We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Oxford hotels

Hawkwell House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Save Saved
You added Hawkwell House Hotel to your Saves list
Hawkwell House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
78%
Ranked #7 of 43 hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
UK0AP UK
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    213
    68
    30
    18
See reviews for
74
234
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a 3 star hotel which has had a great deal of money spent on it, the room we had was modern, spacious, comfortable and very clean. We were in one of the ground floor rooms without a view, which is rather disconcerting, but, not really a problem if you are only staying for a couple of nights, like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hawkwell House on the weekend just gone. We were quite disappointed with our stay. Firstly, we were not in the main hotel but in the separate house up the hill which in no way was as nice as the main hotel. Our room was extremely hot, which we could not change due to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
milton keynes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have just returned home from a 3 night stay at the Hotel. Everything was perfect for my needs as I was visiting my Husband in The Churchill Hospital 6 miles away. The staff were all wonderful, from reception , to restaurant, to bar. My room was perfect with an amazingly comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely grounds too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Oxford. Found the staff friendly and helpful about getting into town etc. Room was on the ground floor,very clean with a good bathroom. We were all impressed by the hotel restaurant which was well above the average, both for an evening meal and breakfast.For the price we really had no complaints and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fantastic hotel all in all. Very reasonable price, a very clean room with everything we needed and a delicious breakfast in the morning (a la carte rather than buffet). Bed was incredibly comfortable especially the pillows! Short journey into Oxford from the hotel - cab to Oxford ranged from 5 - 10 pounds each way. We didn't bother with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a group of friends meeting for a weekends annual reunion we blockbooked 8 rooms, 5 double, 1 twin and three for single occupation. All rooms were rated as spotlessly clean and comfortable. One couple could not turn down the heating, but no one else had problems. I , too, had one of the ground floor extension rooms, 112, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was recently planning our wedding in Oxford with 80+ due to stay at the Hawkwell House Hotel in Iffley. As a local resident and large client of the hotel through my former employer, and following the wedding of a friend at the hotel, I had positive expectations that the experience I would have planning the occasion would be smooth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HHH1865, Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would just like to clarify that this was a group bedroom booking, the wedding was held elsewhere, not at Hawkwell House. We are sorry that all your requests were not met, as discussed prior to arrival, we did have other guest requests to consider. We did our utmost to meet the guests needs and... More

In UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of those ground floor rooms in the extension on the hillside. The room was underneath the stairs and we could hear every step... For some reason we only had one set of toiletries in the bathroom and one bottle of water. The modern feel (in the hotel description) probably referred to the storage rails in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our party of four stayed here during the Oxford Literary Festival. Our rooms (in the main building) were spacious and well appointed though the bathroom floor would benefit from a non-slip surface. Breakfast was good, though the tables are mostly too small to seat four people together. We had dinner on one evening which was very good. No prices are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed with room 113. The hotel has been extended back into the hillside and these "ground floor" rooms are really underground. No window, a big skylight which is overlooked by the upper floors. Furnishings, comfort and cleanliness good, breakfast ok (a bit slow). A real shame that they did not warn us about the room - which really should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HHH1865, Owner at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you did not like the location of your bedroom but happy you found the furnishings, comfort and cleanliness good. The stairwell outside the bedroom window has been cleared and is due to be painted soon, we have plans to lay atsroturf and landscape this whole area. More

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley
Address: Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 seen an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TV’s, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkwell House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.