We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Catherine Wheel

7 - 15 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Hotel amenities
The Catherine Wheel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Andrea B Lincoln, United Kingdom
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    32
    10
    14
See reviews for
27
67
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic location. Room was average size and bathroom was quite big. All very clean and bed very comfortable. Few minutes walk into the town or a lovely walk down by the river. Only had light snack which was tasty and hot and the breakfast was very good. Car parking is very limited so would advise you to reserve with reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
somerset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must admit I was sceptical before we arrived, I thought the hotel would be noisy and to be honest a bit cheap.....happy to admit I was pleasantly surprized. The hotel was very clean and the room was very nice, bathroom was very good and the shower was nice and powerful. My only negative would be that the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCatherineWheel, Receptionist at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Dear Sparkles4, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we do appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are pleased to hear the you found your stay better than expected, we do strive to ensure the best customer service and providing the best accommodation possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel... More 

UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Havent used the acommodation but the restaurant is great. Used it a couple of times now whilst visiting local attractions. Good food, great beers and all at a superb price. Very friendly and fast service - It's like fast food but with superb quality and a smile !! Last visit was on mothers day, we hant reserved but the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bracknell
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean room with a clean functional bathroom. Views over the rolling air conditioning units not up to much. Reasonably priced hotel with cheerful staff. Bang in the center of Henley. Good food served in the evening and a good breakfast. Car parking is VERY limited so book early to get a space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCatherineWheel, Receptionist at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Dear Kegs, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel, we do highly appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that the view was not to your liking, maybe for your next stay we can allocate you a room overlooking the street? If you let... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A overnight stay to attend a dinner in Henley. Room was really quiet even though the rooms are over a busy (and noisy) bar. Not the biggest double bed, but more than adequate and ver comfortable. Nice big bathroom with bath and shower. Staff were welcoming and very helpful. It is in a great central location, parking is an extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCatherineWheel, Receptionist at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we highly appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the room was to your liking. The team look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Many Thanks, Christina & The Hotel Team More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have just stayed here for the Sunday night and I must say for £39 it is all you can wish for. Room very clean and tea/coffee tray as well as bottled water ( a nice touch) also ironing board and hairdryer. TV a bit on the small side but hey its ok. All staff we meet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCatherineWheel, Receptionist at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Dear Gerard, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we do appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are very pleased to hear that you valued our £39 Sunday Deal, which has currently been rolled out to all Wetherspoon hotels for the majority to the Sundays throughout the year. We are also delighted to hear... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We stayed on 20 February as we were visiting a. Winery in the area. Very pleasant receptionist greeted us. Booking in was easy & very pleasant. We had booked two rooms and they were next door to each other. Nice size room, great facilities and clean. Only downside was that the room was very warm & the window wouldn't stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCatherineWheel, Shift Leader at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Dear Lyn M, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel; we appreciate all feedback we receive from our customers. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and whilst most aspects of your stay were pleasant, we are very disappointed to hear that you were also let down during your stay too. We are very sorry to hear that... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

The hotel room was excellent, very clean and perfect for a large family, the building had character and we even had a parking space too. The £39 room rate was excellent but this is only on a Sunday, I wouldn't pay £89 (this was the mid week charge) as this moves the expectation into the realm of the big players...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelCatherineWheel, Shift Leader at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this review

Dear Ryan C, Many thanks for your review; we highly appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that nearly all aspects of your stay were to your liking. However we are very sorry to hear that you found our usual room rate and bar prices a disappointment.... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Went to Catherine Wheel with wife and son Saturday evening (14th Feb) for meal. There was a large group of students (around 12 or so) in main eating area, being extremely loud and obnoxious. One student felt he had to be the total center of attention for everyone in the restaurant /pub and talk extremely loudly so that every one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and was impressed with the hotel - clean comfortable rooms and very friendly and helpful service. Breakfast isn't included unfortunately but it is inexpensive and the food is good. The bar downstairs is rather dreary and lacking in personality but that seems to be standard for this chain of restaurants. But the hotel side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question