We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Randolph Hotel

#9 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Hotel amenities
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Sally D
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    498
    318
    162
    76
See reviews for
295
919
91
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1856)
  • Mar-May only
    (500)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (393)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (497)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (466)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I celebrated our 34 Wedding Anniversary on 16 May and we would not have wanted to spend it anywhere else other than the Randolph Hotel in Oxford. Even with the shock of the recent fire the hotel was still as Magical as ever. William the Head Concierge was attentive and all of the staff made our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind comments regarding your return stay. I was pleased we were able to be a part of your anniversary celebrations and William is a true asset to the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and once again Happy Anniversary from all the team at The Randolph. Kind... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked months ago, but only found out by chance that it reopened after a fire 6 weeks before the day before travelling. Poor service to not have been in touch to warn that much of the hotel (including dining room) was closed due to fire damage! I tried emailing when I found out about fire, but they didn't respond. Poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We endeavour to offer the highest levels of communication to guests prior to their stay and I am sorry your attempts were not responded to. The hotel opened on the 6th May 2015 and we do have a central reservations office... More 

Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked our stay before the fire. On arrival at 9pm the hotel actually looked closed...main entrance covered, dark windows and the building clad in scaffolding! The Morse bar we had looked forward to so much was cold and dingy. Dinner for two in the empty ballroom with reduced plain menu was uninspiring, only open to residents who were scarce,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel re-opened on the 6th May and we are currently using our side entrance to the hotel located to the right of the main entrance. The hotel is manned 24 hours a days and the concierge and reception are on hand... More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited on the 27th jan 2015 lovely clean and quiet only problem is to make sure that the person in the room befor hand hasn't set the alarm on the TV when it goes off at 430 in the morning and scares the bejesus out of you its not fun others than that we will be revising behaps same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was pleased your enjoyed your stay but sorry to learn the alarm on the TV was set to a very early hour in the morning. As part of our housekeeping checks this should have been cancelled from the unit and I am sorry this was not the case.... More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here on 16th/17th May as a truly special treat and it could not have been better, despite the fact that the hotel is still recovering from the recent fire. The staff and management made us feel so welcome, it was worth the extra to be right in the centre of Oxford, allowing an early morning walk around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I was pleased that our current operations did not mar your experience with us. We are serving dinner in our Lancaster Suite currently and this has proved very popular with our guests. Our breakfast is being served in our Ballroom and the team are here to ensure all our guests have a pleasant stay... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a great pleasure to visit the Randolph Hotel again for lunch after its re-opening. The fire had been a huge shock and we feared that we might lose this iconic Oxford building. It is a great testament to the dedication and the efforts of the Manager and staff that the hotel was in such fine order when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review following your visit for lunch. The team have been working tirelessly to ensure the hotel is open for business and our guests and regular patrons receive a very warm welcome. I know they will be delighted by your comments. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future. Kind regards, Michael... More 

Ilfracombe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Totally disappointed with our stay. The hotel in general is shabby. The rooms were dreary and the bed linen was awful; hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast was barely warm, served on cold plates. Having just come back from a stay at a Brend Hotel in East Devon we feel that the difference was striking, especially when you consider the difference... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. We endeavour to offer the highest levels of service and cuisine and I am sorry we did not live up to this ideal. Please be assured that your comments will be acted upon. We use only the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted morse's Oxford in the shadow of the ashmolean - I wanted the whole 9 yards. I got scaffolding and 45 mins to bring 2 sandwiches that then cost £23 with 1 pot of tea. I now know they had had a fire in the kitchens but it shouldn't effect sandwiches and if it does - close or warn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting as review. I am sorry you were disappointed. We do have scaffolding currently at the hotel due to the fire. Please be assured that our contractors are fully aware of our esteemed guests’ expectations during their visit to us and have been extremely mindful. I was perturbed by the lengthy wait for your sandwiches and shall... More 

Cardiff,Uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was damaged by major fire in mid April and reopened May 6th although far too early in my view. It is a complete shambles - scaffolding across bedroom windows and front of hotel; main foyer entrance closed; noise from construction working, not to mention construction workers outside bedroom windows; and faint smell of smoke. It still has a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and your kind comments regarding the team. The contractors and indeed team at the hotel have worked tirelessly to ensure the hotel re-opened to as normal as possible setup as before. Most of the building has been unaffected. We are serving breakfast to our guests in our Ballroom at the hotel and I am... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I understand that the Randolf Hotel suffered an extensive kitchen fire last month (April) after we had booked to have lunch in the lounge/restaurant on Wednesday, May 5th at 1:00 PM. Unfortunately no one from the hotel bothered to get in touch to let us know that the kitchen was closed indefinitely and had a friend not brought the news... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I am sorry that you were not informed in a timely manner regarding our closing due to the most unprecedented situation with the fire at the hotel. We were planning to open much sooner but our dates did change. The team tried to make contact with all guests... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (298)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Classic Suite (32)
Viewed
Executive Room (32)
Viewed
Modern Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (22)
Viewed
Single Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities