watched 2 more couples go to a lovely blond guy who checked them in and gave them keys. We... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jill L
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry for the poor welcome you received at the weekend. I can assure you it is not the standard welcome that I or my colleagues offer at the hotel and I am pleased that Adam was able to assist you at the time. The staff member in question has since apologised... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The location is great next to the high street and opposite the college. The room was not massive but very nicely decorated and cosy with high ceiling. The bathroom was great and newly refurbished. The staff is friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
ManagerOxford, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Chris D Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always such a pleasure to read that guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the team who I'm sure will be delighted to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards... More 

UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good points about this hotel are the friendly and helpful staff, the comfortable lounge/bar area and the breakfast at the restaurant. Bad points are all about the rooms. We were first given the keys to a room that was about the size of a cupboard with barely enough room to walk around the bed. When we complained, this was immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank UkMhs
ManagerOxford, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear UkMhs, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you found our team pleasant and helpful. This will be a great moral boost for them. Unfortunately due to the age and structure of the building some room sizes are limited. Kind regards Justin Young Rooms Division Manager More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on business in February 2016. Hotel is easy to find and car park is a little tight to enter but plenty of car parking spaces available which are included in the room rate. Check in was quick and a short walk to the room which was clean and spacious and a nice bathroom with a standalone shower. Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulH80
ManagerOxford, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear PaulH80 Thank you for leaving a kind review of our hotel. I am pleased you found the check in process smooth and effective and that you enjoyed your room. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, Best wishes Justin Young Rooms Division Manager More 

Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel from 26 - 28 August ‘2015 When we arrived about 1 pm, we were told that our room was not ready, so we decided to walk around the city, had lunch and back again. The room still wasn’t ready so they gave us an upgraded and even that room hadn’t been made. Another room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anton S
ManagerOxford, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Anton S, Thank you for taking the time to leave a kind review of our hotel. We have recently undergone a full refurbishment and we are excited to have such a fresh modern look to make the most of our building and location. I do apologise that the room was not ready when you arrived at the hotel, I... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was disappointed that the room in the Mercure was smaller than my bedroom in London! We were given a room on the 3rd floor which was small with an awkward layout so I asked to move. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a similar sized room - just enough room to walk around the double bed. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank HeatherNolan1
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am afraid the hotel is over 100 years old and was originally four townhouses. The structure and age of the hotel does not always enable us to increase the size of all our bedrooms however we have in every room removed and changed the bedrooms round to ensure we have as much space... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 3 twin rooms for a girls' weekend away and it was perfect. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet and the hotel is well located for walking around Oxford. We chose not to book breakfast but did use the bar, the staff were very nice and friendly there! We would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Ilikegoingout
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and review following your recent stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse. I was please to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you all. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future With kind regards Peter Watt General Manager More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We choose this hotel because of its excellent location and car parking facility. Shame I didn’t read the small print well enough to realise that it was £20 for 24 hours, which may have changed my booking, but oh well caveat emptor. However, our welcome was first rate, and receptionists were highly knowledgeable and very able to help us with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the team, i particulart reception, looked after you. I have passed your kind words to the team, a great morale boost, thank you. Oxford is a great city, full of history and we are ideally located in the centre with an onsite... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love Oxford and decided on a last minute trip for our anniversary,having not been for about eight years and previously stayed a little further out which means having to get taxis or the bus, so we opted to stay in the heart of oxford what a position drove direct to the hotel and parked at the rear of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, it is greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost to the team. I was pleased to note that they had been very welcoming and looked after you both. Oxford is a great city - vibrant and full of life and history, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend. We look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

228 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 45 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
2.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#6 of 45 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay